Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
Go

2006 Volkswagen Golf

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 270 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next

Excellent car for the most part

By on Wednesday, February 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "MILEAGE still getting 38 MPG after 11 yrs"

Cons: "lower part of front bumper comes off easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Pros: MILEAGE still getting 38 MPG after 11 yrs of driving it; front-wheel drive good for snow; stable to drive; has good pickup, though after 160,000 it is getting tired. Has cover to hide stuff behind rear seat; rear seats fold down almost flat, has tie-downs embedded in frame for cargo area. Had ABS standard, one of the reasons I bought it. Cons: transmission had to be replaced at 60,000 (get insurance!); lower part of front bumper comes off easily when hangs up on some curbs where u park, had to replace it; no good for off-road, big blind spot back corner, low not so good for seniors, to recline seat had to turn a wheel."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

NEVER regretted buying my Golf. No problems.

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good mileage; comfortable; cute; worth the price"

Cons: "turn knob vs leaver to make the front recline"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My first new car purchase was a 4 door VW Golf. I've loved it ever since. Driving Golfs seems to run in our family with 3 of us owning one. All the girls are on the tall side and the guys shoot right up there at 6ft, 6'4" and 6'7" so you'd expect they wouldn't be able to fold into a little Golf. Worry not. No folding required. They all love their Golfs too. And this car works for all of us. We shop at Swedish very large bright yellow and blue colored store (no advertising, right?) a lot and have been able to get all our purchases into our Golfs. The first long drive I took in my then new car was a 5 hour run up the Calif. coast. I thought I'd be screaming with back pain, but, nope. Not a squeak. I've never had any mechanical problems which I'm guessing is because I've made sure the oil and service was up to date . And I love the stick shift! Even driving in San Francisco."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Tuesday, October 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "High MPG and a pleasure to drive."

Cons: "Interior quality could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Other than some minor complaints about quality, This car has been great to own. Minimum of 46 MPG city and up to 54 MPG highway is no meager feat. I wish it was still new."

9 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Super wonderful car

By on Saturday, August 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Everything about the car!"

Cons: "Tight space betw. seats hard to get dropped keys"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new in July 2010 and got a fabulous deal on the color and all equipment I wanted. I have meticulously maintained it, and even though I live in a very hilly area, I still have 60% of my original brakes left according to my mechanics. I also still have the original manual transmission and it is in good condition. I have replaced the timing belt as a safety precaution, because the car does have an interference engine. All original equipment on the car works well even after 10 years! The only flaws were caused by me, like forgetting to close windows and having rain spots on my blond upholstery, and hitting the garage door and having to touch up paint. I hope I never have to part with my cute little Golf!"

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Amazing fuel economy, super fun to drive!

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fuel economy"

Cons: "expensive to fix when breaks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very good car model- has great fuel economy (51 mpg on highway). Solid engine- no repairs ever needed and my car has over 210K on it. Great handling during normal driving conditions and good handling in snow and sleet with good snow tires. High resale value. Can be expensive to repair, but that's the case for most European vehicles."

23 people out of 35 found this review helpful

I have all my life owned volkswagens They're best

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas mileage especially after tunedbyF1TUNING"

Cons: "has none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have all my life owned volkswagens They're the best in my opinion ... I first took my road test in a 5 speed Volkswagen .... and have owed them ever since but the best one I have owned is this TDI great on MPG and very reliable you even forget that It runs on fuel ..."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

I have all my life owned volkswagens They're best

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas mileage especially after tunedbyF1TUNING"

Cons: "has none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have all my life owned volkswagens They're the best in my opinion ... I first took my road test in a 5 speed Volkswagen .... and have owed them ever since but the best one I have owned is this TDI great on MPG and very reliable you even forget that It runs on fuel ..."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

The way this car handles is amazing

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "5000.00"

Cons: "More speed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this took it to vw in McKinney and did what they said to make sure no major break downs they replaced water pump and timing belt 2700.dollars new tires 17"custom rims 1200.00 new ac compressor and I paid 5000.00 so tell what do you offer"

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

best gas milage of any car out there

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 203,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car will get you anywhere you want to go while being super easy on the wallet"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great little car

By on Sunday, February 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Hugs road, easy to drive"

Cons: "Doors that automatically lock"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I have ever had. Still looks current. Have spent minimal amount on repairs. Both granddaughters want it (21 and 17 years old)"

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Golf near Honolulu. See local deals