Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2001 Volkswagen Golf

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 272 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 9 10 11 | Next

By on Sunday, November 04, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Handles well. Mileage is great. Expensive to maintain. Electrical system failed after three years. The warranty was weak. VW must have known what was coming. The car tends to nickle and dime you to death."

great car

By on Friday, November 02, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I Love this Car, what can i say. 50 MPG and tons of power. buy one if you can find one"

ouch, repairs $ kill me

By on Saturday, October 27, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

"Car does not have enough clearance. Speed bumps serious problem. Have punctured oil pan ($650), destroyed transmission ($7,000). turbo has blown twice, one under warranty the other $3,000. Dealers don't seem to know how to repair them. Savings on fuel far outweighed by this cars problems. Can only change oil at dealer ($60). Fuel filter ($75) needs to be changed every 50k mi. or it dies on the highway. VW customer service says no history of probleems witht he model. Am selling and buying a Kia."

great fuel economy

By on Friday, October 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"had the car since new, and still love driving it. has been reliable and it gets 50 MPG on highway!"

By on Sunday, October 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Smart and zippy

By on Sunday, September 30, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Excellent lines, practical gas mileage, smart city car, high-end engineering design and great engine performance."

GREAT GAS SAVER!!

By on Wednesday, September 05, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

"I had this car for about a year now and I love it. VERY RELIABLE NO PROBLEMS EVER!!"

AWESOME PERFORMANCE

By on Tuesday, September 04, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"36 MPG ON HIGHWAY...VERY LITTLE REPAIRS NEEDED..SMOOTH RIDING & GREAT LOOKING"

GREAT CAR

By on Saturday, September 01, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

"Incredible Gas Mileage... Great price!!!"

By on Friday, August 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

EXCELLENT COMMUTER

By on Tuesday, August 28, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Best car I have owned. Consistently good gas mileage (not excellent, 32 mpg), solid power band makes up for loss of outright horsepower, good ride/handling balance, great off the pavement even, love the stereo, hvac, sunroof, and seat heaters. Perfect car for 2 people and their stuff and animals, but 3, 4 and 5 is a bit too snug for a 6 footer. Rear seat can be removed completely within 1 minute for extra space, rather than just folded down, which allows me to carry a weed eater, pitchfork, shovel, etc. Liked it so much I ordered a 2008 GTI."

Great little car

By on Monday, August 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 2000 Golf brand new. I have put 117000 trouble free miles on it. Not sure why these cars get a bad reliability rap; I just make sure that I keep up on oil changes and it never lets me down. I have used it for just about everything imaginable. From carrying a dishwasher home from the store inside the car, to carrying a fullsize 3 cushion couch on Thule roof racks. Very good handling coupled with outstanding brakes. My only complaint; underpowered with the 2 liter gas engine."

Decent Buy

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Nice car. Need some more power. Good on gas but don't forget VW's are know to have problems with the elctronics."

By on Wednesday, August 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, August 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, August 04, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, July 24, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

not bad, not bad at all

By on Wednesday, July 18, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"i purchased my 2000 vw golf about a year ago with only 35,000 miles on for about 7,200 dollars which was a very good deal at the time. From the second i drove this vehicle i pretty much fell in love with it the way it hugged the road like a highly priced european car would, the comfort of the vehicle and the performance was not to bad for stock either and then i started adding some goodies to my little vw. From racing wheels, the in dash screens, 1600 watt stereo system, 1/8 of an inch bigger camshaft, stage two clutch, air intake, new headlights, neon kits all the lil bells and whistles made me love the car that much more and gave it the race driven performance i wanted. Gas mileage is awesome even with the bigger cam and can drive around the whole day on about 6 bucks which is great for a 19 year old kid with his buddies. All in all i love the car and would recommend it to any1 looking for a fairly priced vehicle with the feel of a highly priced vehicle."

Sporty and Reliable

By on Tuesday, July 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Fun to drive Reliable Hatch-back is great"

By on Tuesday, July 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, July 06, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Very nice car that holds value"

Cool Car

By on Friday, July 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"One of the nicest, best handling cars I've ever driven. Get lots of looks when driving!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 9 10 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Golf near Honolulu. See local deals