Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2012 Toyota Tundra CrewMax

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 967 Ratings for the 2007 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Excellent Truck

By on Sunday, April 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Driving, towing, reliability and drivability"

Cons: "Flat Paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great full size truck from Toyota, and it tows like a champ. It is reliable, dependable and a nice riding/driving truck. Gas mileage is what it is, on a flat highway with no headwind you can see 17mpg at about 67mph. It's fairly quiet on the inside and is very stable driving. The truck is big, and if you're not used to driving a big vehicle it will take some getting used to, I guess my only complaint is about the paint, like on most white Toyotas of this vintage and older, the white paint appears flat, when it's fresh out of detail it looks like a new truck, however, 3 months later it's looking flat again. Other than that it's a great truck!"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Excellent style, quality and resale.

By on Wednesday, April 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great dependable truck."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my third Tundra. Great Truck period. The 1794 is totally a class act."

9 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Great truck for the price

By on Wednesday, April 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Lots of room, tows great, good interior features"

Cons: "Rough ride. no auto headlights"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I priced all the major fullsize 4-dr p/u's last year and chose the 2014 Tundra, SR5 package with 5.7l. I haul two horses to rodeos and it pulls like a champ. Mileage isn't that great, but what do you expect for a 5.7l? Ride is not as comfy as Chevy but better than Dodge. I like SR5 features of backup camera and full retracting rear window. Backseat room most of any trucks I looked at. Also, made in San Antonio, TX, which helped with delivery charge."

Great truck

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Better than every domestic truck made. period."

Cons: "slight 4x4 driving dynamic issue at 0-5 mph."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only complaint I have is there is a wobbly driving dynamic when turning corners at very slow speed with 4 wheel drive engaged (like when turning tight corners in parking lots, etc). I assume this is because of sensors shifting the drive to different wheels or something. Otherwise I love the truck. It drives great. It is incredibly quick for a truck. Way faster than any other trucks I have driven (domestics). Hauled 1800 pounds of dirt in the back and hardly noticed. Pulled a Uhaul trailer 400 miles with no problem. I have never even been close to being stuck with it. Great truck."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This vehicle is a great value.

By on Tuesday, March 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value, good driving exerience, dependable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2012 Toyota Tundra CREWMAX

"Excellent service from this vehicle. It's spacious with plenty of front and rear head and leg room. It seats six comfortably with the center console tray in the up position and provides the comfort of a large passenger car. Long distance driving mileage is good. Stop and go driving mileage is average. It has a quiet interior and excellent drivability."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

2012 Toyota Tundra CREWMAX

excellent truck

By on Thursday, March 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very well built pickup"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this truck is my second Trunda, and I highly recommend them"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a 2008 and loved it so then I bought a 2013! they are great trucks and lots of room and rides great!"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Obvious hail damage.

By on Friday, March 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Mechanically excellent, great tow vehicle"

Cons: "hail damage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The hail damage on this truck is obvious and is the only thing wrong with it. I bought it new and it has been serviced by the dealer. There are no problems whatever with the mechanical functioning of this truck. It is silver and pretty much a plain jane type of truck. Not beautiful to look at but runs perfect and drives great. I have used it to tow our travel trailer and it cannot be beat for performance in towing."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

great truck, awesome power, gas milage not great

By on Sunday, March 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "nice looking, plenty of power, holds it's value"

Cons: "not great on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"nice truck, would buy another one"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Wednesday, March 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles well on the road great excelleration"

Cons: "only get between 15 an 16 miles per gallon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In over 8 years bought new have replaced one headlight an replaced rotors front an rear with brake pads once. Cooling vents were corroding I live in the north an our roads get salted. Replaced muffler due to small hole in rear from road salt not bad for being parked outdoors. Comfortable to ride in on a long trip with my wife."

10 people out of 17 found this review helpful

A very good truck especially for the money.

By on Sunday, February 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This truck is very low mileage, but it has been great for the first 6 years. I would recommend both the Tacoma and the Tundra as great Toyota truck options."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

the best vehicle i have ever owned

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good mileage,good handling,excellent towing,smooth"

Cons: "stereo system below standard"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have not had any trouble with this pickup."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best Truck for the Money

By on Sunday, February 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Value, Reliability, Quality, Feature content"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We purchased our 2010 Toyota Tundra SR5 TRD-OffRoad Double cab in Salsa Red Metallic in June of 2009. Our truck features the new-for-2010 4.6L V8. After nearly six years and 120,000 miles, I can assure you that this is one of the most sound automotive investments you can make. There has not been a single issue with the truck-ever. With routine servicing (oil change every 10k miles etc), I have no reason to believe this truck won't go for another 120k. The 4.6 V8 offers an excellent blend of power and fuel economy. I average just under 18 MPG and the truck has no issue with power in any situation. Out on the highway, the Tundra rides comfortably at any speed and passes with ease. The SR5 package provides an excellent blend of creature comforts at an affordable price. In 2009, bluetooth, USB, and a telescoping steering wheel couldn't be found at just north of $30k anywhere else but in the Tundra. Storage space is abundant. In any situation, the Tundra has exceeded expectations. Be it family hauling, road tripping, or any other activity a crew cab truck could be put up to, the Tundra will provide you with years of capable reliability. I plan on purchasing another Tundra once I pass the 2010 off to my son."

