Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact Car Buyer's Guide
Go

2005 Volkswagen GTI

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 260 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 52 | Next

Best car of 36 that I've ever owned

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Done regular service and still running with original engine (heads/values); transmission and clutch - only replaced water pumps; serpentine belts, brake pads and air filters. Utterly, the most reliable car we've owned - with a big plus on the entertainment side - good and comfortable driver."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

It was the best

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car"

Cons: "Needs trany work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Until some hit me needs trany work. It's all ready out. Has new transaxle new rear end and front end has no hood must sell"

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

expensive as ---- for an econo mobile

By on Tuesday, December 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very tuneable. Great aftermarket base."

Cons: "It's from Germany, get it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I purchased this car with 57k miles back in 5/2009 because of the availability of aftermarket tuners. I know what this car is capable of and so does everyone else (ricers). The timing belt is weak but it also states that you should change it at 60k. If you go beyond that your surely asking for trouble. Mine's was changed previous to my purchase and I took it to 104k before I blew it up. It cost me between 5 and 7 grand to get it better than before. I basically had it rebuilt from the ground up with all new upgraded parts. Stroker kit (2.0) with h-beam rods and forged pistons, dual race springs/titanium retainers, ARP studs, Ferrara valves, B&G S2 coil overs, Brembo rotors/Hawk HPS pads, Hotchkis swaybar kit f&r, ES poly bushings, Black forest Industries poly engine mount and 3"downpipe w/cat, AWE Tuning 2.5" cat back, F1 Racing stage 2 clutch, Spectre 3"cone filter, 42 Draft Designs solid shifter bushings, Goodridge steel braided brake lines f&r, chip tuned by ? it makes 196whp/237lb ft before the rebuild, and Royal Purple oil. Whew!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

super sour lemon

By on Thursday, December 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
5/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"i bought this in jan of 2013 at 74K ... within 6 months, i had to replace the exhaust (about $400). ok, stuff happens. at november of the same year, i was driving on the highway and, without warning, the timing belt blew. that was at 84k+ ... was told, over the period of a few days, little by little, that i now needed a new engine as the timing belt blowout scarred the valves and ruined the motor. that bill came to $4500 ... i'm in the process of waiting to get it back from repair, but now i'm already anxious to drive it. i love the car, it's fun to drive and looks great, and is the perfect size for me and my needs. but now who knows? i've read online that there was a class action lawsuit in early 2000 re: bad timing belts going without warning and before the required checkup. just a word of warning to those looking to buy: make sure the timing belt is checked, as that will wreak serious havoc on your engine and finances."

10 people out of 22 found this review helpful

best car for teens or twenty somethings

By on Tuesday, December 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this case 8 years and absolutely love it. It is a little high maintenance due to the need for premium gas and synthetic oil but it's worth it. Mines been a normal 've, with odd quirks. The engine light never gone off lol, but there's nothing wrong with the car. It's been the most reliable car I all conditions, even a paper rout driving 4 hours a day and doing 100 miles a day. I have thought about selling it a couple times for something newer but I work never get the same speed and power for the cost and talk myself out of it every time. It destroys civics, unless they have 5000$ worth of mods. It even keeps up with the majority of muscle cars. It's perfect for the modding types, but really doesn't need anything other then stock power."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 52 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen GTI near Honolulu. See local deals