Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2002 Volkswagen Golf

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 267 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next

Hope you have money!

By on Saturday, November 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "fun to drive, when it actually ran"

Cons: "constant pricey repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this car 3 years ago after my 1995 4 door Golf was totaled thinking it would be a good replacement. Boy was I wrong. I spent way more money in redundant repairs in 3 years than I did on my older, higher mileage Golf I drove for 6. The electrical problems were absolute nightmares, and I spent over $1750 in 2 years just replacing ignition coils that seemed to go bad monthly, (replaced 1 twice, and 2 more once each) and got progressively more expensive each time. (the first time was around $160, every time after that was hundreds more even after going to the same trusted mechanic I've always gone too. I was informed there was such a demand for the part, they were hard to find and got more expensive) After putting more money than I paid into it after just 2 and a half years, I'm junking it because I couldn't in good conscience sell this car to anyone."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Reliable and Fun to Drive

By on Wednesday, August 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great drive and reliable"

Cons: "Stupid front cup-holder; best MPH only 28 HWY"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned this car for 8 years after buying it as a certified used vehicle. Aside from normal wear, and a recent replacement of the catalytic converter (covered by warranty!!), the car has never failed me. Clutch still works great, never turned a break rotor, no electrical issues, ... just absolutely reliable! This car, with a short wheelbase, 5-speed manual and moon roof is a blast to drive on windy country roads. It hauls a lot when the seats are down, and I have been known to carry four bikes on top and two on the hatch. It looks great with a 17.5 ft kayak on top, too. This is the fourth Rabbit or Golf that I have owned in 20 yrs, and it really is the best."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Had to sue...

By on Tuesday, August 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Stable on the road, side airbags"

Cons: "Everything else"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I had to sue VW to uphold a warrantee issue. Transmission started to fail at 80K; door locks failed at about 90K; fan for heating an cooling system cost a bundle now. I maintained this car meticulously but it is cheaply constructed. Also, the OEM tires lasted less than 20K and I drive like an old lady. Plastic components are brittle and the electrical shorts out (like a BMW I once had) regularly. Since this was THE most expensive compact on the market when I bought it, I think that it is a ripoff. Only good part is the paint finish. Never again!"

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

no rattles, no squeaks,very reliable

By on Tuesday, June 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"never had any problems with the car, since I bought it new in 2004. Consistent great gas mileage (TDI). Should I really sell it?"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good car for its day and class.

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good value at the time."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Simple styling reasonable performance and reliability. That pretty much sums up my experience with the 04 Golf. Purchased certified pre-owned in 2007 with 20,000 miles, now have 75,000 with only routine maintenance cost since purchased."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Value! Fun to Drive!

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Great price."

Cons: "Cup holder design poor."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this car new in December of 2000 and it has been a great vehicle for me both in the city and in the country. Its great on gas, handles well and has required minimal repairs over the last 11 years. In fact, the car is so much fun, I'm trading it in for its higher performance, power loving cousin, the Golf R, next month."

Absolutly love it

By on Friday, March 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been a chevy man for the last 6 years then i started looking in to vw cause of the gas milage they get i dont think i will ever get away from the vw line of cars there great for different types of people there still easy to work on not to expencive to repair and they are easy to get aftermarket parts for"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

VW = FUN

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"There is something special about a Volkswagen, they drive like nothing else on the road. The handling of this car is no exception, it sticks to the road like glue and goes exactly where you point it. The Golf can be either sporty or economic and a little bit of both. I get about 30mpg on average with the 2.0L automatic, and other then some normal expected issues the car is very reliable. We've taken it on long trips with no issues. If I could afford a new one, I'd buy it... but even buying a used one has been a great experience."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good value for the money"

Cons: "Not enough storage space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The little things that Volkswagen has done to this car makes this a great value, such as the Telescoping steering wheel and center sun visor. My one complaint is there is no storage in the vehicle. NO center console and minimal compartments, and the trunk is to small to fit my golf clubs without lowering the back seat"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Awful car.

By on Tuesday, March 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "handles fine"

Cons: "unreliable, slow, inefficient, costly to maintain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I drove this car for 3 years during college. My experience was not a happy one. Handling was decent in the dry, ok in snow and slush, but horrible in the rain. The car is woefully underpowered and the transmission is horribly clunky. Seats are poor in both comfort and ease of discoloration. Fuel economy is merely so-so, while oil consumption is a very real issue. And repair parts are extremely expensive. Nor has it been reliable. It was purchased in 2007 with 30000 on the odo. At 45000 it stranded me, coolant impeller went haywire and shredded a coolant line. At 60000, it was down for the count again, victim of a shot ignition coil, bad plugs, and toasted plug wires. All in all, I used this car in hopes of it being a reliable, inexpensive-to-maintain first car. It was none of these things. I will never buy another VW, based on the experiences with my Golf."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Golf near Honolulu. See local deals