Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2001 Toyota Tundra Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 1183 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 48 | Next

Best vehicle I've ever owned

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Quality, reliability"

Cons: "Turns like a horse & buggy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2006 Tundra has been the best vehicle I've ever owned. I've only had to replace a leaky radiator after 95k miles. Even the stock battery lasted 8 years! It's biggest flaw is it takes 4 lanes to turn around. Forget U-Turns. It has the towing package, so the suspension isn't the most comfortable. It's a great vehicle."

Best vehicle ever

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I went to a dealer to buy a car and came home with a 03Tundra. At 51 years of age and a string of cars in my pass I must say the Tundra is the best vehicle I've ever own."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I have loved this truck!

By on Monday, September 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,320

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "size, value, resale, ease of all instruments"

Cons: "big turn radius, slow brake time"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The truck has been very good to me and my family. I have owned it since 2008 and it has given me no problems and never stranded me or my family. My parents have driven Toyota and I am glad to say I drive one too."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

one owner and driver, very reliable

By on Wednesday, September 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "priced to sell, fun to drive. good for long trips."

Cons: "not4wd"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everything operable, serviced at manufactures recommendations, replaced front brakes @ 79k, no other problems. Clean and very reliable, white withgray I terior."

Very reliable transportation and utility

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Utility use great. Mechanically great."

Cons: "Needs some exterior care. Not a luxury vehicle."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Excellent mechanical condition with full maintenance records available. Serviced at regular intervals at local Toyota dealership. No major accidents but exterior has some bumps and bruises. Tires less than 15,000 miles. Local gas mileage about 14 mpg, open highway about 19-20 mpg. Going to miss this truck some day."

hands down the best truck out there.

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas mileage, can take a beating, plenty hp"

Cons: "nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I take it mudding about every week and it will go through anything. The only kind of work that i have had to do was the normal maintenance. Its great on gas for being a v8 i get 13 in town and 18 on the highway. I would take this truck over any dodge,chevy, or ford any day."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I have owned 20+ vehicles - by far the best

By on Sunday, August 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "all around very good design and quality"

Cons: "V6 is slightly under powered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"see above"

Great Truck

By on Sunday, August 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Has been a great family truck. Used for long road trips and towing camper. Only reason for getting new one is the need for more towing power."

Buy Toyota

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm currently 65 and have had my share of vehicles and most of them have been trucks. 10 years ago it was again time to replace what I owned and 5 of my closest friends always spoke highly of their Toyotas. Consequently, after my decades buying American trucks, I went Nippon and over the course of the past 10 years probably saved 10 grand in just extra stuff American trucks require. I'm selling this Toyota to buy another. That statement alone says it all........................"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I bought this truck, drove it to hades and back.

By on Thursday, August 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "SEE ABOVE"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has taken me everywhere. Including the road to cooper canyon, Mexico. Alaska, Mexico, Yukon, Canada all over the US all I had to do was fill it with gas and maintain it"

Great Truck that never lets me down.

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,171

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Extremely reliable"

Cons: "Gas mileage less than average"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"These trucks seem to run forever. Not so great on gas but that is to be expected from the first generation full size truck from Toyota. Solid power and towing. Good level of comfort to drive in and great low noise cab for a 14 year old model. Highly recommend."

Keeps running!

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality, reliability"

Cons: "Initial price is higher than equivalent other"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The truck keeps running. Over 230K miles on it. Just change the oil on a regular basis. At this many miles sure some wear-n-tear items have been replaced- ball joints, shocks, etc... Overall it's been the most reliable vehicle I've owned. 4x4 still works perfectly. Paint remains in good shape. The interior is quiet after all these years. Minimal road noise like when it was new. No loose parts or rattles. Well put together truck inside and out. Initial price is higher than equivalent trucks from other brands. But if you plan to keep it awhile, it'll pay you back in lack of maintenance and reliability."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Never have I owned such a reliable vehicle!

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great power, quiet, extremely reliable, no rust"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's 13 years old now with 150,000 miles and I've replaced nothing but an oxygen sensor. Bought this truck new after having numerous recalls with my American built trucks. I've owned about 25 vehicles in my life of all brands, and this is hands down the best vehicle I've ever owned. Oil level still on full and looks like the day you put it in after 5,000 miles. I haven't even replaced a light bulb! I also have two friends who have bought used Tundra's, and absolutely love them."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

best vehicle ive ever owned

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "a little small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love my truck"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Out of six new cars/trucks this has been THE BEST!

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 305,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, drive and RELIABILITY!!!!"

Cons: "Gas mileage and turning radius"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Gas mileage has not been the best but the quality of the build and the reliability of this truck are beyond any vehicle I've owned before and do make up for the mpg. I have 306000 miles on this truck and not a single drop of oil being burnt or left on anybody's driveway. It was not built with noisy mufflers and race car horsepower, just rock solid dependability with the good basic essentials. Great truck that is ten years old and going strong!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Cannot compare

By on Friday, July 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 247,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "RELIABLE"

Cons: "WONT DIE SO I CAN BUY A NEW ONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have owned 7 toyotas and will never cheat on THE TOYOTA BRAND."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best ruck I have ever owned

By on Tuesday, July 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Extremely reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this 2002 Tundra new and have driven all 212,000 miles on this truck. I will replace it with another Tundra when the time comes."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I have bought 5 NEW Toyota TRUCKS since 1999.

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort, legroom, and with a 4:10 rear end - SPEED"

Cons: "Legroom??"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only problem - LEG ROOM - 3 foot inseam - that's 36 inches! Have to BUY comfort. I only drive 45,000 to 50,000 miles a YEAR! All trucks were NEW, and I have enjoyed every MILE! Looking at the new Highlander(?) Wife has 2011, but no leg- room. They don't get good gas mileage, BUT WHAT RESALE!!!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle (including cars) ever.

By on Sunday, June 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,850

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid, comfy, reliable, powerful, dependable."

Cons: "Brakes shudder. Suicide doors awkward."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been the sole owner of this vehicle; it was purchased brand new. The ride is that of a luxury car (my 80-year old mother says it's the most comfortable vehicle in which she has ever ridden). The interior is quiet and spacious. The suspension is rock-solid--despite having driven it off road, I've only had to have one wheel alignment in 14 years. It drives like a luxury car as well. The engine is solid and provides great torque for passing and towing, but it's not the worst gas mileage: 19 hwy and 11 city. It has never broken down on me, but of course I take great care of it like the jewel it is. I've only had to put oil, brakes, and tires on it. It has never leaked a drop of fluid. For preventive maintenance, I replaced the timing belt and water pump at 100K miles. I've only had two issues with it. The first and only significant one is that there is something wrong with the brake design. I'm told it's due to having put rotors on the vehicle which are too small for the truck; after a while the rotors warp due to excessive heat and the brakes can shudder badly. (But they still work fine.). When I replaced the breaks I had them put larger, ventilated rotors on and that helped a lot until the wear got below 75%, then the shuddering started again--less strongly, but still quite noticeably. But I have never had a safety issue with the brakes, even in emergency situations. The second issue is the suicide doors. They are awkward in a parking lot because the front door has to be opened before the back door can be opened. Tough when you have a car next to you, and makes it difficult to load a person or a dog into the back seat. But I solve this problem by parking away from other cars. Annoying, but not a deal-breaker. I just can't say enough about my Tundra. It is simply the best vehicle I've ever owned. All cars & trucks should be made like this!!! The only reason I will ever get rid of it is if I , my mom, or my dog can no longer step up and down to get in or out of it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

They don't make them like this anymore

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable! Very Reliable!"

Cons: "I've found none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Tundra brand new in 2000, and not one single day have I had any problems out of it. I'm a firm believer in keeping the required maintenance current on all of my vehicles. I've been more than pleased with my Tundra, which has never let me down. I actually believe I could get another 100K miles out of my Tundra. The motor is clean and it doesn't leak oil and have never had any problems with the transmission. Like I've said before, they don't make them like this anymore."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Outstanding vehicle.

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, durable and relatively trouble free."

Cons: "It's a light duty truck tho not a problem for me"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"All things mechanical should perform as well as this truck. I just completed my 180,000 mile maintenance schedule and expect the truck to be as trouble free for the next 50,000 as it was in the past. Mostly I just keep up with oil changes and replace normal wear items like batteries, tires and wiper blades. It has the 4.7 litre V-8 and delivers 20mpg on the road so long as I keep it under 65. It does everything I want it to do and isn't bankrupting me in the process"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Clean, one driver only, no smoking ever

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Reliable. Never a problem."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Tires rotated every 5,000 miles. Oil and filter changed every 5000 miles. New timing belt."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Will never buy anything else

By on Saturday, June 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 214,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck has 214000 mile and still going strong best truck I have ever owned for dependability and durability"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2005 Tundra has been a great truck. With 223,000 miles i have never had any problems with it. On the open road this truck rides GREAT."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best Car I've ever owned

By on Thursday, June 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rides like a limo, works like a truck"

Cons: "Gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm am the first owner of this truck. It is comfortable, powerful, safe and good looking. I've driven it off road for camping and on highway. It does great in both arenas. I like the older style much more than the newer Tundras which, in my opinion, look a lot like American trucks. It's a Toyota through and through. My only complaint is the gas mileage. But it is a V8 32 valve engine so I don't have much to complain about."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 48 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tundra Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals