Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2011 Volkswagen Golf

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 74 Ratings for the 2010 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 13 14 15 | Next

2010 2.5L 6speed Auto

By on Wednesday, January 19, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Super Quality built in Germany Auto, Great Performance from the 2.5L, Decent MPG's, averaging 28 MPG : ). Triptronic transmission extracts copious torque through all the RPM range. Great in the City & a super ride on the highways...Comfortable seats/interior. Hatchback design is useful for large items. Great room in rear seats for passengers. Great standard 8 speakers sounds system. Great handling & controls. Great investment for the $'s You get what you pay for & the Golf is a great investment & super fun to drive... It's like a little Mercedes : ) @ half the price. I love my Golf, and I don't Golf : ) Best small car that I've owned 4-Sure."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Not met expectations

By on Tuesday, January 11, 2011

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

"owned vehicle for six months, already having issues with TPMS light on. Replace two tires leaking air. Miles per gallon not to expectations around 24 miles per gallon."

14 people out of 29 found this review helpful

Imagine a Prius...Now Make it FUN

By on Saturday, January 08, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car because I wanted something that was fun to drive and also sipped fuel. I drove tons of cars - Focus, Prius, Mazda 3, and even a Golf GTI (still reasonably fuel-efficient given the extra horsepower). This car blew them all away. Performance: I've seen some reviews that say this is almost as fun to drive as the GTI and they aren't exaggerating! My boss who drives a BMW 3-series was impressed with how this thing handles around corners, and the low-pitched rumble of the engine is awesome when accelerating out of a corner. Fuel Efficiency: I drive about 1500 miles a month, mostly highway, and I end up getting about 42mpg on average in the summer and am getting about 40 in the winter (that's for a tank) despite some "spirited" driving. The fuel efficiency definitely drops off during city driving but is still respectable. For the type of driving I do, this is about even with the Prius's 48mpg highway (higher MPG numbers yield diminishing returns because of the way it is calculated) Cabin: This car definitely feels more upscale than the other cars I drove. It's definitely no Audi or BMW, but it isn't that far off and you definitely won't feel embarrassed to show it off to your friends and co-workers. The touchscreen radio seemed a bit excessive when I bought the car but now that I've been using it for almost a year I don't know if I could go back - it's nice seeing all the information about a song at once! Cons: There aren't a whole lot of storage compartments in this car. There is a pocket in each of the doors, a glove compartment, and a bit of space between the driver and passenger front seat and that's pretty much it. It was a big change from the Honda Accord I had owned previously, and definitely less space than some of the other compacts I drove. Also, be prepared to be second-class citizen at fueling stations - many gas stations don't have diesel and those that do usually have only 1-2 stations that also do normal fuel so are often occupied by cars that don't need the diesel. That being said, the car has about a 600 mile range for me, so having to wait a couple more exits to refuel isn't bad. Also, don't expect to get any discounts on fuel when you wash your car - that's apparently for gasoline users only!"

11 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Perfect long commuter

By on Monday, January 03, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Like most TDIers, I have a 100 mile commute every day. The diesel gets great gas mileage in the summer, and better than most in the winter. Interior is typical great ergonomic VW stuff. Acceleration is acceptable, and handling is phenomenal. I like the tuner-tude of VW's too."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great diesel

By on Saturday, November 06, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"The 2010 Golf TDI is an excellent car. Great fuel mileage, great performance. For a diesel, it has a lot of torque, and keeps up with traffic. The only complaint are the seats. They are uncomfortable."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 13 14 15 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Golf near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details