Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2001 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.4
Out of 10

Based on 1479 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    7.7/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Solid Quality Car

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"We absolutely LOVE our Jetta! Our 2004 Jetta replaced a 2000 Mercury Cougar that was nothing but trouble. Within 3 weeks of owning our Cougar there were so many dents in it from car doors banging into it that we couldn't count them all! We have had our Jetta for 3 years and I can count the number of dents in it with one hand! My wife was rear-ended in our Jetta by a guy going about 25 MPH and it didn't even scratch the paint! The acceleration is amazing, the look is impressive and the quality is top-notch. The only downside to a Jetta is the passanger compartment size. It was perfect when there was only 2 of us, but when we added our daughter to the mix, we were troubled for room while she was in a rear-facing car seat. Once she moved to a forward facing car seat we had room again. But now that we are expecting again, we have to find a replacement. We will probably just keep it and trade in our other vehicle instead."

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, August 08, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Add the turbo

By on Wednesday, August 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car has been reliable, fun to drive, and met every expectation I have had for it. It gets fantastic MPG too - I usually average around 30 in a combination of city and highway driving! The only thing I would have done differently is splurged and gotten the turbo on the motor - the extra juice would be fun!"

A fun car to own

By on Wednesday, August 08, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"The Jetta 1.8 Turbo is a great car to own. We have the sports package and premium sound system, which I highly recommend. The car is comfortable with almost all of the features you could want, is good on mileage and looks better than most cars out there! Ours is a 2003 with almost 85k miles and we have had no problems with it. I would recommend this car to anyone, as long as you don't need a lot of room in the back seat."

Don't Buy

By on Tuesday, August 07, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
2/10

"Reading some of the other reviews, I thought they were driving my car. The engine light is always on. I've been back to the dealership 3 times... it's still on. If you're driving, it's comfy; if you're riding, good luck. It looks good but I occasionally have a hard time starting it and it transitions weirdly. It's probably because Jetta's shouldn't have V-6's. Hope to trade it soon."

By on Friday, August 03, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"This is a great little car. It's easy to drive in heavy freeway traffic. I love all the luxury car features, whithout the luxury car price tag."

So far so good.

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"I previously had a Jetta 99 loved it! This one I had taken to the shop 4 times(same problem), still like it though.. will change it for GTI.."

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals