Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2000 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.4
Out of 10

Based on 1477 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    7.7/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Have loved this car for 12 years!

By on Sunday, March 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "very fun to drive, very low cost to own."

Cons: "no bluetooth or navigation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car. Our family has 2 Jetta TDI's. I might just get another one...newer!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Friday, March 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "FUN to drive, reliable, still good looking"

Cons: "19 MPG; new ones feel bigger, don't drive the same"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had this car since January 2001 (yes, 14 years) and still am in love with it. Some fool bought it in the fall of 2000, put three thousand miles on it and traded it in at the local Mini Cooper dealer, where I found it and fell in love with it immediately. My first test of a car is 'can I see over the back seat and out the window?' - yes to that, though I am 5'2". The second test is 'can my large 6'4" husband get in, close the door and be comfortable?' yes to that as well. The final test was the drive: highway, back road, up hills and down (in slushy weather, yet) - truly amazing! Over the years, it has had two major mechanical problems, promptly solved by the very nice local VW dealer, but it has given me so much pleasure to drive that I am not even interested in test driving anything else. I know one day I will have to, but for now - this is my car."

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

2004 Jetta TDI 4 door sedan

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 214,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "solid, great MPGs, comfortable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this car as a new leftover in July 2005. Also bought an extended warranty. It has the 5 speed Tiptronic that has performed flawlessly for over 214 k miles. The body has held up well to several New England winters with only one minor rust blemish on the right front fender. The cloth interior has held up quite well with no tears. I recently replaced the front struts and half shafts, not so much because they were worn out as I felt it was time to do it. The timing belt and water pump have been changed at 80-90k mile intervals. Normal wear items have been replaced as necessary. The only issues have been a burned out fuel pump replaced under warranty and a more recent, transient, electrical problem that has magically disappeared (knock wood). The head light lenses are fogged over and despite several attempts to buff them out, will not stay clear. I bought and installed aftermarket headlights from Spec-D that were horrible, prompting re-install of the originals. I did install Dorman seat heaters that I bought from Amazon. They work great but it was a difficult install. All in all one of the best cars I have ever owned. It continues to give 40-45 MPG. With four studded snow tires it goes like a champ in the snow, assisted by the stability and traction control. I have no real complaints about the car."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

13 yrs old and never a problem

By on Thursday, February 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "economical, dependable and it just fits me."

Cons: "Terrible cup holder set up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would never have expected any new car to last this long and be so trouble-free and dependable. The only reason I'd love to get a new car is for the new features that did not even exist when I bought this car."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

2005 1/2 Jetta TDI

By on Saturday, February 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"why the 1/2 was put on this car..I don't know. But it ALWAYS caused problems for anything done to this car, even as simple as an oil change! Even the dealer had trouble getting it right! But I love this car! No other car can touch the mpg!!! 45 - 50 mpg! This is our "go to" car. The backseat lays down making it possible to fit just about anything in the trunk! I do think VW could do a much better job standing behind their vehicles. It had wiring harness/ electrical issues early on (under warranty) and again later (not under warranty). Just last fall (fall/2014) I received a class action suit letter about said defect! I was notified of an '05 model recall on the egr cooler. Took it to the dealer and he ran my vin and said my vin was not included in the recall. One year and $1200 later my egr cooler was replaced!! I'm not sure how you can be notified your part is defective and then have your vin excluded. But that's what happened. Now its at 260,000 miles and the cam shaft and lifters need replaced (so I'm told). So I'm between a rock and a hard place. KBB says its only worth $2 or $3K and its going to cost more than that to fix it. What to do, What to do.... But I wouldn't change anything, its been a great car!"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

2003 Jetta Least Reliable

By on Thursday, February 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
2/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"2003 Jetta Turbo. Bought for my daughter as 1st car. Bad decision, nothing but trouble. Even the volkswagen dealer told us very unreliable year."

11 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Average at best.

By on Wednesday, January 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Adequate diesel; handles well; good cargo room."

