Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1997 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.2
Out of 10

Based on 294 Ratings for the 1996 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.7/10
    Quality
    7.6/10
  • Reliability
    7.7/10
    Performance
    7.9/10
  • Comfort
    7.8/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 30 | Next

It gets me where I'm going

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good Mileage, safe, drives fine."

Cons: "Stalling in heavy rain and large puddles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car is a true trooper! Great mileage and a comfortable ride. With age it's lost some of it's looks and it doesn't like bad storms or large puddles (causes it to stall out). That seems to be common among this model in that year. But I've gotten rear-ended in it and the car only got a scratch while the Chevy that hit me got their front end destroyed. The brakes need to be bled but I think that happens with most cars. I would only recommend this car to someone who can fix their own car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

My best vehicle ever and I have gone threw 17

By on Sunday, January 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, value stands above the rest!"

Cons: "I only have one Jetta!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives like it is on rails! Always has power when you need it, easily modifiable and super zippy when you do! Very dependable vehicle as long as you care about them!!! They will take you anywhere you want to go without complaining like alot of new cars do.... Get one its a blast!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

not bad

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"awesome to upgrade and runs good wit all cylinders"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

it has potential

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good looking car in my opinion. vr6 models"

Cons: "very slow. assembled in mexico"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I find this car to be comfortible with a pretty reasonable amount of cargo space. it lacks acceleration in the four cylinder models. vr6 models are more fun. has simple lines and overall good looks."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my ride!

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love driving it! Tons of space!"

Cons: "No cup holders, spilled lots of stuff in it!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my 1998 Jetta! I haven't had any real issues with it other then when I let the transmission fluid run low and I sheared off 5th gear. Now that she's getting older (14), I'm having to replace some stuff, but thats normal on a car that has over 198000 miles! I drive this car every day and wouldn't think twice about taking it on a road trip! Very reliable and Good on gas!"

this car was a gift and its time for an upgrade

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,958

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"this car was a pleasure to have while I had the opportunity to have it. But it is time to move on to something better."

I loved this car

By on Saturday, December 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Huge trunk, low maintenance, comfortable."

Cons: "No power windows, poor cup holder placement."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After 12 years and nearly 200,000 miles together, it is finally time to part ways, but I absolutely loved this car. I am not easy on cars and she took all the abuse that I gave her. I never had to make a major repair that wasn't wear and tear (or my own stupidity) related. My dream replacement would have been another '97 Jetta that somebody's grandmother had kept in the garage and driven back and forth to Bingo and the grocery store once a week. I settled for 2008 (my third Jetta) instead. :)"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Its a VW

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, has charater, fast, comfortable"

Cons: "cup holders worthless, cruise control wothrless"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ive had this car for about six months now and only had to do the routine maintenance on it, tune up, change struts, change filters, oil change, The normal things. This car is my by far favorite car, definately fun to take on the back roads and cruise. The steering is extremely responsive, and smooth. Only issue I have is the cruise control does not work, which is a common problem on the MK3 Jettas. I'd definately reccomend this car to a friend."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

its got its ups and downs

By on Thursday, December 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "speakers, look, a lasting car"

Cons: "horrible cup holders!!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"it was a great running car when i first got it at 111000 miles. then after 20,000 miles everything seemed to brake all at once. they're a pretty good car, you just have to keep up on things. their looks are great i think. the road noise is loud but the speakers are great. so after fixing it all it was def worth it because it's a V-Dub"

Works great! My first car

By on Tuesday, November 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "cheap to insure"

Cons: "small, only 2 airbags"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Mine!

"Bought cheap from a local repair shop as a loaner. Cleaned it up, redid the aftermarket sound, replaced the oil pressure sensor ($6.) as it was leaking and am now very pleased. 130k miles and going good. Had a rebuilt clutch and a used transmission before I got it. Changed the oil with mobil 1 and no leaks! very happy with my first car. Easy and cheap to fix if anything goes bad."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Mine!

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 30 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals