Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Volkswagen GTI Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $26,399 - $27,633.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $30,515

Fair Purchase Price $26,886
Fair Market Range ($26,399 - $27,633)

Invoice $29,327

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.4 of 10

10/7.4

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 16 Ratings for the 2013 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Can't find a better option for the money

By on Friday, May 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"One of the best cars I have owned. FUN, Comfortable, economical, powerful, and very well appointed interior. It is much roomier than it looks, and people are always surprised by it. You cannot find another car in the 20k range that provides as much value as this car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Legendary

By on Friday, March 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Refined Agression."

Cons: "Not as sharp as some of its competitors."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When the Golf GTI came out in the late 1970s it was a game changer. It was the first of its kind, a new breed. They called it a Hot Hatch. Its agile short chassis could out handle some of the best sports cars of the time, not to mention out accelerate. It was well made, fuel efficient, beautifully made, and most of all a pleasure to drive. Through the years though Volkswagen lost sight of what made the GTI great. They forgot that it was a drivers car. In 2005 VW had a change of heart with the new Mk5 GTI. It was a rebirth for the brand. And they did it. It received car of the year from many coveted sources including Top Gear (Uk). It really doesn't get much better than that. Short after that they gave the car a new body and upgraded nearly everything to create the Mk6. Now that the history lesson is over, lets get down to business. The Mk6 spanned from 2010-14 in the US. It features one of THE best 4-cylinder engines very made. Its a brilliant 2.0 200bhp little rascal. Amazingly this car with a weight of 3,300 lbs can accelerate to 60 in 6.3 seconds with a DSG (Direct Shift Gearbox Auto). Being able to do that with a mere 200bhp is an amazing feat. The interior is one you would find in a car that is much more expensive. In truth i've yet to be in any car under $50,000 that has materials that are as well made as this GTI. Everything is thought out so well that it just makes sense. You never fumble around looking for switches or knobs, they are just where you expect them to be. There are some negatives however. Its brakes are subpar for this performance car. They have almost zero feedback and feel very mushy. It stops well, don't get me wrong, but you don't have the confidence to brake late that you would in say a Mini Cooper S, or Ford Focus ST. Its stopping distance is also longer than its main competitors. Handling is also softer and less responsive than the Focus ST. This has been done on purpose because Volkswagen sells the GTI to a wide range of people from young boy racers to your more mature buyer who wants a pleasant ride. GTI's emergence changed the world of cars when it erupted out of Wolfsburg in the 70s. It inspired countless spin offs and forced the rest of the automakers to really turn of perforce and quality while keeping costs down. This new model is a worthy successor to the namesake. It may not be the fastest or most hardcore of its rifles but that is why its perfect. Its refined luxury with the heart and soul of a supercar. You would be hard-pressed to find a more complete and perfect car as this, at any price range."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Loads of fun to drive"

Cons: "Cannot think of anything bad about the GTI"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"If you are in the market for a fun car that can serve as a daily driver and great utility, then this is the car for you. On the freeway it is fantastic, it has the horsepower to get you into a tight fit and do it in a hurry but that is nothing compared to what it can do in the twisty bits, it can corner on rails and has plenty of torque to accelerate through the apex with very little turbo lag. BTW, the max torque shows up at just 1750 RPMs! The seats are great, holds you in place nicely and are very comfortable on long trips. I have the bi-xenon lights that light up the sky! I got as many options as I could up to but not including the leather seats, the plaid is just, well, GTI what else can be said. I also have the six speed manual gearbox, would not have it any other way, it is butter smooth and allows me much more control of the car. I cannot speak highly enough about the GTI, it is for the money, a phenom! The fit and finish is miles above the competition. I looked at the Mazda Speed 3 and the Ford Focus STI, both have some things that are better, but overall, neither comes close to the GTI. If you are considering a new purchase, don't walk, run and get yourself into one of these, you will not have any regrets!"

22 people out of 33 found this review helpful

The Best Car I Have Ever Owned

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Without a doubt...the best car I have ever owned. If you can only have one car in your family...this is the car. Very quick, nice interior, quality is superb, enough room to with the hatchback to haul stuff. I could not be happier with this purchase."

12 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Really enjoy driving this car

By on Tuesday, September 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my GTI in February 2013 and currently have 7500 miles on it. I am really enjoying it. It's less horsepower than my previous car (Saab) but very fun to drive. The turbo helps and it has really nice steering and handling. It hugs the road and feels very stable taking turns at higher speeds. The interior is also very nice - the red stitching and plaid seats give it some personality. Two features that I think should be standard on this car but are not include - radio controls mounted on the steering wheel and automatic climate control. I miss both, particularly the steering wheel mounted radio controls. That being said, I could not be happier with this car."

14 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.