Cons: "Defective paint; lacking in overall quality."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Clear coat and paint sloughing off, overall finish inside and outside is disappointing. It doesn't deliver the fuel economy I expected; it eats glow plugs; alternator and roller failed. Automatic trans has always felt a tad unsure; now may have problem developing - TBD. In some areas (i.e. trans) it was not designed with ease-of-maintenance in mind. On the positive side, it has very adequate torque and drives and handles well. With the rear seats down, it has a surprising amount of cargo room."

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Good deal for a solid reliable vehicle

By on Saturday, December 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "quiet and comfortable ride, good handling."

Cons: "O2 sensor needed to get replaced early"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"engine runs like it was new! 2.0 gas with standard transmission (still feels great) reliable car. quiet and almost no road noise. handling is great. ride quality is great. owning a Volkswagen is like a having a high upkeep wife. take good care of it and do all the scheduled maintenance and you will be rewarded with one of the best driving machines on the road today. treat it badly and abuse it...and it will be your worst nightmare. do your research!! besides the typical cupholders and O2 sensor going out everything else is great!! cookie cutter german design on the body. but if you can get past that its a great car!! just make sure when you plan on buying one that it is up to date on its preventive maintenance!"

15 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Buy a TDI ....

By on Tuesday, December 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,555

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Nice interior"

Cons: "Burns oil, not good on gas, loud on highway."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I've had this car for 3 years and im not really satisfied with it. To many little issues. The check engine light always pops up. DONT buy the 2.0 gas . Not very frugal on gas , burns oil crazy, and very lazy. Very small in the back."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Bought new in 2002 - now 12 years later ?

By on Monday, December 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas Mileage, Reliability, No mechanical issues."

Cons: "Oil Pan is very sensitive when doing oil changes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still going strong! The car has held up well but I've maintained it well. Did the regular oil change and the only wear/tear issue I've had in the last 14 years was replacement of the gas tank. Not too shabby considering I have 170K on it. I get a bit leary of having so many miles on the car, and my other cars I've sold once I hit 150k, but this keeps going strong. May keep it around a bit longer and let it become the kids first car. BTW - Still so much fun to drive. Guess it makes me feel a bit younger driving this car :)"

3 people out of 17 found this review helpful

A good vehicle

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable, fun, good mileage"

Cons: "Need tiny hands to do anything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my '02 2.0 Jetta in August of 2007 after my Mitsubishi decided it no longer wanted to run. Apart from issues finding reverse (standard transmission) I fell in love with the performance of the car almost immediately. When purchased, it had a little over 50,000 miles on it so I'm coming up on quadrupling it's mileage in 7.5 years. To date I've had to do the timing belt and water pump twice, and that is literally the most I've ever had to spend on the car in one fell swoop. Working on the car yourself can be a little aggravating because everything is in the way of everything else. Little things like changing the headlights are exacerbated by the placement of the battery. Overall, though, just tack an extra 30 minutes on how long you think it should take to fix it on a non-German vehicle and you'll probably be spot on. Being a standard transmission has greatly helped out in the winter, as the roads in CT are less than ideal after snow or hail. I've never lost control on the roads in this car, however if it were an automatic I may have issues because of it's small size. Having two children now I'll likely be replacing it with a slightly roomier Passat in the near future. The car is plenty spacious if you're not constantly carting people around, and the rather small amount of back seat space is made up for by a generously sized trunk (folding rear seats to extend cargo space is a plus as well.) All in all, I would recommend this car to just about anyone (especially the standard). It's fun to drive and has had so few non-routine issues for me I don't mind keeping it around even with it's high mileage."

9 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Great Ride

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is great. I get closer to 50 mpgs when on the highway and ive never had a problem with it. I couldnt ask for more from a vehicle that is an '01."

18 people out of 29 found this review helpful

My second tdi

By on Sunday, October 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very good looking and dependable. 50 mpg on hwy."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"drove my 1998 tdi for 14 years, 240000 miles. no major problem. this is my second. I love it."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Very reliable

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned this TDI since new and are getting a reliable 48 mpg. It is easy and cheap to maintain and fun to drive. It only has 90 hp but lots of torque. It has been very reliable (so far only glow plug harness outside of regular maintenance)."

4 people out of 11 found this review helpful

I don't want to give this up. Clutch needs repair.

