Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1999 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.2
Out of 10

Based on 297 Ratings for the 1996 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.7/10
    Quality
    7.6/10
  • Reliability
    7.7/10
    Performance
    7.9/10
  • Comfort
    7.8/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Great First Car

By on Tuesday, March 29, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is a reliable, work of German engineering. Although I would not personally claim it the absolute best car in the world, it is wonderful to just drive. It has a unique way of communicating to the driver that it is either happy with you, or not so happy with you, which is always something to love about a car. It will pick up and go if need be, but it will also drive around calmly saving you fuel and money. Mechanically, a decent Jetta won't cause the driver any serious problems unless it is treated badly. It has wonderful sound, and handles like a dream. The heated seats make a nice addition during the winter, and the moon roof is wonderful in the summer. It has a tendency to want to race, but it doesn't have too much power for a younger driver to handle. A wonderful car for all ages, the Jetta is a car I would recommend to anyone seeking a small, reliable, fuel efficient, quick car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Thursday, March 03, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Aint no single doubt in my mind that this Jetta is one of the best cars availible in this entire country."

12 year owner

By on Friday, February 11, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned my wolfsburg Jetta for 12 years now. I bought mine new, loved it then and still do. I have regularly changed the oil and kept it washed. 145,ooo miles now and it still starts and runs and the exterior looks like new. It does have 3 sore spots, the fit/finish of the interior - typical VW, plastic just breaks or wears out. The power windows have been a problem on all VW autos of this era - be prepared to replace. The exhaust system, I have replaced mine 4 times so far, I suggest going back to the dealer and putting on an original VW exhaust if you need to replace - aftermarket systems do not last on this vehicle. Mechanically if you change the oil and don't beat on it, this model will last you for as long as you still like it."

By on Thursday, January 27, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Should Get Over 250,000 Miles

By on Saturday, January 15, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"Bought Jetta Trek used for $2,000 at small used dewalership. Had 160,00 miles and needed tires and many gasketts replaced. Just drive 2,200 miles down the coast of Cali and runs like a champ. The trim on the doors is faulty on this model and will fall off. Good car with routine maintenance."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Loved The Car!

By on Saturday, January 08, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Wolfsburg isn't the most reliable of all cars, but it got me from point A to B with little problem. Had a recurring cold start problems and the front passer and driver side windows got stuck more than once, expensive to fix. Good stock sound system, drove excellent on high performance wheels. Climbed hills well and the stock clutch worked great at 160,000, til I replaced it. Gets some getting used to of its quirks and such, but overall a reliabe, good-doing car. I would definitely recommend it to a friend, very fun to drive."

SUPER DUPER

By on Friday, January 07, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is so rediculously rediculous. I <3 it really hard. It is super speed. and fun."

By on Thursday, December 30, 2010

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, December 08, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Love this car

By on Wednesday, November 10, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"i have had my 98 vw jetta gl for over a year now and i absolutly love it it gets great gas milage it does great at high speeds and has great take off the only complaint i have about it is that it is built poorly like the side maker on mine has fallen off and some other things have fallen off other than that it is a great car and i would recomend it to anyone who wants a reliable nice looking car or for someone for a first car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, October 28, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Love My Snowball!

By on Thursday, October 21, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This has been a great car for me. Still runs amazing at 200,000 miles and I can probably get another 50K if kept in good condition- it's all about regular maintenance."

98 Jetta Tdi

By on Monday, October 04, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I have found the MKIII Jetta Tdis to be very reliable, durable, economical, and fun cars to drive. Along with simplicity of operation, the vehicle has provided safe dependable operation combined with fuel economy approaching 50 mph, yet enough sporty agility to make the driving experience exciting when desired. Maintenance cost are moderate, and finding a reliable VW Diesel Mechanic is not always easy to do. Internet searches usually can find you someone in your area."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car if You Are Mechanically Inclined

By on Saturday, September 18, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"150K and runs great. Don't buy the auto trans, a disaster. Otherwise, never been in the shop except for a few minor recall and warranty repairs. Standard responsible maintenance for the do-it-yourself is required, brakes, timing belt, oil eery 5K. Repairs are required which can be very inexpensive if you know how to work on cars and you have access to the internet and VW repair forums. If you don't qualify for either, DO NOT BUY THESE CARS. The ignition switch will go out on you, but you can replace it yourself. Same with the door locks. Otherwise, if you are up to the task, a very worthwhile car. One of the best engines in the VW Jetta III."

VW Jetta Automatic

By on Friday, September 03, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought a 98 VW Jetta 2 years ago and given that it is 12 years old now I had been anticipating regular trips to a mechanic. The car has been working great. I only had to replace the headlights which was really easy to do myself so it cost me about 10 bucks. The car has done 140000 miles and is still going great. Best car I ever bought"

Good Simple Car

By on Thursday, August 19, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"These cars (93-98) are best kept simple. The 2.0 5-speed with manual windows and no sunroof is a pretty bomb-proof, efficient, reasonably fun vehicle. I've owned two of these, a '96 and a '98, with combined mileages of around 360,000+ miles driven between them. They will drink pond scum for fuel (85/87octane) and still return a very regular 30+mpg - in fact I've seen up to 42mpg. This generation is getting very old, with the newest cars being 12 years old now, but with normal wear and tear items replaced - they will basically run forever."

By on Saturday, August 14, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"smooth, economcal,easy to take care of, love the auto transmission"

By on Thursday, August 05, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

:D

By on Tuesday, August 03, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car in September of last year, and I have not had any major problems. There were a couple of issues, such as a bad bearing on the back wheel, but I've put 20,000 miles on it in less than a year and it runs like a champ, even after being reconditioned after an accident. These cars are reliable, dependable, and if you take care of them will last forever."

Good Car

By on Wednesday, July 14, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have had this car for 5 months with no isues, I get a constant 25 MPG in the city and 28 on the highway. Drives nice and has good pickup in the higher rev range. As for comfort the seats are a little too hard for my taste but offer great support for spirited driving, however I would recommend getting bigger tirews as the little 14" do not work well. Interior is good excelent fit and finish as expected from VW, however if buying one with a beige/tan interior be pepared to have it cleaned as it stains. As for the powertrain itself make sure to have the timing belt checked and replaced if you are unsure of when it was done. All in all a good around town car with enough sportiness to keep you happy."

By on Monday, July 12, 2010

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Still going strong

By on Saturday, July 03, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I purchased the 1998 TDi while in post grad school for basic, fuel efficient transportation. I still use it today as a second vehicle as it drives nicely and last summer achieved 54 mpg on a trip to the coast. Not many cars today can match that. Other than a few cosmetic problems (it IS 12 yrs old), it is still a good car requiring little maintenance. I wish they would use the TDi in a minivan for my wife."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Monday, May 31, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

great gas saver car

By on Wednesday, May 19, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"runs great good on gas very reliable car would tell any body to test drive one."

Long-term Companion

By on Monday, April 26, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Loved my 96 VW Jetta. Never had any serious problems and only started having problems at all after 150k miles. The 5-speed and small footprint made it fun to drive, and I personally loved the style which is more sleek than a Volvo but different enough to stand out. Great car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals