Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Volkswagen GTI Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $23,365 - $24,439.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $27,015

Fair Purchase Price $23,767
Fair Market Range ($23,365 - $24,439)

Invoice $25,967

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.4 of 10

10/7.4

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 15 Ratings for the 2013 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Legendary

By on Friday, March 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Refined Agression."

Cons: "Not as sharp as some of its competitors."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When the Golf GTI came out in the late 1970s it was a game changer. It was the first of its kind, a new breed. They called it a Hot Hatch. Its agile short chassis could out handle some of the best sports cars of the time, not to mention out accelerate. It was well made, fuel efficient, beautifully made, and most of all a pleasure to drive. Through the years though Volkswagen lost sight of what made the GTI great. They forgot that it was a drivers car. In 2005 VW had a change of heart with the new Mk5 GTI. It was a rebirth for the brand. And they did it. It received car of the year from many coveted sources including Top Gear (Uk). It really doesn't get much better than that. Short after that they gave the car a new body and upgraded nearly everything to create the Mk6. Now that the history lesson is over, lets get down to business. The Mk6 spanned from 2010-14 in the US. It features one of THE best 4-cylinder engines very made. Its a brilliant 2.0 200bhp little rascal. Amazingly this car with a weight of 3,300 lbs can accelerate to 60 in 6.3 seconds with a DSG (Direct Shift Gearbox Auto). Being able to do that with a mere 200bhp is an amazing feat. The interior is one you would find in a car that is much more expensive. In truth i've yet to be in any car under $50,000 that has materials that are as well made as this GTI. Everything is thought out so well that it just makes sense. You never fumble around looking for switches or knobs, they are just where you expect them to be. There are some negatives however. Its brakes are subpar for this performance car. They have almost zero feedback and feel very mushy. It stops well, don't get me wrong, but you don't have the confidence to brake late that you would in say a Mini Cooper S, or Ford Focus ST. Its stopping distance is also longer than its main competitors. Handling is also softer and less responsive than the Focus ST. This has been done on purpose because Volkswagen sells the GTI to a wide range of people from young boy racers to your more mature buyer who wants a pleasant ride. GTI's emergence changed the world of cars when it erupted out of Wolfsburg in the 70s. It inspired countless spin offs and forced the rest of the automakers to really turn of perforce and quality while keeping costs down. This new model is a worthy successor to the namesake. It may not be the fastest or most hardcore of its rifles but that is why its perfect. Its refined luxury with the heart and soul of a supercar. You would be hard-pressed to find a more complete and perfect car as this, at any price range."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Actually, a 2013 R - Uber Wagen

By on Sunday, March 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "A Golf on steroids."

Cons: "Unable to turn off the AWD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Traded my 2009 GTI w/80k miles for the 2013 R. Loved the GTI but wanted the increased hp and the awd that the R offered. Understated power-machine (proverbial wolf in sheep's clothing). Raced against my '07 Cayman S a couple of times and the R gave the Porsche a run for the money. Potent, well-balanced engine, wunderbar 6-speed and very precise steering. A street-legal go-kart. Simply a superior product."

Best Bang for the Buck

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, quick yet practical."

Cons: "None of significance."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"20k in less than a year of ownership and flawless so far. Fun to drive with a healthy aftermarket if you're so inclined. After reviewing and testing my 3 choices, Ford Focus ST, Suburu WRX and the GTI, the VW won out on fit and finish over the WRX and it's simple logical controls and dash layout over the Ford. Not without it's negs though, I would like to have an auto dimming rearview mirror and the HVAC controls should be skewed toward the driver for readability. Good gas mileage even at speeds that get you to places quickly. Good price for me since it was the last, new 2013 on the lot."

10 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Not worth the headache. Buy a Toyota or Honda.

By on Wednesday, December 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,831

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive."

Cons: "Low reliability."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Reliability is substandard. First water pump replaced before 11000 miles. Second and third water pump replaced in late Nov.14. Never again VW! Should have bought a Toyota or Honda. All this before 20900 miles."

11 people out of 21 found this review helpful

One of the best GTIs ever made

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Safety, economy, customization, reliability"

Cons: "FWD, heavy, value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

Mine lowered on ST Coilovers and Rotiform BLQ wheels

"Where to start. I have been driving VW vehicles for years now. This is actually my third GTI and have had a few Audi's as well. When it comes to reliability there is no need to worry. Being a VW, prices for maintenance are not high surprisingly, very easy to work on, and will give you relief knowing it won't let you down. The MK6 generation in my humble opinion is one of THE best looking GTI models that has been released. That was actually my first draw to the vehicle. It has a very aggressive look from the front and rear. And every body line starts at one corner of the vehicle and can be followed all the way around the car. Something that I love. Compared to the MK7 which has body lines that just drop off in random places and end suddenly. Not to mention the amount of customization you can do to make the car look that much more unique (ie. LED tails, Xenon headlights, R bumpers, etc.) Inside the vehicle is very well equipped with bluetooth, optional RNS headunits, sunroof, and interlagos/leather depending on the edition GTI. Mine is constantly streaming Spotify through the bluetooth via my Premium 8 headunit. And not to mention the hands free wheel controls for any phone calls and music controls. I could not live without that now. My GTI in particular has the interlagos as well, and I love the look of it. Actually, everyone that has ever seen it or been in my car has complimented it. Heated seats are a great touch especially in the Chicago winters. The "bucket" style seats up front are very comfortable and have lots of adjustment, however I feel the bolstering is a little too wide so hard cornering does make you slide in the seat a little unless you have an extremely wide back and huge thighs to keep you hugged and planted. The rear offers plenty of room for my son's Recaro seat and the 60/40 split is a great feature to give you plenty of cargo room for hauling boxes or small furniture. I'm still amazed at how much room there is inside. Something that I started noticing a week into driving is how quiet it is compared to all the previous models and other makes. There is A LOT of sound deadening and reduced whistle noise at high speeds thanks to redesigned mirrors and doors. Along with that, I kept finding more and more storage compartments and cup/bottle holders all over the front. So, if you like to keep a lot of stuff in your vehicle there is definitely adequate room for everything. Also, having 4+ star crash ratings overall was another selling point for me. You can definitely feel the rigidity of the vehicle with the extra steel in the pillars and the seam welded roof. I dare you to open any door on this car, and stand on the window frame or even the door handle/controls and jump on it. The door won't go anywhere. Do that with any other competition car and you'll see a quality difference without a doubt. Trust me, I've done it... The power delivery from the 2.0 is more than enough stock. And you can definitely feel the torque as well. And with some simple APR modifications you can definitely have a FWD hot hatch that can keep up or walk away from V8 counterparts in totally different leagues. It's a great feeling and no one would suspect it from such a small hatch. Definitely a sleeper vehicle with the right driver. Overall the car has been great to me. I love the customization you can achieve with the vehicle while still keeping the reliability. The comfort inside has been great and you feel safe and cocooned in your little shell. I've gotten to know many people in the VW community thanks to this car. Anyone from their teens and some married couples in their 50s who just want a fun and economical car. You can't put this vehicle with a certain demographic because, well, everyone I've came across loves it. Try one out, I can almost certainly guarantee that you'll find some attachment to the vehicle and want to take it home."

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Mine lowered on ST Coilovers and Rotiform BLQ wheels

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.