Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2000 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.4
Out of 10

Based on 1479 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    7.7/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 296 | Next

This is the best car I have ever owned!

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 310,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, gas milage, comfortable, great drive"

Cons: "small trunk opening, rear light issues,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been very reliable over the 12 years that I have owned it. Gas mileage 49.6 miles/(US) gal over 6 months last summer. I'll never buy another gas model car again. 310,000 miles and still going stong"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Driving it until the wheels fall off!

By on Thursday, October 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive; great gas mileage (38/40mpg)"

Cons: "repairs can be expensive out of warranty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had it since new. Love the way it drives. I fit in it well for a smaller car (6'). Good daily driver for a warmer state and the gas mileage is unbeatable. Expensive to get repairs the older it gets. Lot of the little interior bits break over time, but if you can live without a cup holder it's fine. Not very user friendly to do any work on it yourself, so you need a mechanic if anything breaks. Most major repair issues were covered under 5 year extended warranty and VW recalls."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Stay away from automatic trans

By on Friday, December 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, good design, base model options"

Cons: "auto trans, slow w/ 2.0, questionable reliability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Purchased this car 6 months ago. Cam sensor acting up when purchased and ultimately needed to be replaced. Drives well and looks good, overall feels solid. Stay away from the automatics and get the manual, they are known to be bad and I see them at transmission shops all the time. Slow acceleration with 2.0. Gets okay gas mileage, should get more mpg for what it is. Small back seat. Great factory monsoon system. Glove box handles break all the time. heated cloth seats are great for cold weather. Moderate wind noise on highway. High RPM at highway speeds."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Good car for the initial investment

By on Saturday, September 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Initial cost, MPG, durability"

Cons: "Repair costs, electrical system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Bought my 2002 Jetta from Carmax at a good price in 2006. The car had 30,000. It's been mostly reliable but has had many of the same issues that other owners have described; catalytic converter, coil wire, windows falling down ($415.00 to replace 1 regulator) & a finicky alarm system that seems to have a mind of it's own. Overall I'm happy with the car but unsure if I'd buy another one."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

The car was built like a tank

By on Thursday, January 31, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I owned a 2002 Jetta and one awful night I hit a huge puddle of water, spun out and hit a concrete median head on at approx. 65 mph. The entire front end of the car was unrecognizable, but I only walked away from a horrendous crash with a sore neck and a few bruised ribs from the seat belt. The police officer on the scene could not believe I was not dead on impact. I miss that car, but it saved my life."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 296 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals