Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2002 Toyota Tundra Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 1206 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 242 | Next

Solid truck, so-so gas mileage

By on Wednesday, March 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable, comfortable to drive"

Cons: "MPG not so good"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This trucks runs like the day I bought it - great! The gas mileage has always been so-so at best. There are 8 cylinder trucks that do better. Also has had a few factory recalls, an issue with the Check Engine light (resolved)and has a few dings and scratches. Very comfortable to drive and passenger seating is comfortable too. When washed and waxed, it looks nearly new. The interior does show some wear and tear, but certainly not ripped up. It pulls a 22' boat with no problem and handles heavy loads to the dump. It has been a good truck."

Last toyota for me

By on Wednesday, February 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Still thinking... Power rear window...?"

Cons: "Poor overall design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"About six months ago I took the pickup into the local dealership for the frame check recall (they claimed it was not bad enough to replace and sprayed it). Soon after I got it back the rear banjo started to weep (rust). Found out this is not a "safety" issue and Toyota will not do anything for you, so I will have to cough up $800-$1000 for a used axle at junk yard (labor NOT included). Observed the mileage has been slowly dropping (about 4mpg over the past 6-8 months) and the shifter is VERY stiff. Today at just over 140000 miles the check engine light has come on. (O2 sensor? Shifter? Need to read the code.) So far have experienced: - Poor corporate/dealer support - Large blind spots - Engine races when A/C kicks on (better be quick on the brake) - More and more rust issues - Poor dash/switch layout and lighting - Poorly designed e-brake system - Catalytic converter shrouds came loose - Shifter is getting very stiff - Has had a "thud" when taking off from a stop since it was new (have heard it is because there is no grease fitting on the drive-shaft slip-joint) This is not what I expected when I bought this unit, I won't buy another Toyota, ready to buy US again."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Been so happy with it I've hesitated to upgrade.

By on Sunday, February 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable winter transportation"

Cons: "Don't trust the dealership."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've got over 220,000 miles on the truck driven in arctic conditions and spent less than $1000 on repairs over 14 years. I use Mobil 1 synthetic oil and run an injector cleaner with Techron through the system a couple of times a year. It starts at minus 40 and runs quietly. No oil leaks and it doesn't burn oil. Not particularly happy with the dealer but don't care because I don't need to visit them very often."

most dependable truck i ever owned

By on Sunday, February 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "trustworthy"

Cons: "mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Rough ride ,gas mileage low 15 to 16 but very dependable."

my fav vehicle ever! Tough, reliable, comfortable

By on Tuesday, February 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "great in snow and ice"

Cons: "low fuel economy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this truck. It performs so well in snow and ice with the snow tires. It is easy to clean and comfortable. Super reliable. It has 200+ miles and drives like its brand new. Great for dogs, kids, road trips, trips to the dump. etc."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 242 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tundra Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals