Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
Go

2000 Volkswagen GTI

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 264 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 53 | Next

It's number #3543 out of 4000 that was shipped

By on Tuesday, April 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My VW has the APR-F04 turbo system, also Air cooling system, also the full HI PO Exhaust, My GTI is a rocket."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

love this car, recomend to others.

By on Monday, March 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "engine, looks, performance, reliability, fun"

Cons: "parts expensive, hard to work on."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love my gti 1.8t. Its quick and handled great even when it was stock and is even better after i've modified it. It has been reliable as far as normal wear and tear on a car with 176k on the odometer and very little rust. Love the interior design. Vw deffenitly over engineered this car and it shows. Cons- hard to work on for DIY and parts can be expensive if you dont know were to look. Small back seat. Also there are alot of comon problems with this year so check the forums to know what to look for when buying. Pros- good looking, great ride and handling. The most fun car ive ever owned and even after i have modified it i still get great gas milage and use it to comute to work and college. Also there is alot of trunk space once you fold down the rear seats. This car is worth buying if it is in good condition and has been maintained, but if its in bad condtion id say keep looking for a different one. And if you are planning on buying id recomend one with the cloth recaro seat."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Greatest car i have ever driven

By on Tuesday, March 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "quick, safe, decent looking"

Cons: "no cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is by-far the greatest vehicle i have ever owned. it's quick, great on gas, and easy to modify. Not only do you get a great car, but you should also know that you get to be a part of a VW community who is always willing to help and better your vehicle and driving capabilities."

I especially love the heated seats!

By on Saturday, October 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, very comfy seats"

Cons: "gas mileage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My 2005 GTI has been a good vehicle. It is comfortable and fun to drive. It is quite fast and handles well. I would be more enthusiastic if I had not owned a Honda CRX Si previously. The GTI is both faster and more comfortable but the Honda due to its lighter weight was much more fun. And it got 30 MPG. The GTI regularly turns in 20 MPG which is not bad for a performance car but again I was spoiled by the Honda. I bought it used with 35,000 miles on it and it now is close to 100,000. I have replaced the tires, battery and brakes but I consider that to be routine maintenance. I also had to replace the catalytic converter not long ago. I have never had to do that on any other car but I figure once you are over 90,000 miles pretty much anything can and will break. I will be doing the timing chain when I bring it in for servicing again. But although this is an expensive repair it is part of routine maintenance. All in all it is a very good budget sports car that is well disguised. The earlier models do not have any flashy red badges so they look like a regular car (unless you pay attention to the larger wide tires.) I have gotten out of a ticket once or twice by incredulously looking at the policeman who had clocked me and saying "In a Volkswagen Golf? Are you sure that thing is working properly?" If I did not miss my CRX (hands down the greatest most fun car I have ever driven) my ratings would be much higher"

3 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Dub love

By on Sunday, October 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Hot hatch handles on rails!"

Cons: "neglect maint. and it will punish you!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Take care of her and she will take care of you. I've seen these roll up to 600K YES SIX HUNDRED THOUSAND MILES ON THE ORIGINAL ENGINE!"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 53 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen GTI near Honolulu. See local deals