Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2006 Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1448 Ratings for the 2005 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Worst Vehicle Ever!

By on Monday, April 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfortable"

Cons: "Anything Mechanical"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Very little room to fully define my horror story but... First 2.7L 4X4 Tacoma was replaced due to the lemon law (bent frame during manufacturing). Second truck, bad clutch (3 installed before 100,000 miles -- with one flywheel replacement). Drive-line carrier bearing failed at 15,000 miles, rebuilt transmission at 30,000 miles, front diff bearings replaced twice (64,000 & 90,000 miles), replaced front wheel bearings at 68,000 miles. And no, Toyota never stood behind any of these defects! The truck is grossly underpowered and the rear suspension is inadequate. The only thing I like about this truck is that it's fairly comfortable for a truck."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Dependable Truck

By on Saturday, April 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "2.7 liter is too weak"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My 2014 4wd 2.7 liter truck is all that I wanted when i purchased it. With that said, now a month after purchasing it I find myself wanting more power... It's a great truck but this lack in power is very noticable when getting on a on ramp to the highway. You really have to slam on the accelerator to get it moving. That's the only negative regarding this truck."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great Reliable Truck

By on Monday, April 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Looks great, Tows with ease, Easy to park"

Cons: "Gas mileage, small backseat, lacks navigation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned this truck since 2010 & has been awesome to drive & own. My model is the TRD Off-Road package Prerunner but even in 2wd you wont be disappointed. Cruises great at highway speeds & decent gas mileage for a truck. This truck looks better than any other mid-size in my opinion and really starts turning heads if you decide to go with a lift and over sized tires 33"-35". Overall I would give this truck a 9/10 rating & to be honest my next vehicle will probably be a Tacoma. You can't go wrong with this truck!"

17 people out of 30 found this review helpful

Best truck I ever had.

By on Monday, April 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, reliable, powerful, stylish"

Cons: "Gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives rough in cities, but other than that this truck is perfect. of course you are going to have rough gas mileage... It's a truck! but I have taken this thing everywhere from high in the mountains to deep swamps. never stalled. never let me down."

8 people out of 21 found this review helpful

awsome pickup

By on Sunday, April 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, dependable"

Cons: "black exterior. can be hardto keep clean"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Does it getany better??"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals