Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact Car Buyer's Guide
Go

2006 Volkswagen GTI

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 188 Ratings for the 2006 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 38 | Next

Great little car

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handling is amazing. Seating position is perfect."

Cons: "Depreciation is a little high."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Not the highest horsepower sports coupe, but also not the priciest. The turbocharged 200-HP engine and perfect gear ratios make it a very quick car. There's virtually no turbo lag. I think it's great value for the money. Still has contemporary looks. I prefer the manual trans' over the DSG. The standard seating is very supportive and grippy. The HID headlamps make for great forward vision. Overall, a great little car. I'd buy another one except that I need a larger vehicle now."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

first and last

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great fuel economy"

Cons: "$$$ to maintain,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This is a pocket personality car $$$ expensive to own and maintain. This is a great summer car but cannot handle the Ohio winters and roads. This was my 1st VW and it will be my last."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Awesome GTI

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value, great experience, a lot of mods avail"

Cons: "horrible speakers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love my GTI. I have been a VW nut my whole life, but only have owned older beetles and eurovans. I absolutely LOVE this car! The engine has power and the handling is great. I let a buddy of mine drive my car (because I had a couple beers) and he absolutely loves it."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great road-holding car!

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great handling and ultimate utility; I regularly car-top my bikes and kayaks to mtns. and rivers. Excellent MPG and hi-performance too. Super reliable. What more could you want?!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Value, A Lot of Fun to Drive!

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Value, Blast to Drive, Adequate MPG"

Cons: "Reliability could be better,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I currently own a 2008 model year VW GTI that I bought new in December 2007. In short, it's been a great car. The GTI might not be "class leading" in anyone specific category - but when you look at the entire package, I'm not sure what else offers a better value. The car drives great, interior fit & finish looks like it belongs in a much more expensive category, and still looks pretty good almost 7 years after buying. Don't buy the FSI motor, it tends to have issues with the fuel pump. Mine has gone out twice. TSI is better and I believe available in 2008.5 and up models. Car does burn a considerable amount of oil. 10K oil change interval that requires a full quart or more to be added every 2,500 miles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 38 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen GTI near Honolulu. See local deals