Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2001 Volkswagen GTI

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 262 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next

Electrical Nightmare

By on Sunday, February 27, 2011

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought my GTI August of 2000. The first problem was the clutch which I noticed the night I left the dealership. It was replaced at about 1200 miles. OK, no problem for awhile afterward. Around 25K miles, the electrical nightmare began. I replaced headlights and taillights at least a dozen times. Then the power windows failed (later this was a recall) followed by the power door locks. Then came electrical components for the engine. After the warranty was out, some of the previously repaired items broke again at which time the dealer tried to bill me. VW Headquarters covered the repairs. For 9 years, I replaced this and that thinking just one more repair and everything will be done. Not so. Each fix cost between $600 and $1200. The last to go was the instrument cluster or so I thought. To add insult to my already injured wallet, the electrical system shorted out in the dealer's parking lot December 28, 2009. I could not justify another assault to my pocketbook. Over the years, I estimate the total cost of electrical repairs to be around $13,000. Why did I continue to make the repairs? Bottom line...I loved this car, the way it handled, the comfort, the looks and it was paid for. It had 137,000 miles and was pristine in appearance. I got next to nothing for my trade and yes, I did buy another VW...a 2009 Passat. One bad experience does not cancel out the good experiences with my 1996 Golf and 2003 Jetta."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, February 17, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, February 04, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Should be illegal!!

By on Wednesday, February 02, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Well I never had a VW before and I some how got my hands on a 20th AE Imola Yellow. I didn't even realize what I got. After researching I found I hit the jackpot. I love this car. It's small, great gas mileage and a blast to drive. The 6 speed keeps you on edge and the car says "That's all you got!!". The interior seems the be a custon setup, the Recardo seats and the alum. details throughout the car makes it stand out from the crowd. I love the car so much I have two of them (No lie!!). One is stock with cold air intake, etc.. (215hp) and the other is crazy (358hp). That brings me to the next thing, if you want to upgrade the car, it's pretty cheap and the car will fly!! Move over Honda, let the GTI through and try to keep up!! If you can find a 20th AE, don't think just get it. There are only 4000 of these cars. 2000 are black, 1000 Jazz blue, and 1000 Imola Yellow making these cars rare."

Great Performer, Reliable

By on Sunday, January 23, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The VR6 engine is well engineered. Flat torque curve allows for an "all around" response. Smallish car but lots of room for pretty much anything you can imagine. You can fit more stuff in this hatchback than most full sized sedans...including people. Pair this with an exhaust upgrade and some software and it makes for a great weekend do it all vehicle."

By on Saturday, January 22, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, January 10, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, January 09, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Fun but......

By on Friday, October 15, 2010

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"fun to drive but nickels and dimes are counted as $500 here and $1000 there. Plastic interior components are a joke, door locks are all messed up, a replacement key is $380! vr6 engine has a lot of torque but needs a 6th gear. have had ignition problems and emissions problems as well."

By on Wednesday, October 06, 2010

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, October 05, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Too bad they don't make them like this anymore

By on Wednesday, September 29, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"I bought my 03 GTI new with 14 miles on it, 7 years and 300,000 miles later it still drives as it did new...amazing performance with the miles. I drive approx 1000 miles a week for work and as long as you purchase a set of winter tires and wheels you'll be set. I plan to keep it until 400K if possible. Some earlier year models had electrical issue with them. I have had to perform standard maintenance with it...and 4 windsheilds...Great car, can't say enough nice things about it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, September 09, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, August 24, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great Car

By on Saturday, August 07, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Reliable, practical, good gas mileage, great performance, great acceleration, great interior, what more can I say?"

By on Friday, July 30, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Meh..

By on Tuesday, July 27, 2010

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

"Upon first glance of this car, I loved it, as I'm sure most buyers did. From the outside view, this is a beautiful, sporty hatchback. From the inside, everything is great; nice leather seats, easy control handling, etc. I was hooked, and bought the car at 30000 miles. Within the first 6 months of owning, I had numerous problems. I will list them: over head light switch broke, arm rest latch broke, glove box broke, Air Mass Flow sensor broke (not cheap 500 dollars) and THREE flat tires!! Not too mention two trips to the mechanic for the engine coolant over heating. I don't know where I went wrong with this car. I gave it so much love, constant oil changes, constant car washes to make her shine, no hard or reckless driving; I'm puzzled. All I can infer is that Volkswagen does not make quality cars."

By on Monday, July 26, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

In the end, it's a German car!

By on Friday, July 23, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I had another VW Golf GTI back in my home country in Europe. The one that I have been using in the US also has met and exceeded all of my expectations. It had a couple of minor technical issues which were covered under warranty and resolved instantly. A typical high quality German car with high performance yet at an affordable price. I'll continue driving Golf GTI to get the best bang for my buck."

By on Thursday, July 22, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

A Good Vehicle

By on Monday, July 12, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I had a sour taste in my mouth from my first Volkswagen (Jetta) and the only way I could get rid of it was to get another Volkswagen at the time. I bought the GTI used and thought to myself that I was making another mistake but I gave it time. The GTI turned out the be a good reliable car that I had very few problems with. A bad thermostat, battery, etc...little things. I would recommend this car."

GREAT CAR

By on Saturday, July 03, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"LOVE THE CAR, FAST, SPORTY, COMFORT, HAS EVERYTHING YOU CAN WANT, NEVER HAD A PROBELM, LOVE THE COLOR, GREAT MPG, PLUS IT A VW."

By on Thursday, May 20, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Awesome Buy

By on Saturday, May 08, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my GTI for a year now and I love it. IT has great performance and handles better than any other vehicle I've driven. Fairly reliable, only issue has been the sensor, but they're covered under the warranty. Also if do don't run it hard you can get a lost better MPG than advertised, I get around 25 city and 29-31 highway. Overall, a great car, and it is a blast to drive."

2001 Gti 1.8turbo

By on Sunday, May 02, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car should be in a class of it's own. A styling and performance above and beyond anything for the money buy this car and you won't send a moment of regret."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen GTI near Honolulu. See local deals