Go

2001 Volkswagen Cabrio

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.7
Out of 10

Based on 115 Ratings for the 1999 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.1/10
    Quality
    7.1/10
  • Reliability
    7.0/10
    Performance
    7.3/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next

Cute, but oh so expensive

By on Friday, March 6, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"It pains me to write this review, because I love nothing more than driving around on a summer day in this car. I have owned her since 2003, and have since replaced various fans and belts, oil filter hoses, and the muffler. The power windows malfunction, the window seal leaks on rainy days sometimes, the interior plastic knobs have all broken or fallen off at some point, the dome light switch broke, and the check engine light oft appears. Only 51K on this 2002 model, so I feel like it shouldn't cost so much to maintain. The back seat is uber small and uncomfortable. I thought my grandma was going to be stuck back there forever."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

headache!

By on Thursday, November 13, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"this are the lists of parts repaired since i owned this car 1 year ago: DOOR LOCK ACTUATOR - $684.00. IGNITION COIL - 271.93. COOLANT SENSOR - 79.27. MASS AIR FLOW SENSOR 279.90. HEAD GASKET SEAL - 162.15. DIAGNOSIS - 129.00. right now the car again is in VW shop (still wondering what is going on with it???). it's been 2 weeks and they tried to replaced the COMPUTER, IMMOBILIZER, KEY UNIT and still not having any calls from there. luckily i have an extended warranty from ROUTE 66 and the last problem will be taking care of VW."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

BAD CAR TO BUY!!READ THIS!!

By on Friday, August 15, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

"i have had my cabrio for almost 4 years and I cannot wait to get rid of it. It is not worth spending the money because many things break on the car. The older VW's are made to last better. First off the censors in VW's are wacky, the check engine stayed on for a year, meanwhile there was actually nothing wrong with the engine, it was just a computer glitch, $1000 dollars to fix--same problem happened with the airbag warning light. BC of these problems the car wont pass inspection. These censors are very expensive to fix. A HUGE PROBLEM WITH THIS CAR IS THAT THE CAR ALARM CENSOR ALSO HAS PROBLEMS...IT WILL GO OFF RANDOMLY AND DRAIN YOUR BATTERY.IT SEEMS TO HAVE A MIND OF ITS OWN. The car shakes on the highway when you go 60 MPH and over, it literally feels like its going to fall apart. The overall performance is bad and quality is bad its not the worst but its not good. THIS CAR WAS SUCH A MISTAKE TO BUY, I STRONLY ADVISE AGAINST IT."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great little car!

By on Friday, April 18, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I just love my little '01 Cabrio. It's the second one I've owned. The first didn't have cruise and I bought a 2nd one in '02. I put it away in the winter and drive it in the summer. No problems at all in either car. My 3 granddaughters just love to ride around in it. I've found non-dealer repair people who have worked on most maintenance. Just the usual, tires, brakes, filters, etc. Fun to drive and everyone remarks on how cute it is! The top is great, also, and really keeps the road noise to a minimum."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Cabrio

By on Saturday, December 29, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

"Cute care, affordable convertible that drives nice on short trips. Uncomfortable on trips over 2 hours. My Cabrio has had multiple steering and transmission issues. The check engine light and ABS lights have been on over one year despite recommended repairs. Would not recommend for purchase or purchase again."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Cabrio near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement