Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1996 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.2
Out of 10

Based on 297 Ratings for the 1996 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.7/10
    Quality
    7.6/10
  • Reliability
    7.7/10
    Performance
    7.9/10
  • Comfort
    7.8/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 60 | Next

Pretty awesome VW

By on Sunday, July 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gas milage, dependability, looks, comfort, fun."

Cons: "buying parts, tranny reviews"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Ive only had this car for 3 months and i will never go to another car. Bought it for 1200 and its been reliable ever since. yeah i had to do some maintenance but it has 197,000 miles. changed oil cooler gasket, struts, and all filters."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Okay vehicle

By on Monday, March 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Cheap, not a bad drive, gets from a to b"

Cons: "Repair costs, cheap body"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"This was the first vehicle I have ever bought. It has lasted me quite a while and been great for the amount I paid for it. Now it is wearing down, and repair costs have been high. It's never been a great runner, but not bad."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

amazing cars!

By on Thursday, January 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,766

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fast, rides like its on rails, good on gas"

Cons: "cruse control :("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

my 98 jetta with air lift air ride

"when vw made this car they really hit the nail on the head! i have owned a few of the mk3 cars and they are great! the vr6 engine is bullet proof, the leather interior feels amazing after a long day and when these cars are maintained they are the best cars to own! the ONLY downside is the cruse control witch is garbage in the mk3."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

my 98 jetta with air lift air ride

I LOVE MY VR6!!!

By on Friday, October 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun car, reliable, good looking, awesome car!"

Cons: "buying parts :/"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"there is nothing better than driving my 97 Jetta GLX! Ive had this thing forever and it has never failed me! ive driven it from colorado to south carolina and it has never slowed down! this car is truly one of the best cars ever made!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

my second jetta

By on Sunday, September 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "5 speed. Gas milage great."

Cons: "maintence."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

cruisin to the car show

"well first off I had a wolfsburg jetta Mark 3, had electrical problems and returned it and found my car that I've had now for almost 2 years. All I can say is that this car is pretty much my friend. It hasnt let me down, always starts up first try and overall is just a great car. I get a lot of comments like what year and when I say a 1996, people almost look at me and dont belive me. With my Jetta just running over 104k the other day, I know that this car will last for a long long time. I bought mine from a one owner that had it for 16 or 17 years and took pretty good care of it. The body was repainted Tornado red, and I'm not sure what the original color was but I've also had people at car shows saying this is one of the best looking Tornado Red Jetta's they've ever seen. Also the only negitive thing I can think of for the car is some of the maintence can be spendy, but the positive to that too, is that the engine atleast the 2.0 4 cyl engine is quite easy to work on, and has a lot of space too. Overall fun to drive, expecailly when you have a 5 speed, and throw in some other mods, such as lowering springs or racing struts to take hard turns. Overall great car, fun to learn how to drive in!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My video 

cruisin to the car show

new muffler straightpipe from cat to DTM style muffler. its an 8v i swear.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 60 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals