Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
Go

2009 Toyota Yaris

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 723 Ratings for the 2007 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next

Excellent vehicle! Value, MPG, Performance!

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent value, great performance and handling."

Cons: "Putting the 12V receptacle in the center console."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in March 2011 through a used car dealer affiliated with my credit union. It had 60,600 miles. In 3.5 years, I have driven it 150,000 miles as a courier vehicle, in town (70%) and on the highway (30%). The only thing I have had to replace was the battery (fall 2011); the rest has been regular maintenance (oil changes, tires, shocks, brake pads and shoes). This car has delivered everything I have asked of it (30-32 MPG in town, 38-40 highway). When I need to replace it, I am going to buy another Toyota (this car is my 3rd Toyota)."

awsome car 40 mpg no problems except wheel bearing

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "cheap to keep"

Cons: "seats arent very good"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my car new it is a great money saver 40 mpg super reliable only repairs have been wheel bearings but at 160000 miles it hasnt even gone through an exhaust yet.still the orig battery, 4 snow tires and she will go anywhere in the winter. i will buy another and recomend them highly not comfortable seats...for long trips its tough. but not paying the gas man is everything to my budget"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very zippy for a 4 cyl."

Cons: "Not very comfortable for long trips."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had no major problems at all with this car. It even handles Wisconsin winters just fine."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Happy with my Yaris

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Great on gas, good price, zippy feel"

Cons: "Hard to see, small for passengers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I've had my Yaris for 7 years now, and it's been an extremely reliable car the whole time. I originally wanted a cute, small car, and the Yaris fit the bill perfectly. And now, I have a longer commute to work (50 miles each way) so I'm glad I have such a fuel efficient car to take me back and forth. Being so small and light, it does okay on snowy/icy roads if you take it easy, but I have gotten stuck in a few snow banks. It's fun to drive and feels very zippy, especially on curvy back roads. In terms of size, sometimes I feel like other drivers have a hard time seeing me, and passengers don't really enjoy sitting in the back seat. Overall my Yaris has served me well!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

excellent very good Gas mileage

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "handles well, good gear range nippy engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"excellent very good Gas mileage"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

From SUV To 2 door hatchback Yairs

By on Thursday, August 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Safety, sleek, fun to drive, great gas mileage"

Cons: "not large enough cup-holder,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

this is not my car, but the same year and color. I'm sorry car I need photo's of you.

"When I first had an accident in my Rav4 (due to a illegal turn on a 2 lane highway), big fan of Toyota, I was completely devastated. But the body shop I DROVE IT TOO. Told me it was fixable and not too worry. My then insurance company told me they stopped writing at 7,000.and they were going to total it. I was mortified, I love my RAV4 like a child. I fault the insurance company tooth and nail to save my baby. I even tried to rescind my claim. They would have no part of this, it was my option. I researched this prior to fighting. Finally after too much stress I finally gave up. The SUV was almost paid off. I had lost my job and was working maybe 21 hours a week elsewhere far away. I needed transportation. Not buses went out to the country from Reston, VA. I've been driving so ling I knew nothing about buses. I went to my friend who is a general manager at a Toyota dealer where I was a dedicated customer. He had 3 cars on the floor and wanted to put me into a corolla, (coincidentally my first car back in the 80's)it sat beside a NEW RAV4. I wanted it so bad but knew I couldn't afford it. I saw this little car, I snuck up on it, I loved the color, pearl blue. There was a 1000. cash back on it I believe or may 500. ? The one that I sat it was so basic, not even an electric window. Woe, really a pain I thought, but good exercise. Finally my friend found one that had power windows. Only 3 in stock end of year. I said okay let me get this one. I was still missing my Rav4 but this little car was spiffy. I bought it and had to get used to it no lie there, it was hard. I bought a manual only one with power windows. I learned on a manual and I thought, I'd save a lot of gas. Great mileage for low gas. The only problem I had was not being used to being so low to the ground, from a small SUV and had trouble parking, haha. I pulled in pull back out in again until I was centered. Someone would hit my car with door dings anyways and a major dent mad me so mad. I love this car!!! Great gas mileage, fold down back seats for hauling my animals in their carriers of course. Sleek design, not really as small I had originally thought. It also makes me feel great I am saving gas, people even think it's a Prius, I wish I could have afforded it to be more green. I LOVE MY CAR for so my reasons. Better for the economy and for my pocket with is mostly empty, still looking for a FT job. Wish I could work for Toyota in their headquarters representing them that how much I approve of their safety features and the cars quick reaction. I'm so sorry my YARIS I prejudged you against my Rav4. You have never let me down, so dependable, shiny and zoom, zoom. Please forgive me. Sincerely I love you."

this is not my car, but the same year and color. I'm sorry car I need photo's of you.

For an economy car, you cannot get better.

By on Thursday, August 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,232

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Absolutely the best economy car you can get."

Cons: "placement of the cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned this car for 8 years now, and have never had to replace a single part. This car does NOT fall apart, regardless of age. And, even if something did need replacing, this car is not difficult to fix or modify. Regarding modifications, there are a ton of after market mods that can be done to it. This car is modified so easily, and by so many people. Some are purely for personal reasons, but some are extremely helpful to the car in general. One such modification would be lowering the car, as it is so lightweight that is has a tendency with wind issues when driving on the highway. Lowering even 1.5 inches helps a lot. My only dislike of the car- and I think this goes for many a Yaris owner- is the placement of the cup holders in the front seats. They designed the car with the cup holders right in front of the air vents! So, lets keep my drink cool, but not myself? Was a nifty look when I first saw them, but it didn't take long to realize the placement was horrible. Final say on this car-- This is one of the best purchases we have ever made."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Immaculate condition.

By on Tuesday, July 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,200

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent low price."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Black Beauty

"Black color, new battery and new tyres. Excellent body and engine condition. Low selling price."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Black Beauty

really good car

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Handles well, good gas mileage"

Cons: "Blind spots, minor recalls"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"CONS: No cruise control available when purchased. Air/heat controls inconveniently located & hard to read. No lumbar support. Large blind spots. Many minor recalls. PROs: Handles well. Great pickup when needed. Good gas mileage. Seats 5 adults or 4 plus an infant seat. Wide cargo area."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Worth money, 0 service other than oil change

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am second owner of this car and now mileage is about 75K. I got the car at 35, 40K miles driven with only oil changes. Gas mileage 33-34 miles per gallon."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

7 years and it runs like new, love it still.

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Like it because it is small, reliable, cute."

Cons: "Loud road noise, I don't care."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love my little car, I had cruise control put in, had chrome strips put on sides. very clean, no sun fading, keep in garage."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

NO COMPLAINTS--WE OWN THE EARTHSHIP!

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "SIZE, SHAPE, STYLE, INTERIOR, ECONOMY, RELIABILITY"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"BEST CAR I'VE OWNED. THE CAR OF THE FUTURE.!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

one owner, no long trips only driven locally,

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car was purchased from the dealer in Richmond ky. has only been driven locally. excellent conditions, all maintance done by dealer, oil changed every 5k miles. excellent second car. great mileage. great first car for student."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This car has been the best one ive ever owned

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price zippy easy to park turns on a dime"

Cons: "could use a sixth gear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car is the best ave mpg about 40 comfort is great for a tiny car reliability is freegin awesome never had it fail in any way shape or form"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Saturday, May 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Nimble and fun, great mpg"

Cons: "Not much room for luggage if you have 4 passengers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Really fun vehicle to drive, it's nimble and quick, has no problem cruising at 80 on the freeways, but it's forte is city driving. It is small enough on the outside that it can park where other cars cannot, and it's turning radius makes it capable of u turns where no other cars can do it. Yet it is quite roomy inside. Gas mileage is superb, usually 40 on the highway, 45 if you keep it under 65 mph. I have had it 8 years and not one repair."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

dependable, solid little car for the price

By on Sunday, May 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "solid feel, great price, fabulous gas mileage"

Cons: "small back seat, drifts a bit at higher speeds"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I don't carry any passengers; it's just me driving it, so it doesn't matter that the back seat is quite small for larger adults. For kids it would be perfect. The best thing about this car is the gas mileage. I get nearly 40 mpg because I don't do jack-rabbit starts and I drive pretty much the speed limit. It handles very well; however, since it is so light, it does tend to drift a little on the freeway at higher speeds. But city driving it's the best. It corners great and fits into parking spaces with ease."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great dependable little car

By on Thursday, April 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved having this car. It is reliable, tough, and gets me where I need to go. Love the gas mileage. Don't love the location of the cup holders but that is not a reason to own a car. :)"

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Toyota as it was originally imagined for the USA

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Cost to operate over the long haul. Interior space"

Cons: "Bouncy ride. Light weight."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is value, plain and simple. It is no frills, quality transportation. I bought the very first Yaris in my city. I have not regretted it. Not one, no not one single mechanical issue to date (8 yrs). I love this car like the day I bought it. Does the center speedo pod bother me, no not really, I hardly notice it. Do I like the look of the newer Yaris', yep. Would I trade this one in on a newer one? Nope! The tires (Hankook) are the best of a factory car. They lasted me almost 90K miles (without rotation). This car is great for no-worry transport."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great car, served me well when single.

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun, reliable and economical"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Loved my yaris but new husband wants(needs) a suv and prefers american made"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this car.

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "RELIABLE, responsive, economical, great visibility"

Cons: "Air flow with the windows open, snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been very happy with this car. I have taken care of all routine maintenance on time and that is all I've had to do. This is the only new car I've ever had and I have not been disappointed from the price, to the handling, to the upkeep and running costs. I trust this car which is worth a lot to me. I like that it is zippy. Being a little car in big traffic, I appreciate that. I have had to jam on the brakes due to poor driving of others but have always felt the car could safely handle what I needed it to do. Also, big things actually fit in this car. Seriously! I have moved furniture, bales of straw, and 6+ foot tall people. My tall husband and I drove out to a cousin's wedding several hours away and we were just fine in this car. I've run from Illinois to Louisiana and back and to Florida several times in this vehicle. No complaints."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My favorite car.

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great mileage (36-39 mpg combined."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I prefer small cars for their convenience in tight spaces. Before the Yaris I owned a Toyota Echo. Basically the same car. I will stick with this model as long as it's made."

Great vehicle and 36 MPG!

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a wonderful car. Looks great, drives fantastic, really safe and dependable, low maintainence, and gets 36 MPG, more when driving the freeway. Lots of interior space and trunk space. Handles well no matter what the weather!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great little car!

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, fits into every parking space"

Cons: "rear hatch entry gets scratched"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This 7 year old little car has been from WI to FL and all states in between and still runs like a champ. I get great mileage even for an automatic, and the front leg room is sufficient for my 6'+ sons to travel long distances comfortably. The hatch and fold down rear seats allow for toting lots of luggage plus helping with kids' moving needs. The back seats are also comfortable both in knee room and head room - at least for someone 5'6". The only suggestion I'd make to Toyota is to add rear entry scratch protection as standard. You guys KNOW it's going to be used for hauling stuff!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

195000 Miles. AMAZING

By on Sunday, March 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome Reliability. Fuel economy ."

Cons: "No cons :)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is amazing. Only routine maintenance... Oil changes Tires... Brakes were done one time and spark plugs.. Most reliable vehicle ive ever driven.. Awesome car"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

been a great car to own

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very well built car"

Cons: "none if you are looking for an economical car deal"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new in 8/2009 and now has over 83,000 miles as of 3/7/14. Been very reliable, gas mileage up to 44 MPG at normal speeds, still runs well, and no major maintenance issues. Love the car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Yaris near Honolulu. See local deals