Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2000 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.4
Out of 10

Based on 1470 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    7.7/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 59 | Next

Good deal for a solid reliable vehicle

By on Saturday, December 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "quiet and comfortable ride, good handling."

Cons: "O2 sensor needed to get replaced early"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"engine runs like it was new! 2.0 gas with standard transmission (still feels great) reliable car. quiet and almost no road noise. handling is great. ride quality is great. owning a Volkswagen is like a having a high upkeep wife. take good care of it and do all the scheduled maintenance and you will be rewarded with one of the best driving machines on the road today. treat it badly and abuse it...and it will be your worst nightmare. do your research!! besides the typical cupholders and O2 sensor going out everything else is great!! cookie cutter german design on the body. but if you can get past that its a great car!! just make sure when you plan on buying one that it is up to date on its preventive maintenance!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Buy a TDI ....

By on Tuesday, December 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,555

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Nice interior"

Cons: "Burns oil, not good on gas, loud on highway."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I've had this car for 3 years and im not really satisfied with it. To many little issues. The check engine light always pops up. DONT buy the 2.0 gas . Not very frugal on gas , burns oil crazy, and very lazy. Very small in the back."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Bought new in 2002 - now 12 years later ?

By on Monday, December 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas Mileage, Reliability, No mechanical issues."

Cons: "Oil Pan is very sensitive when doing oil changes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still going strong! The car has held up well but I've maintained it well. Did the regular oil change and the only wear/tear issue I've had in the last 14 years was replacement of the gas tank. Not too shabby considering I have 170K on it. I get a bit leary of having so many miles on the car, and my other cars I've sold once I hit 150k, but this keeps going strong. May keep it around a bit longer and let it become the kids first car. BTW - Still so much fun to drive. Guess it makes me feel a bit younger driving this car :)"

1 person out of 8 found this review helpful

A good vehicle

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable, fun, good mileage"

Cons: "Need tiny hands to do anything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my '02 2.0 Jetta in August of 2007 after my Mitsubishi decided it no longer wanted to run. Apart from issues finding reverse (standard transmission) I fell in love with the performance of the car almost immediately. When purchased, it had a little over 50,000 miles on it so I'm coming up on quadrupling it's mileage in 7.5 years. To date I've had to do the timing belt and water pump twice, and that is literally the most I've ever had to spend on the car in one fell swoop. Working on the car yourself can be a little aggravating because everything is in the way of everything else. Little things like changing the headlights are exacerbated by the placement of the battery. Overall, though, just tack an extra 30 minutes on how long you think it should take to fix it on a non-German vehicle and you'll probably be spot on. Being a standard transmission has greatly helped out in the winter, as the roads in CT are less than ideal after snow or hail. I've never lost control on the roads in this car, however if it were an automatic I may have issues because of it's small size. Having two children now I'll likely be replacing it with a slightly roomier Passat in the near future. The car is plenty spacious if you're not constantly carting people around, and the rather small amount of back seat space is made up for by a generously sized trunk (folding rear seats to extend cargo space is a plus as well.) All in all, I would recommend this car to just about anyone (especially the standard). It's fun to drive and has had so few non-routine issues for me I don't mind keeping it around even with it's high mileage."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Ride

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is great. I get closer to 50 mpgs when on the highway and ive never had a problem with it. I couldnt ask for more from a vehicle that is an '01."

10 people out of 18 found this review helpful

My second tdi

By on Sunday, October 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very good looking and dependable. 50 mpg on hwy."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"drove my 1998 tdi for 14 years, 240000 miles. no major problem. this is my second. I love it."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very reliable

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned this TDI since new and are getting a reliable 48 mpg. It is easy and cheap to maintain and fun to drive. It only has 90 hp but lots of torque. It has been very reliable (so far only glow plug harness outside of regular maintenance)."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I don't want to give this up. Clutch needs repair.

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 201,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car"

Cons: "Needs a repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Perfect exterior with leather interior. Only problem is the gear. You can come check it yourself.

"Love the car. Just needs clutch repair."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Perfect exterior with leather interior. Only problem is the gear. You can come check it yourself.

Very fun and extremely reliable

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Turbo fun, great handling, german engineering"

Cons: "Cup holders are weak"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2003 Jetta. Picture taken in 2012- this car is like new

"I cannot believe how great this car has been for the past 13 years. I have only replaced 1 set of brake pads on it; otherwise just normal maintenance. Make sure to use synthetic oil every 5k miles and do the timing belt at 75k miles and you will be fine. This car is fast fun and reliable."

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

2003 Jetta. Picture taken in 2012- this car is like new

the car drive exelent n is very safe

By on Saturday, October 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "is realy fun to drive n price wise is not that bad"

Cons: "yes the car have two cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This vehicle is very powerful for a small four cylinder 1.8 LT Turbo n is very aconomical n gas n fun to drive with a 5 speed manual trasmission"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Do your self a favor, don't buy a VW

By on Saturday, October 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,500

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good drivers, interior seems good quality, quiet"

Cons: "constantly needing repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Owned 2 VW's (Passat, jetta), engine light on 30% of the time, always something needing repair."

Love it

By on Sunday, September 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, fun, great fuel mileage."

Cons: "really nothing just alittle small."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this in 2005 with 65000 miles on it. It went 215,000 miles before transmission went out. It has never left me stranded. Fun to drive get on fuel 40 miles the gallon."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

2002 Jetta 1.8T Do not buy

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Turbo was fun to drive"

Cons: "reliability, transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought a 2002 Jetta 1.8T with 109,000 miles. Transmission had to be rebuilt at 109,500 and now has to be rebuilt again at 116,000 as well as the timing belt and cooling system. Needless to say, do not buy a 1.8T"

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I LOVE this car

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and has a lot of power."

Cons: "Front cup holders in front of radio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I first wanted to purchase a Passat but my son, whose is a VW technition, talked me into the Jetta and I'm soooo glad he did! It's fun to drive, very sporty, and has GUTS!! It's eleven years old now and I dread the thought of having to get a new car. No rust what so ever and still runs like a dream!! I think I'll keep her forever!!"

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

reliable

By on Wednesday, September 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable"

Cons: "high miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"runs good"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Junk. Nice looking junk, but junk just the same.

By on Saturday, August 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice interior"

Cons: "Too many repair issues."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Trans needs replacement for the second time. Enough already!"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great basic and dependable car.

By on Thursday, August 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easy to work on. Reliable. Well built."

Cons: "Not a lot of power in the 2.0 4 cyl. engine."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Alaska Green

"I have owned my Jetta for about two years now. I bought the car with about 152,000 miles on it and the car now has 177,000 miles on it and is still running strong. I admit have had to do some work to it however. I had a ball bearing go out (not a surprise due to the mileage), put in a new O2 sensor, replaced plugs and wires, and also just recently replaced the ignition coil. Not too pricey of fixes and thankfully I was able to do most of them myself. This has been a great little reliable commuter car for me. My Jetta has the 2.0 4 cyl. engine and although it is not zippy by any means it gets the job done. Also, I am a simple kind of guy who does not like a lot of flash inside his car and so this car it perfect. Well built, fun to drive, easy enough to work on, a very large following which makes finding solutions to problems a breeze, and great value if you're looking for good basic wheels."

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Alaska Green

Great little car

By on Saturday, August 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "paid 17K new, great return on in'vsmt 11yrs later"

Cons: "a little slow on the acceleration Ill have to say"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought new and since day one the only thing its asked me for was 2 new sets of tires in its 11 years, kept ORIGINAL battery 10 years into its life, ORIGINAL front disc brakes replaced at 113K and rears at 115K! Still have original exhaust, suspension parts and NOTHING so far has gone wrong. I only change oil every 7K miles and that's it! Warranty from VW covered recall to catalytic convertor and the fuel sending gauge was replaced (under warranty) at 14K."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent dependability and fun

By on Wednesday, August 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, cheap to operate"