46 people out of 73 found this review helpful

Outstanding truck - physical problem forces sale

By on Sunday, February 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Wonderful to drive, comfortable front buckets,"

Cons: "Tall, steps needed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Perfect condition, black on black with 20" custom tires and black wheels. Matching black camper shell over coated bed, bed has numerous tie downs. Fog lights, lights power off, daytime running lights. Drop down beauty mirrors that are illuminated. Garage door openers, auto dimming mirror. Multiple cup holders. Center panel large enough for small cooler.Dual oil cooler for 6 sped transmission. 5.7 engine with flex fuel. Rear view mirror, powered mirrors and windows including rear window which can be lowered completely. Powered drivers seat, rear seat adjusts manually and has fold down arm rest and cup holder. MP3 input, CD, radio, Bluetooth, Sirius. Front headlights have electronic up and down controls. Exceptionally clean, one owner actual mileage under 5000 miles. Big, black, powerful and like new."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Extremely Gorgeous Truck

By on Sunday, February 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive,"

Cons: "Terrible in fuel consumption"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Extremely Gorgeous Truck but not as they say in fuel efficient. the advertise city 14MPG. barely makes 10MPG even when it's new. HIghway never exceeded 13MPG. other than fuel issue one of the best in the market"

Excellent truck, performance and ride a great.

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, resale value, great ride and performance."

Cons: "No heavy duty options."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my second Tundra and both have been exceptional vehicles. Performance is excellent, I tow an enclosed trailer and utility trailers; the vehicle has no problems with trailering on steep hills and handles heavy trailering loads without any problems. The ride is excellent and I have experienced no problems with either of the two Tundra's owned. The gas mileage is satisfactory, of course I would like better mileage, but with 381 horsepower you can't have everything. I would recommend the Tundra for towing up to about 11,000 lbs. Hopefully Toyota will follow Nissan's lead and consider a diesel motor and it would be nice to have options for a 3/4 ton or even heavier trucks. Performs more like a 3/4 ton truck than a 1/2 ton."

24 people out of 46 found this review helpful

Great work truck

By on Tuesday, January 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful and comfortable ride."

Cons: "Extra long bed is difficult to park some places."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Tundra has it all. Extra long (8 foot) bed will hold full sheets of plywood with the tailgate closed. Snugtop cap in matching color (Cobalt Blue or Blue Ribbon paint). Crew max four door cab with premium sound system with in dash multi CD changer and JBL speakers. Front and rear parking warning system (Sonar). Very clean inside and out, runs great, lots of power in the 5.7 L V8 engine. Receiver hitch and tow package. A beast of a work truck!"

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Great truck with very few minor issues

By on Sunday, January 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great in the back country, great visibility,"

Cons: "Poor mileage, noisy suspension"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm surprised Toyota can't get better mileage out of a Tundra today. Their local dealership is outstanding in all areas of service and other brands of vehicles should take lessons. I love the Toyota brand and 3 of my 4 immediate family members drive them. These should exceed 20 mpg and I hope Toyota gets this improved very quickly."

32 people out of 64 found this review helpful

Tundra Crew Max Limited TRD

By on Wednesday, January 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "its all personel taste"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had 2 Sequoias a 2008/2010 Platinum's and this Tundra an Excellent truck. I am in my 58th new vehicle, I enjoy driving this more than my Mercedes ,Smooth and quiet very comfortable, very powerful. I went to the car show to see all the trucks and I had to get a 2013 Toyota instead of a 14 due to the body style change ,they lost me on that one ,If I wanted a gm I would have got one"

9 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Excellent interior design

By on Friday, December 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependability, easy access controls"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only downside is the gas mileage, but what do you expect from a large, powerful full size truck. I love how convenient the interior controls are to reach and adjust. And you cannot beat that Toyota dependability. Great vehicle!"

45 people out of 87 found this review helpful

Seriously great!

By on Thursday, December 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, turning radius, towing, visibility, power"

Cons: "Bump rear window control button with knee."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Crewmax has exceeded my expectations. A daily driver over my wifes car. A 10,000 lb camp trailer hauler in steep terrain without a single hesitation. Bench seating for six people on several 1,500 mile trips was just fine. Gas mileage is 15 to 17 year around. Back country muddy roads are no problem. Visibility is great and the back up camera makes for hooking up a breeze. The turning radius impresses everyone that rides with me. I would buy another one if anything happens to my truck."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Don't buy!

By on Wednesday, December 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,200

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Starts!"

Cons: "Bad exhaust drone!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"My truck came with a horrible exhaust drone. Have spent over $500 to date to help eliminate the drone. Was giving me migraines and nausea. Dealer said they were all like this so Toyota did not see it as a problem. Told me to go away and not come back. Toyota knows about the problem. Have told over 30 people not to buy a Tundra. Next thing to do to deal with drone is sound absorbing undercoat or trade in and take a bath on the trade in. Again, don't buy a Tundra. Last note, cup holders won't hold a regular coffee cup, only tapered coffee mugs."

39 people out of 101 found this review helpful

Solid Choice for consumer looking for reliability

By on Wednesday, December 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "15 Cup Holders, Sounds Great, Chicks Dig It"

Cons: "Large Trailer Hitch, Size around town, Gas Guzzler"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this truck for 5 months now, and put roughly 8000 miles on it. I have taken it on 300 mile road trips and around town. It does great on the highway, however gas mileage drastically decreases from 55 to 70 MPH. Around town, the 5.7 Liter V8 is quick off the line. After towing a 4500 lb. boat around (more than 3,000 more than the limit), the truck showed no fatigue or problem. It did struggle, but that should be expected after nearly quadrupling the max. towing. The hitch receiver is very large, and I had to buy an extra large locking pin in order for it to fit. However Toyota has placed the connections for trailer lights above integrated into the bumper as to not rip out cords when you are off roading and rocks are hitting your bumper. The Limited interior is well laid out, providing lots of leather and wood trim. And holy cow! The back seats are massive! My 6'7" 270 pound uncle fits in the back no problem at all! The legroom is incredible. One thing to improve on in the back is that the air conditioning takes a while to reach all the way back, as there is only one small vent for all three back seats while there are 4 vents for the front seats. The rear seats fold up, and the large back door allows you to easily take in and out large, heavy objects. One thing that I wish toyota had put on the truck is an under hood light, as that would have significantly increased the ease of checking your engine (as if you were to ever break down - this truck doesn't do that) at night. The adjustable headlights allow you to not blind the driver in front of you at night when you have 4500 pounds of weight dragging the back end down. The humongous center console could hold a small adult inside of it, and has a charging port inside. The entune navigation system is very user friendly and easily allows you to input destinations, change radio stations, and change vehicle settings. The refreshed exterior is tasteful, but does not show off. The tailgate of the truck is a easy lift and lower tailgate, and you can take if off in 45 seconds. I've timed myself :-). Cup Holders are in no short supply - there are 15 of them. Everything is removable from the truck with some basic tools, so you can add accessories and clean certain bits. I have taken the front and rear seats out several times already to clean the interor of the truck really well. The rear power sliding window (by the way, it it the whole window that slides down, not just a small square of window) drastically improves the airflow through the truck when the windows are down. Despite all the upsides, it is a bit of a lumber bus around town since it is as wide as is legal in the US and is plenty long with the crew cab. Bottom line, I would absolutely reccommend this truck to anyone and would buy it again in a heartbeat. Not to mention, I can run it to ten million miles with just oil changes because its a Toyota!"

14 people out of 24 found this review helpful

I fell very safe in my Rock Warrior.

By on Tuesday, December 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safety. Price. Comfort. Handling. Torque. Fun!"

Cons: "Need a lock on gas cover or cap."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I purchased my Rock Warrior because of it's stats for safety. I am impressed by it's ride and comfort. Most new vehicles the seats dip down' the Tundra are 'flat' and adjustable. Also, the back of the seat is a fantastic height for tall people and do not 'force' you into a 'C' position whereas your shoulders are forced forward. The MPH is not bad for such a large engine. I just pulled a near 8000 lb. older trailer for my son to Texas from Vermont. Yes, the fuel bill was high... but with the tow package; the Rock Warrior was stupendous regarding stability. All I am waiting for is for Toyota to come out with a diesel engine of their own or the Cummings."

36 people out of 51 found this review helpful

overall great truck

By on Tuesday, December 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,050

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fast,strong,reliable,nice looking"

Cons: "on the 08, none really"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I wish they kept all the same features in the limited. now i would have to buy a platinum just to get most of the features i have in my limited. problem is platinum only comes in a crewmax with a shorter bed! Also, the 14's feel cheap inside compared to GMC and Dodge. Sadly, this is why i will not be purchasing a new Tundra. My 08 is a great truck with no real issues."

13 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tundra CrewMax near Honolulu. See local deals