Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1997 Volkswagen Golf

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 126 Ratings for the 1993 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 | Next

Great to use annoying to fix

By on Wednesday, January 27, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"This car will last me forever. The only down side is the expensive parts and all the little glitches that happen. Ive replaced tons of little things like sensors struts bearings horn throttle body etc etc but overrall fluids can run 20 bucks a pint so its costly to maintain an older VW but it does handle the best!!!"

By on Tuesday, July 14, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great Road Trip Car

By on Sunday, April 05, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"In the past, I've owned sporty little cars, but this Golf has been the most pleasing. I love it for it's spaciousness, great gas mileage, and of course its reliability. I recommend this car to anyone!"

1998 GL 2.0

By on Monday, March 23, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I drove this car like it was an autocrosser. having an upgraded clutch and flywheel really help the car. Overall, the car was really reliable. Great in the snow. Never hesitated to take it up to 130mph. I loved my Golf, im currently looking for another!"

Good Gas Saver

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2008

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"I have had my 97 Golf for over a year and it has paid for itself with the gas savings. I did have some problems with the drivers side CVU axile. Be careful ordering parts on line, they don't always match up. Good fun car though with plenty of pep."

Great for the money

By on Thursday, June 05, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have not had any problems with my '98 GTI. I am the fourth owner. I had one minor check engine light problem but that was an easy fix for $30. Gas mileage is great for a V-6. The power to weight ratio makes it fly when you need it to. I would recommend this car to anyone who wants a great gas mileage car with a little bit of power at the wheels."

By on Sunday, May 25, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

love it

By on Saturday, May 17, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"36 + mpg"

Excellent all around car

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car has served me well over the last 11 years....hasn't missed a beat...fold down the seats and one can put all kinds of stuff in the back...fairly smooth ride...driven at 100 mph on French autoroutes and 105+ on Germany's Autobahn...."

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2008

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Nice,gas saver,realible

By on Monday, April 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"car is great,low maintence,gas saver,nice looking,would prefer to anyone."

Awesome

By on Monday, April 21, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"One of VW's best vehicles. The tone of the vr6 engine coming out the exhaust is like no other car. pure bliss"

By on Thursday, April 17, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great Car

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had my 94 VW golf for about 3 years now. I bought it just for a work car to drive around in. I also have an 03 Impala and that ends up being parked more than the golf does. Its fun to drive and is great on gas. I have had a few problems with it but nothing that was very hard to fix."

By on Saturday, February 02, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Tied for best I've owned

By on Monday, January 28, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought it new; have driven it 180,000 miles. 97 Golf is better than its reputation; it is an excellent vehicle overall. Car has been largely trouble free. Gas mileage has been better than EPA rating. Maintenance costs have been low; brake mileage, tire mileage, etc. have been very good. Solid car, good handling, quality materials and construction. If VW still made an inexpensive 4 cylinder Golf/Rabbit I would buy another one."

Great little car

By on Thursday, January 17, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought this car used for my daughter. I've owned many, many VW's and other German cars so I'm biased, but this has been a great, practical little car. She's hauled her stuff back and forth to college without a problem. Extremely practical design that has evolved nicely from the original. I've replaced a battery, alternator, and one ABS wheel speed sensor. All simple repairs. Access to the little engine is great - no hassles changing oil, etc. Great car, fun to drive and inexpensive to maintain."

I love this car!

By on Wednesday, December 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have driven this car for five years and I still love it. I would recommend it anyone."

disappointing

By on Sunday, November 25, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

"interior items are not durable. many recalled items - good news is that VW pays the bill. vacume lines and plastic lines to window washers are constantly comming loose."

By on Monday, November 12, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Versatile machine that does everything

By on Tuesday, October 09, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have owned this car for 10 years and it has taken me through the back roads of Romania, across the English Channel and around the UK and just about everywhere in France. It runs and runs and runs...lower the back seats and you've got a small station wagon..it hasn't missed a beat yet."

By on Tuesday, September 18, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, September 17, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, August 31, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

GREAT & Dependable

By on Monday, August 27, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Even when these cars need to be fixed, they still run great. They are a great car for commuting or even road trips or lugging your band around town... it was all of the above for me. And despites its age its still a hot car and runs strong. Many people say vw's are over rated cause they're Audi's that didnt meet the "Audi Specs" well whatever the case... v-dubs are GREAT CARS!!!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Golf near Honolulu. See local deals