Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1998 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.2
Out of 10

Based on 294 Ratings for the 1996 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.7/10
    Quality
    7.6/10
  • Reliability
    7.7/10
    Performance
    7.9/10
  • Comfort
    7.8/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 30 | Next

I LOVE MY VR6!!!

By on Friday, October 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun car, reliable, good looking, awesome car!"

Cons: "buying parts :/"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"there is nothing better than driving my 97 Jetta GLX! Ive had this thing forever and it has never failed me! ive driven it from colorado to south carolina and it has never slowed down! this car is truly one of the best cars ever made!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

my second jetta

By on Sunday, September 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "5 speed. Gas milage great."

Cons: "maintence."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

cruisin to the car show

"well first off I had a wolfsburg jetta Mark 3, had electrical problems and returned it and found my car that I've had now for almost 2 years. All I can say is that this car is pretty much my friend. It hasnt let me down, always starts up first try and overall is just a great car. I get a lot of comments like what year and when I say a 1996, people almost look at me and dont belive me. With my Jetta just running over 104k the other day, I know that this car will last for a long long time. I bought mine from a one owner that had it for 16 or 17 years and took pretty good care of it. The body was repainted Tornado red, and I'm not sure what the original color was but I've also had people at car shows saying this is one of the best looking Tornado Red Jetta's they've ever seen. Also the only negitive thing I can think of for the car is some of the maintence can be spendy, but the positive to that too, is that the engine atleast the 2.0 4 cyl engine is quite easy to work on, and has a lot of space too. Overall fun to drive, expecailly when you have a 5 speed, and throw in some other mods, such as lowering springs or racing struts to take hard turns. Overall great car, fun to learn how to drive in!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My video 

cruisin to the car show

new muffler straightpipe from cat to DTM style muffler. its an 8v i swear.

Best college car ever.

By on Thursday, July 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, gas is ultra affordable, good lookin"

Cons: "Not enough cup holders for sure."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Just chillin.

"Great gas mileage, I've gotten as high as 42 on the interstate. It's small enough to park in compact spots, and looks great. Could be a little bit more comfy, but the seats in mine are pretty worn out. I've gotten a million compliments on how good it looks/sounds."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Just chillin.

Still a snarling little beast!

By on Thursday, July 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Very fun to drive, tastefull style."

Cons: "little things go wrong."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought my 97 Jetta GLX five years ago. Previous owner had spent good money to put on K"

Dependable German Engineering

By on Thursday, April 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Dependable"

Cons: "Cheap plastic parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car as a broke college student, I paid cash so I got a good deal. There were a few cosmetic problems with the car but as soon as I turned it on for the test drive I fell in love. The engine was very smooth and two years later still functions very well. The only major issue that I have with this car is the cheap plastic parts. The driver's side pull handle (interior) has came off. When I was trying to repair another part of my car the plastic clips broke off creating another issue. The headliner is sagging. With all that said, I still love my car and defend it when anyone laughs... It runs better than many cars driving on the roads!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love my 1998 Jetta TDI!

By on Tuesday, April 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my favorite of all of the Volkswagen's that I have ever owned, let alone of the other brands of vehicles."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

it was my first car its great

By on Tuesday, April 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,381

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "sun ruf, cd player clean and abrithing works"

Cons: "the tranmishion"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"its a great car it was my first car when i was in high school. now am in coollege. to be honest its having trobel in the tranmishion. it has a sun ruf, alot of the things ar manual and but not in bad conditons at all"

1 person out of 9 found this review helpful

good car

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this car will start up every morning but if you dont know anything about any german cars than you gotta realize that they dont know how to wire anything corectly... horriple wireing everything electrical in my car is going out.. light sun roof blinkers.."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

most dependable car on the road

By on Friday, March 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "amazing on gas, tough and very dependable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE my jetta. I have friends that are trying to trade me there jacked-up 4x4s for my little car lol. never going to happen."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Bought used

By on Monday, February 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, sporty, reliable, economical"

Cons: "no cruise control, no power windows"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used and was taken advantage of by the previous owner. But after much debate on whether to keep or sell this car, I decided to keep it"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 30 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals