Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2006 Volkswagen GTI

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 188 Ratings for the 2006 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next

Great little car

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handling is amazing. Seating position is perfect."

Cons: "Depreciation is a little high."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Not the highest horsepower sports coupe, but also not the priciest. The turbocharged 200-HP engine and perfect gear ratios make it a very quick car. There's virtually no turbo lag. I think it's great value for the money. Still has contemporary looks. I prefer the manual trans' over the DSG. The standard seating is very supportive and grippy. The HID headlamps make for great forward vision. Overall, a great little car. I'd buy another one except that I need a larger vehicle now."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

first and last

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great fuel economy"

Cons: "$$$ to maintain,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This is a pocket personality car $$$ expensive to own and maintain. This is a great summer car but cannot handle the Ohio winters and roads. This was my 1st VW and it will be my last."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Awesome GTI

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value, great experience, a lot of mods avail"

Cons: "horrible speakers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love my GTI. I have been a VW nut my whole life, but only have owned older beetles and eurovans. I absolutely LOVE this car! The engine has power and the handling is great. I let a buddy of mine drive my car (because I had a couple beers) and he absolutely loves it."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great road-holding car!

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great handling and ultimate utility; I regularly car-top my bikes and kayaks to mtns. and rivers. Excellent MPG and hi-performance too. Super reliable. What more could you want?!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Value, A Lot of Fun to Drive!

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Value, Blast to Drive, Adequate MPG"

Cons: "Reliability could be better,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I currently own a 2008 model year VW GTI that I bought new in December 2007. In short, it's been a great car. The GTI might not be "class leading" in anyone specific category - but when you look at the entire package, I'm not sure what else offers a better value. The car drives great, interior fit & finish looks like it belongs in a much more expensive category, and still looks pretty good almost 7 years after buying. Don't buy the FSI motor, it tends to have issues with the fuel pump. Mine has gone out twice. TSI is better and I believe available in 2008.5 and up models. Car does burn a considerable amount of oil. 10K oil change interval that requires a full quart or more to be added every 2,500 miles."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Absolutely love my GTI

By on Monday, February 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Blast to drive, handles really well, quick"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car for about a year now and it has been a dream come true. I love everything about my little VW. Handles like a dream, gets decent gas milage, and is very easy on the eyes. The interior is well crafted and everything feels like it's exactly where it should be. The back seat (even in my little 2 door) is spacious enough to comfortably fit two full grown men. I would happily stand by this car and recommend it to anyone looking for a fun and sporty little hatchback."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

GTI -the perfect combination of sport and function

By on Saturday, December 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. I bought it used 3 years ago and its the best car I have ever owned. The handling is unmatched by any other. The engineering, interior, design, features, etc. are all top notch. With the GTI you are getting an Audi for a VW price."

solid, drives well, somewhat expensive to maintain

By on Tuesday, November 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependable, solid and tight, fun to drive"

Cons: "cost of maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This has been a great car but there were some hidden costs of owning it. Tires are more expensive than, say, for a Nissan Sentra, and replacing headlights and the air filter (you have to pop the top off the engine compartment, easier said than done) is more complicated and expensive. That said, VW's warranty and recalls (there have been two) have served me very well, the car is absolutely dependable and handles well. I would buy it again."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Monday, September 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, comfortable, reliable, no problems."

Cons: "Instruments hard to see in daylight."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great handling, excellent reliability, comfortable, good seats, good looks. Hatchback design meets all my needs for hauling things. Projector headlights are excellent."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

5 years and still in love

By on Friday, April 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Power, handling, looks"

Cons: "seats, noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Motor Trend's "2008 Car Of The Year". Most fun you can have on 4 (or less) wheels. Unbeleivable control. Not lightning fast but have it pointed in the direction you want before gassing it. I no longer have stoplights. They are now go! lights. Very firm ride with the stiff suspension and low profile/38# pressure tires. Seats are a bit uncomfortable and a little road noise. Small annoyances easily ignored with the power and handling. Pulls strong and feels stable at speeds of 100+. Love the style and look. Still get compliments from strangers even after 5 years. Would definately buy another when this one wears out in another decade."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car for the value - German quality!

By on Wednesday, April 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great quality, great performance on and off track"

Cons: "A little small for tall people like me"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car for about a year - very impressed. The car might have a few miles on it, but it doesn't matter. Runs almost like the new ones I test drove. The MKIV (early 2006 in my case, the late 2006 models are MKV's) model is the best looking design in my opinion, and the 1.8 turbo engine is much better than the 2.0 turbo as well. Has nearly the same power, but much better fuel economy. If you're interested in a GTI I strongly recommend this year. Performance and handling are excellent, the care in building the car is excellent - nothing will fall apart on you like in many other imports from other countries. I would recommend upgrading the stereo deck though - I have a Kenwood DVD deck in mine with Bluetooth and navigation - basically the same type of system that the newer models come with. Only downfall is the pricing - many dealerships want around $12000 for this car - I was lucky and found one at a dealership for $8000."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

the most fun car to drive that I have had in a lon

By on Thursday, March 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Incredibly fun to drive and (big plus) pretty good gas mileage. I'd get a 4 door next time, however"

Everything you'll ever need from a car...

By on Saturday, March 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Not the best in any, but up top in every category"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have been driving for ~6 years, and this is an amazing car. Very sporty yet comfortable, very nicely designed interior and exterior, looks small yet very spacious and practical. Recommended for everyone. I've driven much more expensive cars, and this car does 95% of what they do for half the price!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this car!!!!

By on Tuesday, July 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handling, performance, looks"

Cons: "like most small cars hard to get in/out of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"never been back to the dealer - not once! Unbelievable power for a 2.0 L, great driver - so fast! out-handles a lot of cars! Will definitely be in my stable for years to come - may end up a track car! Its comfortable, stylish and well made...i recommend it!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Will keep this car until the wheels fall off

By on Monday, April 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun n fast"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car, fun to drive, pretty good on gas but need the premium. Since we have snow purchased Bridgestone Blizzak snow tires that are AWEsome."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Fantastic mountain carver

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, efficient on fuel"

Cons: "Could have more factory horsepower, FWD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a fantastic little car to own and drive. German engineering and quality. Interior is on par with Audi. Makes me happy everytime I get behind the wheel. Great engine with more potential with a tune. Steering feel is tight, linear and very good at communicating the road. Both options for transmissions are fantastic. Try the DSG automatic if you get the chance. 6-Speed manual is top notch also."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Love it...the poswer is wonderful. I live in the mountains and it makes the driving through the switchbacks easy"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

LOVE THIS CAR

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive, super fast, great reliability"

Cons: "gas mileage is not what you'd expect"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'VE OWNED THIS CAR SINCE NEW. HAD SOME MINOR ISSUES IN TEH BEGINNING THAT THE DEALER FIXED UNDER WARRANTY AND ONE BIGGER ISSUE WITH THE FUEL SYSTEM AT 90K MILES THAT AGAIN THE DEALER FIXED UNDER A SERVICE BULLETIN. FOR A CAR WITH 111000 MILES, I HAVE NEVER REPLACED THE FRONT BRAKES, ONLY REPLACED THE REAR BRAKES ONCE AND I DO DRIVE IT PRETTY HARD. I just had all brakes checked at last tire rotation and I am still in great shape with them. I do regular service intervals now myself or with a independent mechanic I have found. I will likely keep it for at least another two to three years"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Just Awesome

By on Sunday, February 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Driving, driving, driving. And it looks cool."

Cons: "Expensivish service. Cups its tires."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everything works right. And, the driving is the best you'll ever get for $25,000. Why doesn't everyone buy these? Every drive is fun. Every shift is exciting. (Reminder: RPM's are your friend!) Trade in your Japanese snoozemobile now. You'll never buy another one."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Among turbocharged cars, best value for the $

By on Monday, February 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "exterior looks, upgrade-bility, fun to drive"

Cons: "interior could be better (improved in 2010 )"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"when i bought it in 09, it came down to the GTI or Civic Si. While HP was rated the same for both cars at 200, GTI had more torque, and since there was virtually no price difference i went with the GTI. Looking back I am really glad i did. While both of these cars are probably equally reliable, i found that VWs have unmatched support network of LICENSED aftermarket performance shops, allowing VW owners to gradually upgrade their car (stages 1-3). Near my factory warranty expiration i let APR guys perform a stage 1 upgrade (basically just the engine software upgrade) which increased HP on the stock engine from 200 to 250 and torque from 205 to 350 lbs/ft. On a stock engine! Love love love my GTI."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Solid little car that knows how to run! And fast!!

By on Thursday, February 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Quick quick quick, DSG transmission, blue gauges"

Cons: "Manual seats, plastic paddle shifters"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Front hood view with an OSIR front chin spoiler

"My second GTI and fourth VW is getting an extended stay in my garage--with a lease buyout. After 3 years of driving my MK5 2009 GTI 2-door, I love it so much that I've decided to purchase the vehicle. Initially I planned on getting the car equipped with a 6-speed stick. I figured that was a no-brainer. I was so wrong! I fell in love with the DSG (Direct Shift Gearbox) 6-speed automatic at first sight. The GTI handles like a VW and is just fun to drive. Period. I would change one thing however: replacing the stock manual seats with automatic ones."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Front hood view with an OSIR front chin spoiler

Awsome Car

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive .*GAS*"

Cons: "Some things are a bit fragile *my fault*"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Whats not to like about it great on gas, cool apperance, excellent smooth ride.Gets lots of heads turning.Turbo takes a while to kick in but it makes up for it .The cost for oil..ect bla bla bla is not to bad Overall great car *two thumbs up*"

The best car I have owned

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "makes some interior noise (lowered)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had 8 cars in a very short time. I am only 22 years old and have own 2 chevy HHR's and an HHR SS, a chevy 1/2 ton, a VW GLI and many more this is by far my favorite car out of the bunch!!!! I have never had any problems maintenance wise, very excellent fuel economy and just an overall joy to drive on a daily basis. The only down fall right now would be the front wheel drive in the snow but it actually does a great job of getting traction with its small wheel base. If you are looking to buy I recommend this car!!!!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fun Little Car, Loads of Power, Loads of Space

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive, Great Gas Mileage, Loads of Space"

Cons: "Stock sound system ok, defrost insufficient"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is an absolute blast to drive. We have not added any aftermarket parts to the car, all 2009 stock parts. Lots of pickup and torque, the GTI is great for cruising the interstate or rambling around town. On the interstate, the car averages 30 MPG even with my lead foot. Taking it a little easier, it can get up to 35 MPG. Day to day I cruise around town, about 5-10 miles per go, and average around 22 MPG for those trips. The GTI is not short on space with the hatchback design and fold-down rear seats, I can pack all my music equipment including my guitar, amps, stands, etc, with no problem. Load all that down plus 2 passengers in the front, and the car still has plenty of power to get down the interstate. Loaded up with 5 adults, the GTI loses a little "umph" but not enough to slow me down. My back seat passengers were surprised at the space, even with 3 adults piled in. The backseat is not the easiest to get in and out of, and the release handle on the front seats are a little confusing. If you let go of the handle a tad, the seat locks in place. I find the rear access troublesome, but we rarely have people in the backseat. Would not recommend this for anyone with infant car seats, especially rear facing. A booster seat would be easy enough to access, though. Love the 6 speed manual transmission, adds a little more shifting fun to the drive. We have had relatively few problems and have certainly put the car to the test. Everything from 1000 mile road trips to day-to-day errands. We have had one minor repair which occurred under warranty. My only complaint for the vehicle is the defrost is not sufficient. The defrost takes a long time to heat up and seems to do a poor job at defrost. In the summer on a muggy day (in Ohio), the windows are cloudy, and in the winter it takes 10 minutes just for the defrost to warm up. Small potatoes, though, compared to the other enjoyable features of the car. I would recommend since this is a fun-car, to pay the $200 or so extra for the premium sound system. The stock system is ok, but not great, and I would love to have my music sounding fantastic since I'm already having so much fun driving this car."

Sporty fun car to drive.

By on Monday, January 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,200

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Ease of modding 2.0L turbo eng, affordable fun."

Cons: "Painted int parts scratch easy, engine cover!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good little car to drop some money into and have a little hot rod that's REALLY fun to drive. APRs stg 1 ECU flash is about $599 and unlocks about 45hp immediately. The fit and finish is good, with the exception that the Germans continue to paint the interior door handles and other parts of inside of there cars with cheesey paint that easily damaged or scratched. Saw this on my 330Ci BMW. Overall, it's pretty nicely equipped and comfortable.(even heated seats which my BMW did not!) I bought this vehicle for the engine and it's ease of modding it into an affordable little fast go-kart. It still won't stay with my 330Ci in high speed curves, but my GTI with APR stg2 , dropped with H"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen GTI near Honolulu. See local deals