Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1997 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.2
Out of 10

Based on 293 Ratings for the 1996 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.7/10
    Quality
    7.6/10
  • Reliability
    7.7/10
    Performance
    7.9/10
  • Comfort
    7.8/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 59 | Next

Reliabe, Nice Looking and Confrotable

By on Wednesday, November 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "super fun to drive, reliable, great mileage & cute"

Cons: "little things breake"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the original owner and I love it! It is super reliable. The only down side it that I broke the vent and then the sun roof went out, later the cup holder broke, but as far as being reliable, this car is awesome! Never brakes down. I am reaching 230K and only once I had to change the clutch/transmission. No major jobs needed aside form that. I hate to get rid of it, because it's so confortable and plush inside."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Pretty awesome VW

By on Sunday, July 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gas milage, dependability, looks, comfort, fun."

Cons: "buying parts, tranny reviews"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Ive only had this car for 3 months and i will never go to another car. Bought it for 1200 and its been reliable ever since. yeah i had to do some maintenance but it has 197,000 miles. changed oil cooler gasket, struts, and all filters."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Okay vehicle

By on Monday, March 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Cheap, not a bad drive, gets from a to b"

Cons: "Repair costs, cheap body"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"This was the first vehicle I have ever bought. It has lasted me quite a while and been great for the amount I paid for it. Now it is wearing down, and repair costs have been high. It's never been a great runner, but not bad."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

amazing cars!

By on Thursday, January 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,766

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fast, rides like its on rails, good on gas"

Cons: "cruse control :("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

my 98 jetta with air lift air ride

"when vw made this car they really hit the nail on the head! i have owned a few of the mk3 cars and they are great! the vr6 engine is bullet proof, the leather interior feels amazing after a long day and when these cars are maintained they are the best cars to own! the ONLY downside is the cruse control witch is garbage in the mk3."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

my 98 jetta with air lift air ride

I LOVE MY VR6!!!

By on Friday, October 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun car, reliable, good looking, awesome car!"

Cons: "buying parts :/"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"there is nothing better than driving my 97 Jetta GLX! Ive had this thing forever and it has never failed me! ive driven it from colorado to south carolina and it has never slowed down! this car is truly one of the best cars ever made!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 59 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals