Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Volkswagen Jetta SportWagen Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $19,960 - $20,859.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $22,915

Fair Purchase Price $20,410
Fair Market Range ($19,960 - $20,859)

Invoice $22,031
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.1 of 10

10/7.1

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 270 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 37 38 39 ... 54 | Next

Way better cars out there!

By on Tuesday, July 17, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Always in the Shop

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Looks nice"

Cons: "Not a great value for the price."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"This was an ok car. I just bought a 2012 Camry Hybrid for about the same price I paid for this car and the Camry has way more power and gets about 7 MPG better fuel economy overall. Also this car is always in the shop for recalls or check engine lights. I would recommend to anyone that is considering this car to check out the Camry Hybrid First."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Amazing car

By on Monday, July 16, 2012

I want this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, engine, sound system, looks, interior"

Cons: "Slightly dull and cheap interior, limited number"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Now, I do not currently own this vehicle but I will soon. I am looking at a fast, fun, 4 door sedan that looks good and is relatively inexpensive, and this Gil is just that. I drove two models, one with the manual and one with VW's amazing dsg. The manual is brilliant to drive with a natural feeling clutch And an easy to move shifter. My only gripe is that the linkage feels somewhat too forced and not mechanical enough. Overall, my choice is the dsg with its fast shift times and it's somewhat better mpg. The engine is as smooth as I have ever driven and the car drives brilliantly over any surface, and with 207 turbocharged lb-ft of torque, it moves with authority in and out of traffic. Overall, this is a superbly balanced car that can do anything that the heart desires and then some."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Love This Car!!! Highly Reccomend- Please Read-

By on Monday, July 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power, Performance, Cost, Effeciency, Appearance,"

Cons: "Absolutly Nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I Bought a 2012 Jetta TDI from Paramount Volkswagen in Hickory NC. The Diesel has so much power and performance while still getting up to 50 MPG!!!!!! No one can beet this car."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Not the Best Car... Not the Worst.

By on Wednesday, June 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "47-50mpg freeway, comfortable seats, A4 styling"

Cons: "DSG is clunky, 25mpg city, poor interior quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

Classy! If only it weren't so clunky...

"I have a love-hate relationship with the Jetta TDI (Premium/DSG). As a freeway car it is extremely comfortable, smooth and fuel efficient. On the streets… not so much. A great example is with the diesel milage. Averaging 47mpg is easy on the freeway, even on short trips. When you get to the inner city however, 25mpg is the norm. The longer you can go without stopping, the closer you stay to the speed limit, the greater the reward. Another great example is the transmission, smooth as silk on the freeway, but when you hit the street, the experience is clunky and overbearing. Going 15mph, the car will buck and jump as the DSG decides how it's going to handle power from the engine. If you try to coast to a stop the DSG will immediately try to jump to a lower gear to slow the car down with the engine and make a final bumpy lurch as you step on the brake. This makes city driving as unsettling as it is inefficient. When going down hills the DSG also likes to jump to a higher gear way to early, even while coasting forcing you to use neutral. To make matters worse, the DSG lets a lot of vibration and noise through to the cabin when driving on the street. DSG issues are slightly worse when it is cold and slightly better when it is warm out. The DSG problems subside when you leave it in sport mode, but that severely eats into fuel savings. As far as reliability goes, the car is shaky. Right out of the gate at 900 miles it broke down in a parking lot and I lost almost a full day of work. After that I had intermittent starting problems until summer when they subsided. I've also had trouble with rattles from just about every part of the interior. This is an especially big problem when you play music, even at a low volume every plastic part in the car will hum. Along with the headliner falling down and door moldings coming loose at 4,000 miles, and a software reset at 3,500 miles I'd say interior fit and finish is sub par at best. Heres the bottom line: The car has the looks of a classy A4 and is roomy enough to please any client passenger. The modern touch screen and connectivity features like bluetooth and SiriusXM are fantastic as well. If you drive 80/20 freeway and live in the burbs, you will probably not be hassled with the DSG and experience fuel mileage that rivals the Prius. If you are a 50/50 driver like me that makes a lot of stops, you will be severely disappointed in the performance and ride quality. From an overall quality standpoint I would be wary about claims made by VW. New cars shouldn't break down, have starting problems, or have parts fall off. If you buy it, make sure you load up on extra warranty."

23 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Classy! If only it weren't so clunky...

The estamated fuel econamy is an under statment

By on Monday, April 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "500-600 miles to a tank/Very Smooth/nice interior"

Cons: "The delayed shifting/bluetooth phone volume"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You can easily get 45 mpg on the highway and 35 to 40 in the city. I like to drive fast and normally get like 40 mpg combined. Doing 80 on the highway you easily get over 40 mpg. The only thing I don't like is the way the transmission shifts. It try's to wait as long as it can to shift down then it surprises you. It can easily be fix if you put it in sport mode. For such a fuel efficient car it has plenty of power and for a diesel you can't even hear it. Very smooth ride. The bluetooth phone is nice but you have to have the volume low for the voice and the volume load for the phone conversations. Overall great quality!"

22 people out of 24 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 37 38 39 ... 54 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.