Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2009 Toyota Yaris

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 715 Ratings for the 2007 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next

really good car

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Handles well, good gas mileage"

Cons: "Blind spots, minor recalls"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"CONS: No cruise control available when purchased. Air/heat controls inconveniently located & hard to read. No lumbar support. Large blind spots. Many minor recalls. PROs: Handles well. Great pickup when needed. Good gas mileage. Seats 5 adults or 4 plus an infant seat. Wide cargo area."

Worth money, 0 service other than oil change

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am second owner of this car and now mileage is about 75K. I got the car at 35, 40K miles driven with only oil changes. Gas mileage 33-34 miles per gallon."

7 years and it runs like new, love it still.

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Like it because it is small, reliable, cute."

Cons: "Loud road noise, I don't care."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love my little car, I had cruise control put in, had chrome strips put on sides. very clean, no sun fading, keep in garage."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

NO COMPLAINTS--WE OWN THE EARTHSHIP!

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "SIZE, SHAPE, STYLE, INTERIOR, ECONOMY, RELIABILITY"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"BEST CAR I'VE OWNED. THE CAR OF THE FUTURE.!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

one owner, no long trips only driven locally,

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car was purchased from the dealer in Richmond ky. has only been driven locally. excellent conditions, all maintance done by dealer, oil changed every 5k miles. excellent second car. great mileage. great first car for student."

This car has been the best one ive ever owned

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price zippy easy to park turns on a dime"

Cons: "could use a sixth gear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car is the best ave mpg about 40 comfort is great for a tiny car reliability is freegin awesome never had it fail in any way shape or form"

Love this car

By on Saturday, May 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Nimble and fun, great mpg"

Cons: "Not much room for luggage if you have 4 passengers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Really fun vehicle to drive, it's nimble and quick, has no problem cruising at 80 on the freeways, but it's forte is city driving. It is small enough on the outside that it can park where other cars cannot, and it's turning radius makes it capable of u turns where no other cars can do it. Yet it is quite roomy inside. Gas mileage is superb, usually 40 on the highway, 45 if you keep it under 65 mph. I have had it 8 years and not one repair."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

dependable, solid little car for the price

By on Sunday, May 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "solid feel, great price, fabulous gas mileage"

Cons: "small back seat, drifts a bit at higher speeds"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I don't carry any passengers; it's just me driving it, so it doesn't matter that the back seat is quite small for larger adults. For kids it would be perfect. The best thing about this car is the gas mileage. I get nearly 40 mpg because I don't do jack-rabbit starts and I drive pretty much the speed limit. It handles very well; however, since it is so light, it does tend to drift a little on the freeway at higher speeds. But city driving it's the best. It corners great and fits into parking spaces with ease."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great dependable little car

By on Thursday, April 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved having this car. It is reliable, tough, and gets me where I need to go. Love the gas mileage. Don't love the location of the cup holders but that is not a reason to own a car. :)"

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Toyota as it was originally imagined for the USA

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Cost to operate over the long haul. Interior space"

Cons: "Bouncy ride. Light weight."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is value, plain and simple. It is no frills, quality transportation. I bought the very first Yaris in my city. I have not regretted it. Not one, no not one single mechanical issue to date (8 yrs). I love this car like the day I bought it. Does the center speedo pod bother me, no not really, I hardly notice it. Do I like the look of the newer Yaris', yep. Would I trade this one in on a newer one? Nope! The tires (Hankook) are the best of a factory car. They lasted me almost 90K miles (without rotation). This car is great for no-worry transport."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great car, served me well when single.

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun, reliable and economical"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Loved my yaris but new husband wants(needs) a suv and prefers american made"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this car.

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "RELIABLE, responsive, economical, great visibility"

Cons: "Air flow with the windows open, snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been very happy with this car. I have taken care of all routine maintenance on time and that is all I've had to do. This is the only new car I've ever had and I have not been disappointed from the price, to the handling, to the upkeep and running costs. I trust this car which is worth a lot to me. I like that it is zippy. Being a little car in big traffic, I appreciate that. I have had to jam on the brakes due to poor driving of others but have always felt the car could safely handle what I needed it to do. Also, big things actually fit in this car. Seriously! I have moved furniture, bales of straw, and 6+ foot tall people. My tall husband and I drove out to a cousin's wedding several hours away and we were just fine in this car. I've run from Illinois to Louisiana and back and to Florida several times in this vehicle. No complaints."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My favorite car.

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great mileage (36-39 mpg combined."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I prefer small cars for their convenience in tight spaces. Before the Yaris I owned a Toyota Echo. Basically the same car. I will stick with this model as long as it's made."

Great vehicle and 36 MPG!

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a wonderful car. Looks great, drives fantastic, really safe and dependable, low maintainence, and gets 36 MPG, more when driving the freeway. Lots of interior space and trunk space. Handles well no matter what the weather!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great little car!

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, fits into every parking space"

Cons: "rear hatch entry gets scratched"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This 7 year old little car has been from WI to FL and all states in between and still runs like a champ. I get great mileage even for an automatic, and the front leg room is sufficient for my 6'+ sons to travel long distances comfortably. The hatch and fold down rear seats allow for toting lots of luggage plus helping with kids' moving needs. The back seats are also comfortable both in knee room and head room - at least for someone 5'6". The only suggestion I'd make to Toyota is to add rear entry scratch protection as standard. You guys KNOW it's going to be used for hauling stuff!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

195000 Miles. AMAZING

By on Sunday, March 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome Reliability. Fuel economy ."

Cons: "No cons :)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is amazing. Only routine maintenance... Oil changes Tires... Brakes were done one time and spark plugs.. Most reliable vehicle ive ever driven.. Awesome car"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

been a great car to own

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very well built car"

Cons: "none if you are looking for an economical car deal"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new in 8/2009 and now has over 83,000 miles as of 3/7/14. Been very reliable, gas mileage up to 44 MPG at normal speeds, still runs well, and no major maintenance issues. Love the car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

been a great car to own

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very well built car"

Cons: "none if you are looking for an economical car deal"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new in 8/2009 and now has over 83,000 miles as of 3/7/14. Been very reliable, gas mileage up to 44 MPG at normal speeds, still runs well, and no major maintenance issues. Love the car."

been a great car to own

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very well built car"

Cons: "none if you are looking for an economical car deal"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new in 8/2009 and now has over 83,000 miles as of 3/7/14. Been very reliable, gas mileage up to 44 MPG at normal speeds, still runs well, and no major maintenance issues. Love the car."

Best vehicle I ever bought

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 239,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "ex.value. safe. great pickup.fuel economy"

Cons: "seats not as comfortable as they could be."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new in 2006 although it is a 2007 model and have driven it all over east coast. This car has never let me down. She handles beautifully and for a 4 cylinder has great pick up. With 239,000+ miles on her she still consistently gives me 37 mpg in city and 40 hwy. I change oil every 5,000 miles but only real work I have had done is a new alternator and serpentine belt around 200,000 miles. New front brakes around 215,000 mi and in fact I am still running the original rear brake pads and they still look good after almost 8 years! I am also still using original clutch and it remains nice and tight with no slippage. I love this car! It is hands down the absolute best car I have ever bought and there is no better value or reliability for the money."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great little car

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, and great gas milage"

Cons: "wouldn't mind having electronic doors locks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You can pay a lot more for a Hybrid but I have been able to get 42 mpg, now that it is older I'm still getting 34 mpg. Plus it is comfortable. I have no mechanical problems my mechanic is still waiting."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good on gas and easy to drive and park.

By on Monday, February 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Got it for my wife to drive to work, her first new"

Cons: "Interior is noisy on long trips & on expressway."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Interior is OK, nothing fancy, but good on gas going back and forth to work. Got oil change and looked at a 2014 Yaris. Dealer was only willing to offer me $8000 or I would have gotten a new one last Thursday."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle and totally reliable

By on Sunday, February 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "gas mileage, trunk space, leg room"

Cons: "ride is a little bumpy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is the perfect economy vehicle."

Great commuter car

By on Friday, January 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Cup holders spill everything!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very great gas mileage, very little problems. However the interior is very basic and the vehicle is light. Not good for winter driving."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very pleased, best vehicle I ever bought !

By on Friday, January 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Perfect for me !"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Yaris near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details