Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2001 Volkswagen Golf

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 268 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 9 10 11 | Next

Good enough car, but should be better

By on Monday, August 13, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"Nice small hatchback. Looks great, especially the interior finish ... as good as an Audi. Had several warranty issues, so a bit annoying. One warranty issue led to premature break replacement at my own cost after warranty expired. Needs more power (the '07 Rabbit should have this problem fixed). Seems to hold its value well. I just hope that the electronics don't start failing me. So far, so good. Fingers crossed."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great little car

By on Monday, August 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 2000 Golf brand new. I have put 117000 trouble free miles on it. Not sure why these cars get a bad reliability rap; I just make sure that I keep up on oil changes and it never lets me down. I have used it for just about everything imaginable. From carrying a dishwasher home from the store inside the car, to carrying a fullsize 3 cushion couch on Thule roof racks. Very good handling coupled with outstanding brakes. My only complaint; underpowered with the 2 liter gas engine."

Great car

By on Sunday, August 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This has been the best car I have owned. Routinely gets 50mph with good power. I drive over a mountain every day and this car does not waiver from speed while climbing the hill. Good comfort inside. Comes with pretty much everything standard. Hugs the road nicely. I currently have 136000miles and plan to get at least 300k out of this one before buying another."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Worst Vehicle Ever

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

"I have never experienced so many problems with a vehicle from small things like molding and mud flaps falling off to major problems like the main computer failing at 90,000 miles the car has been a pain, On the positive side, it does get great millage"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Decent Buy

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Nice car. Need some more power. Good on gas but don't forget VW's are know to have problems with the elctronics."

By on Wednesday, August 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, August 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, August 04, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"Would never recommend a VW to anybody. If you want a reliable car, drive a Toyota. Even my mechanic says VWs are not that great and have a tendency to break down after 4-5 years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, July 24, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

not bad, not bad at all

By on Wednesday, July 18, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"i purchased my 2000 vw golf about a year ago with only 35,000 miles on for about 7,200 dollars which was a very good deal at the time. From the second i drove this vehicle i pretty much fell in love with it the way it hugged the road like a highly priced european car would, the comfort of the vehicle and the performance was not to bad for stock either and then i started adding some goodies to my little vw. From racing wheels, the in dash screens, 1600 watt stereo system, 1/8 of an inch bigger camshaft, stage two clutch, air intake, new headlights, neon kits all the lil bells and whistles made me love the car that much more and gave it the race driven performance i wanted. Gas mileage is awesome even with the bigger cam and can drive around the whole day on about 6 bucks which is great for a 19 year old kid with his buddies. All in all i love the car and would recommend it to any1 looking for a fairly priced vehicle with the feel of a highly priced vehicle."

Sporty and Reliable

By on Tuesday, July 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Fun to drive Reliable Hatch-back is great"

By on Tuesday, July 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, July 09, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, July 07, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, July 06, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Very nice car that holds value"

Cool Car

By on Friday, July 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"One of the nicest, best handling cars I've ever driven. Get lots of looks when driving!"

Awesome Car

By on Friday, July 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is awesome. Super fast and a blast to drive. Test drive one and you'll buy it. I've owned mine since 50k and is now at 80k with no problems. Definately suggest this car to anyone interested in it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 9 10 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Golf near Honolulu. See local deals