Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

2009 Volkswagen Eos

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 153 Ratings for the 2007 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

Great for all seasons

By on Thursday, March 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,421

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "beautiful, fun car"

Cons: "small space to climb in and out of the back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the Eos. I live in the wintery hilly country of NY and drive it thru all seasons. It is very good on the hills in snow and ice. The comfort is great for shorter people (I am 5'1"), but not for you who are tall. Large people would have difficulty getting into the back seat with the top up. The trunk area is limited, but still very usable.That said, love this car! It drives very well and great visability even with the top up. It definately feels like a "me" car. The handling is smooth and the stereo rocks! Definately glad I purchased this car"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

great car for the $$$

By on Friday, January 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great Price, The Opening and Closing of the top is"

Cons: "power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It is a great buy for the money. The hardtop/convertible attracts stares everytime it opens or closes, especially when you are at a traffic light and it starts to rain. It's a great solid little car thats fun to drive, could use about double the HP it has. Either way I'd reccommend it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

lose 6000 dollars every year for 3yrs whats up

By on Friday, December 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,710

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
4/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"not a very good investment when you lose $6000 a year in deprecaion"

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great Fun Car and value

By on Friday, November 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price - best deal $$ for a hardtop c."

Cons: "I didn't buy sooner."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Eos has proven an excellent car and great value. The VW service and attention is fantastic. Absolutely no problems with my car....lots of positive comments from friends and general observers. The trunk room is adequate and more than what you think...able to run with the top down to the beach with a cooler in the back seat etc. -- even gave our 60" TV a ride home with the top down (can't do with most cars!). Lots of fun and the handling is fantastic. You have great response when driving highways (speed/pickup) or neighborhoods (reaction time). Love the heated seats!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

FUN in the Summer - Solid in the Winter

By on Thursday, November 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "FUN, FUN, FUN to drive."

Cons: "Rear vision is not the best but better than most."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned my 2008 Eos since 2008. It's everything I want. There's back seat for my grand daughter, convertible top that goes up/down in 20 seconds, sunroof, hard top for winter weather and to hold the heat. It's heavy enough for highway driving and light enough for easy manuvering. I've looked at trading but can't find anything to compare with the features that are important to me. Rear vision is not the best but better than most convertibles."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Saturday, September 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great handling. Responsive. Solid feel."

Cons: "Few cup holders. Little interior storage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great handling. Responsive. Great pickup. Solid feel. Awesome hard top convertible allows 30 second convert so there is never any weather concerns. Stylish body. Best value for the money. Has been very reliable thus far. Could use more cup holders and has very little interior storage with a small glove box. When I get another car it will just be a newer model of this exact same car. Love it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Saturday, September 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great handling. Responsive. Solid feel."

Cons: "Few cup holders. Little interior storage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great handling. Responsive. Great pickup. Solid feel. Awesome hard top convertible allows 30 second convert so there is never any weather concerns. Stylish body. Best value for the money. Has been very reliable thus far. Could use more cup holders and has very little interior storage with a small glove box. When I get another car it will just be a newer model of this exact same car. Love it."

Great Car Except for the Oil you need in the trunk

By on Monday, June 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "hard top convertible that is fun to drive"

Cons: "oil burning"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I love my car and even after almost 5 years it still turns heads when I take the roof down. The issue with this car that little that it burns oil. With the full synthetic 5W40 oil (only 2 brands made that meet VW standards in US), the owner's manual states oil changes at 5 to 10K miles. My car will burn through about 2 to 3 quarts of oil every 5K. This started happening about year 2 of ownership. The dealer did tests and said the car was not burning too much oil. Reading the other sites, many other owners with cars a few years old have this same problem. If you do not mind having a few quarts of oil in your trunk at all times, it is a great car."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

One Great Car

By on Tuesday, May 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great all around car! Never a problem or concern"

Cons: "Premium Gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

My Buddy At The Beach!

"I have had this car since new and have taken it on several trips to Florida, Atlanta, Chicago, Milwaukee, Toronto, New York. It is my daily driver and love this car in Winter, Spring, SUMMER"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

My Buddy At The Beach!

very good

By on Sunday, April 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "does many things well"

Cons: "does not excell"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"adequate acceleration and handling"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great around town car

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Sunroof"

Cons: "Wheels spin, expensive, premium gas..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"At first I really liked my car and thought i just needed get used to it. After over a year the speed doesn't stay constant (even with cruise control) and its impossible to keep straight. The weight of the car isn't heavy enough for it's power so the wheels spin out constanty. As a little around town car I'm sure it would be great, but for car trips over two hours it's a pain. BUT The convertible down is GREAT, the heated seats are fantastic, it has an amazing sound system, and the sun roof is giant!"

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

AWESOME CAR!!!!!!!!!!!

By on Friday, March 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Wickedly FUN FUN FUN"

Cons: "Blind spot/rear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car is FAST! (for a lit'le car). Blimey I have had this car for 5 years and it is so reliable...Only thing bad is it has a blind spot to rear. Other than that I love this car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great design, performance

By on Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great drive"

Cons: "Suspension is a bit soft for the powerful turbo"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great appearance"

Perfect for NE

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, sexy, hardtop covertible"

Cons: "Struggles in blizzards (its not an SUV)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love my car. Its great for all seasons. Granted, when we have our New England winters it can be slick, but given this winter has been so mild and beautiful I couldn't be happier with my car. Love it. It has a small back seat so if you regularly have multiple passengers I'm told its tight back there. But for you and a passenger its just right. Heated seats are fantastic in morning. When it's really cold, (I mean teens all week) the windows can get frozen and then you cannot open the car door because they must release about a centimeter to open the car door safely. My solution is if you bought an automatic car starter and put your defrosters on the night before you would be good to go in the morning!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Super fun to drive, kids love it (and fit in it)

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Super fun in every way"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Speedy little thing for a 4 cylinder, beautiful mechanics operating the roof smoothly, excellent options for just how much air you want (full fledged top down convertible wind in your hair - with windows up and wind breaker in back, convertible without having to redo your hair - just windows and huge sky roof - or close it all up and use the AC or heat). It handles really well and even has a sport mode for extra pep. I love this car. The kids love it, "the fun transformer car." Gas mileage is phenomenal, I get about 30mpg back and forth to work and easily get above 35 if I do highway driving (having the top up might help that mileage). Only negative - cornsilk beige interior is really off white and not the best choice for basketballs, kids shoes, etc"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love it!

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is my favorite car that I have owned- if not including the spitfire my husband built for me."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car - room for 4 in a convertible!

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive!"

Cons: "Back seat too small for long trips."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have enjoyed this car immensely! Time to move on though! If I could keep it for weekends and have something else to drive all the time, I would!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Tuesday, February 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've driven this since Nov. 2007 and I've loved every minute of it. The hard top convertible is fantastic. I worried when I bought it that the mechanics might fail since I live in the Northeast. But...I've never had an issue. The only negative is that sometimes the top of the windows leak when I take it through a car wash. Never when it rains...only in the carwash. Sometimes the windows don't go all the way back up when I open the doors. No big deal...I love this car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Wonderful car

By on Monday, February 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Adore the car and have had no repairs. Probably the best car I have had"

This is my perfect car.

By on Sunday, January 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Top up or down in 20 seconds."

Cons: "Small trunk."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This hard top convertible is magnificient. I live in Illinois. The hard top provides a solid seal against winter weather and year around rain. The back seat is small but big enough for my grand daughter's safety. Gas mileage is about 22-25. Top goes up or down in 20 seconds. (I've timed it). That means I can drive to the mall with the top down, put it up in the parking lot, and down again to return home...conveniently. Trunk is small, especially with the top down so this is not a car for someone who needs a lot of trunk space. I'm a second owner for this 2008. Only problem was a bad sensor in the seat belt clip that had to be replaced. Tire pressure requirements are different in the summer/winter. The light comes on when tire pressure needs to be adjusted. The car is perfect for me. Wish the price tag was lower."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Awsome Car!!

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Engine, Appearence, Reliability."

Cons: "Gas mileage not at top end."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the ride!! Very Sporty Car!! I have owned it now for over a year and I have put ground effects on it and put a stripe down the side. The 3.2 V6 is very powerful and when you have to pull out into traffic it gives a nice growl when taking off. I have enjoyed it since I bought it. Love the fact of Coupe, Sunroof, or Convertible option."

My video 

My 2007 Volkswagen Eos 3.2

My second one

By on Tuesday, January 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Hard top convertible with a sunroof....absolutely"

Cons: "Luggage compartment w/the top down is small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a 2008 EOS which was a lease. When the lease was up in Aug 2011, I had to have another. So this time I'm buying it. Love this car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful car and easy to drive. Fuel efficient."

Cons: "Needs interfaced garage door opener."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the most comfortable car I've ever driven. It handles well and I could watch the top fold into the trunk a thousand times and still be amazed."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Finally got the car of my dreams!! :)

By on Monday, December 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, safe and handles well. Dynaudio!!"

Cons: "Little trunk space."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had my eye on the EOS since 2006/2007 when VW announced them coming out. I had a 83 white Rabbit convertible as my first car in 1990 and then in 96 I bought a new white Cabrio Highline. Both were white with black tops. I had my cabrio for ten years and after 3 transmissions i decided to sell it and get a Toyota Matrix in 2006 as they are cheap and reliable. Not one problem with the Matrix and it's still in tip top shape, but I still missed my VW convertible and always have had my eye on the EOS. Finally gave in 2 weeks ago and bought a certified used 2008 white. So far so good and I hope she treats me good!!! Driving this car compared to my Matrix is a HUGE difference. Feels like luxury and handles wonderfully. I kind of wish I had just bought the Eos back in 2007 when they came out, but I probably wouldnt enjoy it as much. Plus i just bought the lux version and i wouldnt have been able to afford that new in 2007. Everything happens for a reason. The only thing I'll miss is the trunk space!!!! Love this car!! I only recommend people reading up on the convertible top because you have to maintain all the roof seals or it could get leaks. Vwvortex has some good maintenance tips."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best of cars/worst of cars

By on Tuesday, December 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great to drive"

Cons: "don't even THINK of not garaging it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"It leaks. We call it the water rat. And even after we spent $$$ to repair the seals, the residual water condenses on the inside of the windows. So now that it's cold, I have frost on the INSIDE and outside of the windshield. Great highway car, but needs to be garaged. Too fussy for me."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Eos near Honolulu. See local deals