Cons: "looks like grandma's car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have 280K and climbing, never had any functional problems, sure change a seat heat sw and do scheduled maintenance but it's an 2003. Power train is sound, I just change the oil every 15k, and run #2 (no bio or tree hugger stuff) I like the stogy exterior design, never turns heads like rice rockets hence no tickets!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sporty & reliable

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fast, fun, stylish"

Cons: "some elec probs, plugs needed regular replacement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Other than some small electrical problems over the life of the vehicle, one could say that this vehicle is a good car to own if looking for a fun, fast car that provides safety and comfort with a stylish finish. Heated leather seats provide a warm rear during the cold winter months, and power windows and sunroof allow for great drives with wind in the hair when its warmer. Overall, I was satisfied with the car."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Made in Germany makes a difference!

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, reliable, so practical!"

Cons: "No new VW to replace it with!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Our 2003 Jetta Wagon has been very good to us. We bought it in Fall of 2003 with 5,000 miles on the clock and we're approaching 190k now. Overall it's been very reliable, which MKIV Volkswagens aren't necessarily known for. I attribute this to the fact that it was manufactured and fully assembled in Germany. Only the wagons were, if I understand correctly. It came with the 1.8 turbo motor, 5-speed manual trans, 17" wheels and sport suspension. From behind the wheel, it may as well have been a GTI. But out back there is so much room! It swallowed a 50-gallon water heater with the hatch closed. We load it up for family vacations all the time and I'm continually amazed by how much we carry, and how well it handles the load. It's always fun to drive. It's been on track a few times for HPDEs and everybody is surprised by how competent it is. *note - a few simple mods help with that, but it's not very far from stock at all. We've never had a car for this long (11 years and counting) or this many miles. The little Jetta is a champ. Can't say enough good things about our hot-rod mom wagon. It may not have all the cupholders you'd expect today, but there's not a car out there that I'm eager to replace it with. Good job on this one, VW."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

This is the best car I have ever owned!

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 310,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, gas milage, comfortable, great drive"

Cons: "small trunk opening, rear light issues,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been very reliable over the 12 years that I have owned it. Gas mileage 49.6 miles/(US) gal over 6 months last summer. I'll never buy another gas model car again. 310,000 miles and still going stong"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great fuel economy and fun to drive!

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "40 mpg average, great pickup"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm the second owner of this car, buying it from a dealer when it was 2 years old and in excellent condition. This is the second Jetta TDI for me. Mostly I use this car for myself, in town and highway driving with almost no maintenance. It needed a timing belt at 100,000 miles (this is standard service for a diesel) and one of the battery cables went bad. I've had the oil changed every 10,000 miles using full synthetic oil. The only minor complaint I have is that the back seat is a bit small, but this car will accommodate 5 average sized people without any trouble. I love the moon roof with the option of flipping up or sliding it open. Using the key to open or close all the windows at once is fun to use. I like that I can do minor things, like replacing the lights, myself. This is a wonderful car to own, and I usually fill up every one and a half to two weeks. It's been a great car for me since 2007."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Luv My Jetta

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Forgetting about normal stuff (brakes,tire,etc.) My total repair cost with 148000 is $500 just a Temp. sensor, O2 sensor and a window regulator. Plus mine is a special "city" model which means I get close to 33 mpg on my daily drive. On a trip the mileage drops to about 30 but I don't care as only 5% of my driving is long distance. Going to try and beat my record I set with my 86 GTI which was 448000 miles."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2004 Jetta TDI is a GREAT car!

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great little car!"

Cons: "Seat-back recliner dial is awkwardly placed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my 2004 TDI! The newer Jetta TDI has been cheapened beyond compare - no body-side molding, 'plastic-y' dashboard, no leather option, cheaper carpeting, cheaper wheels, etc. etc. I am awaiting the new model which is currently available in Europe (unfortunately Americans are not allowed to purchase cars overseas...). It is supposed to be much more like the 2004 I currently own, including the leather seat option. I am hoping that they will also come out with an all-wheel drive version in a wagon in the not-too-distant future."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 59 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals