Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2007 Volkswagen GTI

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 188 Ratings for the 2006 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next

Great little car

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handling is amazing. Seating position is perfect."

Cons: "Depreciation is a little high."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Not the highest horsepower sports coupe, but also not the priciest. The turbocharged 200-HP engine and perfect gear ratios make it a very quick car. There's virtually no turbo lag. I think it's great value for the money. Still has contemporary looks. I prefer the manual trans' over the DSG. The standard seating is very supportive and grippy. The HID headlamps make for great forward vision. Overall, a great little car. I'd buy another one except that I need a larger vehicle now."

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

first and last

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great fuel economy"

Cons: "$$$ to maintain,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This is a pocket personality car $$$ expensive to own and maintain. This is a great summer car but cannot handle the Ohio winters and roads. This was my 1st VW and it will be my last."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Awesome GTI

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value, great experience, a lot of mods avail"

Cons: "horrible speakers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love my GTI. I have been a VW nut my whole life, but only have owned older beetles and eurovans. I absolutely LOVE this car! The engine has power and the handling is great. I let a buddy of mine drive my car (because I had a couple beers) and he absolutely loves it."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great road-holding car!

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great handling and ultimate utility; I regularly car-top my bikes and kayaks to mtns. and rivers. Excellent MPG and hi-performance too. Super reliable. What more could you want?!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Value, A Lot of Fun to Drive!

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Value, Blast to Drive, Adequate MPG"

Cons: "Reliability could be better,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I currently own a 2008 model year VW GTI that I bought new in December 2007. In short, it's been a great car. The GTI might not be "class leading" in anyone specific category - but when you look at the entire package, I'm not sure what else offers a better value. The car drives great, interior fit & finish looks like it belongs in a much more expensive category, and still looks pretty good almost 7 years after buying. Don't buy the FSI motor, it tends to have issues with the fuel pump. Mine has gone out twice. TSI is better and I believe available in 2008.5 and up models. Car does burn a considerable amount of oil. 10K oil change interval that requires a full quart or more to be added every 2,500 miles."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Absolutely love my GTI

By on Monday, February 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Blast to drive, handles really well, quick"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car for about a year now and it has been a dream come true. I love everything about my little VW. Handles like a dream, gets decent gas milage, and is very easy on the eyes. The interior is well crafted and everything feels like it's exactly where it should be. The back seat (even in my little 2 door) is spacious enough to comfortably fit two full grown men. I would happily stand by this car and recommend it to anyone looking for a fun and sporty little hatchback."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

GTI -the perfect combination of sport and function

By on Saturday, December 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. I bought it used 3 years ago and its the best car I have ever owned. The handling is unmatched by any other. The engineering, interior, design, features, etc. are all top notch. With the GTI you are getting an Audi for a VW price."

solid, drives well, somewhat expensive to maintain

By on Tuesday, November 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependable, solid and tight, fun to drive"

Cons: "cost of maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This has been a great car but there were some hidden costs of owning it. Tires are more expensive than, say, for a Nissan Sentra, and replacing headlights and the air filter (you have to pop the top off the engine compartment, easier said than done) is more complicated and expensive. That said, VW's warranty and recalls (there have been two) have served me very well, the car is absolutely dependable and handles well. I would buy it again."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Monday, September 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, comfortable, reliable, no problems."

Cons: "Instruments hard to see in daylight."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great handling, excellent reliability, comfortable, good seats, good looks. Hatchback design meets all my needs for hauling things. Projector headlights are excellent."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

5 years and still in love

By on Friday, April 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Power, handling, looks"

Cons: "seats, noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Motor Trend's "2008 Car Of The Year". Most fun you can have on 4 (or less) wheels. Unbeleivable control. Not lightning fast but have it pointed in the direction you want before gassing it. I no longer have stoplights. They are now go! lights. Very firm ride with the stiff suspension and low profile/38# pressure tires. Seats are a bit uncomfortable and a little road noise. Small annoyances easily ignored with the power and handling. Pulls strong and feels stable at speeds of 100+. Love the style and look. Still get compliments from strangers even after 5 years. Would definately buy another when this one wears out in another decade."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen GTI near Honolulu. See local deals