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 201,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car"

Cons: "Needs a repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Perfect exterior with leather interior. Only problem is the gear. You can come check it yourself.

"Love the car. Just needs clutch repair."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Perfect exterior with leather interior. Only problem is the gear. You can come check it yourself.

Very fun and extremely reliable

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Turbo fun, great handling, german engineering"

Cons: "Cup holders are weak"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2003 Jetta. Picture taken in 2012- this car is like new

"I cannot believe how great this car has been for the past 13 years. I have only replaced 1 set of brake pads on it; otherwise just normal maintenance. Make sure to use synthetic oil every 5k miles and do the timing belt at 75k miles and you will be fine. This car is fast fun and reliable."

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

2003 Jetta. Picture taken in 2012- this car is like new

the car drive exelent n is very safe

By on Saturday, October 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "is realy fun to drive n price wise is not that bad"

Cons: "yes the car have two cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This vehicle is very powerful for a small four cylinder 1.8 LT Turbo n is very aconomical n gas n fun to drive with a 5 speed manual trasmission"

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Do your self a favor, don't buy a VW

By on Saturday, October 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,500

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good drivers, interior seems good quality, quiet"

Cons: "constantly needing repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Owned 2 VW's (Passat, jetta), engine light on 30% of the time, always something needing repair."

Love it

By on Sunday, September 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, fun, great fuel mileage."

Cons: "really nothing just alittle small."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this in 2005 with 65000 miles on it. It went 215,000 miles before transmission went out. It has never left me stranded. Fun to drive get on fuel 40 miles the gallon."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

2002 Jetta 1.8T Do not buy

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Turbo was fun to drive"

Cons: "reliability, transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought a 2002 Jetta 1.8T with 109,000 miles. Transmission had to be rebuilt at 109,500 and now has to be rebuilt again at 116,000 as well as the timing belt and cooling system. Needless to say, do not buy a 1.8T"

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I LOVE this car

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and has a lot of power."

Cons: "Front cup holders in front of radio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I first wanted to purchase a Passat but my son, whose is a VW technition, talked me into the Jetta and I'm soooo glad he did! It's fun to drive, very sporty, and has GUTS!! It's eleven years old now and I dread the thought of having to get a new car. No rust what so ever and still runs like a dream!! I think I'll keep her forever!!"

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

reliable

By on Wednesday, September 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable"

Cons: "high miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"runs good"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Junk. Nice looking junk, but junk just the same.

By on Saturday, August 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice interior"

Cons: "Too many repair issues."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Trans needs replacement for the second time. Enough already!"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great basic and dependable car.

By on Thursday, August 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easy to work on. Reliable. Well built."

Cons: "Not a lot of power in the 2.0 4 cyl. engine."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Alaska Green

"I have owned my Jetta for about two years now. I bought the car with about 152,000 miles on it and the car now has 177,000 miles on it and is still running strong. I admit have had to do some work to it however. I had a ball bearing go out (not a surprise due to the mileage), put in a new O2 sensor, replaced plugs and wires, and also just recently replaced the ignition coil. Not too pricey of fixes and thankfully I was able to do most of them myself. This has been a great little reliable commuter car for me. My Jetta has the 2.0 4 cyl. engine and although it is not zippy by any means it gets the job done. Also, I am a simple kind of guy who does not like a lot of flash inside his car and so this car it perfect. Well built, fun to drive, easy enough to work on, a very large following which makes finding solutions to problems a breeze, and great value if you're looking for good basic wheels."

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Alaska Green

Great little car

By on Saturday, August 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "paid 17K new, great return on in'vsmt 11yrs later"

Cons: "a little slow on the acceleration Ill have to say"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought new and since day one the only thing its asked me for was 2 new sets of tires in its 11 years, kept ORIGINAL battery 10 years into its life, ORIGINAL front disc brakes replaced at 113K and rears at 115K! Still have original exhaust, suspension parts and NOTHING so far has gone wrong. I only change oil every 7K miles and that's it! Warranty from VW covered recall to catalytic convertor and the fuel sending gauge was replaced (under warranty) at 14K."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals