Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2008 Toyota Yaris

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 735 Ratings for the 2007 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 74 | Next

excellent, no nonsense car!

By on Friday, December 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "efficient."

Cons: "central dashboard, but you get used to that fast"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this little car! Straightforward, basic, good car that sips gas. No messing around with expensive hybrids, just good gas mileage and no frills. FWD behaves well in snow in VT with studded tires, and I've lived with it on Vermont Class 4 dirt roads without trouble."

I have never owned a better vehicle

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I want this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Good price, dependable, good gas mileage"

Cons: "No cruise control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been very reliable. Very good mileage. The seats could be redesigned to allow for more comfort on long trips.The car handles very good in bad weather. I would not hesitate in buying another Yaris."

I love this car!

By on Monday, November 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun, economical and practical."

Cons: "I can't think of anything I don't like about it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the ideal urban vehicle. The gas mileage is excellent, there is plenty of room for four adults, and there is a lot of room for cargo with the rear seats folded down. I love the body style of the pre-2011 Yaris as it is more rounded and sporty looking to my eye. There is plenty of get up and go from the 1.5L motor and it has a nice sports car exhaust tone. I feel like a kid when I drive it. Absolutely nothing has required service other than replacing the battery after five years. The tires still look like new."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Actual 43 MPG HW. Bk seat Rm with 5'9" frt pas OK

By on Saturday, November 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best car I have owned. Only 1 came close was Audie"

Cons: "Instrument cluster is in middle of dash- minor."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle ever owned and I am 77 and owned Many. I have had one problem; the weather stripping came loose for about 6 " on the passenger door!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This the BEST car I've ever owned, I'd definitely

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Car"

Cons: "No complaints"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"What more can I say TOYOTA is first class in their field"

1 person out of 7 found this review helpful

Still runs like a champ at 85,000 miles

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Great performance..."

Cons: "Radio is kinda messed up. but still works!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

There she is... The champ!!!

"Great performance over all, I do my own oil change exactly every 3,000 miles. buy new tires every year and half, and inspect brakes every 5,000 miles."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

There she is... The champ!!!

Just add gas, maintain, & go . No problems, ever.

By on Sunday, October 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never any issues. Never breaks."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

great car , smooth ride, no mechanical problems,.

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Surprisingly good car!!

By on Sunday, September 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, small car so easy to park"

Cons: "small engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car has really surprised me in terms of its reliability and operation. It has plenty of power and I get over 36 MPG driving it. While a lot of other Toyota brands have had several recalls in the last few years I can only think of 2 with the Yaris and they were relatively minor. I've been really impressed with the car since I first bought it. The dash is in the middle, and that takes some getting used to, but i like it as it allows me to put my GPS directly in front of me. Great, economical car."

9 people out of 18 found this review helpful

My 2nd review. A very dependable and good car.

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good acceleration, great MPG, Very reliable."

Cons: "Wish I had purchased a 4 door instead of a 2-door"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second review. I purchased a 2009 Yarris, 2-door hatchback new. I average about 35-36 mpg in the summer and 32-24 in the winter. I live in Southeast Ohio and the percent of my driving is about 70% hwy/30% city. My commute is mostly hilly roads. My son's GF owns a 2007 Yaris and gets about 50mpg. On a long trip I can get 42-45 mpg just straight highway at 70 mph. I really love this car. It's been very dependable and after almost 60,000 miles I've had no trouble with it. If you are looking for a car to get you from point A to point B this is a car you should consider. Small but only when you look at it from the outside. Inside you have more room than other mid-side cars that I've owned. Even the back has leg-room. My only beef would be if I had to do it over I would have gotten a 4-door. You can use both sides of the car to get in the back, but only the passenger seat moves forward to allow people to get back in. Normally it's just my wife and I anyone and we use it for work and going around town. Besides the gas mileage, it love how maneuverable. You can make a 180 degree turn in half the space as my Chevy Venture. I noticed some people complain it's not comfortable on long trips. I guess that depends on the individual and how long you drive. I can go 3 hours to visit my mother without a problem. Traveling two days to Yellowstone park may be another matter. My van is much more comfortable to take than the Yaris but I'm sure a Mercedes-Benz would be better than my van. The bottom line is this is the kind of car I want to own. Dependable, good gas mileage, and safety add-ons like front, side and head airbags. The car has lots of pep and doesn't drive like a small car usually does. I don't have power windows but I've dealt with the switch going bad at the most inconvenient times (like when it starts to rain and you can't roll them up) that I would rather not have them. No power locks. It does have a great AC and heater. The rear defroster works. I added cruise control right after I purchased the car and although I'm weary of off-brands due to a bad experience I had no problems with it. This is a bare bones car but it's a very good bare bones car. I would own another Yaris based on my experience and recommend this car to anyone who is looking for something to commute in."

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 74 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Yaris near Honolulu. See local deals