Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2003 Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1562 Ratings for the 1995 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 157 | Next

nice small truck, reliable

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliability"

Cons: "not a lot of power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"extremely Reliable, I change the oil and filter every 5000 have never had a single problem with this truck."

2 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best Truck I've Ever Had

By on Thursday, December 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Never breaks down"

Cons: "Its not a 2015 Tacoma"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best truck I have ever owned. It never broke down, always reliable. Great little truck. 140k mi. on it and was still going strong until it was stolen out of my driveway. Found it six days later completely destroyed. It was a sad day. If I could get any other truck I would just want my 2001 Taco back in mint condition because I've never had a truck as good as this one."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Major Frame Rust

By on Wednesday, December 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "none"

Cons: "Frame ROT, Critical frame rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"**BUYER BEWARE** There was not one problem with this truck, no rust on the truck, no engine problems etc just regular upkeep until now... We just found MAJOR FRAME ROT. Was checked by Toyota in 2009 for this and they said it was "good to go". Truck just went in for tires and we were called in back by the tire guy. Frame is almost totally rusted through and ready to crack. PLEASE before buying check underneath. We now have a truck that in good faith I could not ever think of selling to anyone. No dealer in their right mind will give us anything for it except scrap value. Just got off the phone with Toyota, told sorry, nothing they could do for us. If it were a 2001...."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best truck I have ever owned

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good off-road, reliable, and need I say more."

Cons: "Gas mileage is not as good as you would think."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck has never let me down"

Most trouble-free vehicle I've ever owned

By on Tuesday, November 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,257

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great roadability and feels very safe"

Cons: "Poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck handles as well as it did when I drove it out of the dealership and it still doesn't leak any oil. I had one recall on the front suspension and never noticed any problems before or after."

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

93K miles in 14 years. Only one problem.

By on Saturday, November 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had to replace timing belt at 45K miles as truck was losing power; otherwise routine maintenance. Done a lot of hauling for garden with bed extender. Truck still going strong."

11 people out of 20 found this review helpful

all in all a good pick up

By on Wednesday, October 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable pick up. I bought this new and the only mechanical trouble i have had is the starter motor had to be replaced about 90 k miles. Even as old as it is I can get 28/29 mpg on the highway. My model has a bench seat which can get uncomfortable on long trips. I have changed the oil and filter every 7k miles I believe that is why the engine is in good shape. The AC still works like new. All in all it has been a good pick up for me."

10 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Good reliable truck

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Well built"

Cons: "Rough ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Well built, excellent quality vehicle"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck, beat it up and it keeps on going!

By on Friday, October 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great truck, beat it up and it keeps on going! No complaints about this truck at all. If mine dies tomorrow, I will be at the Tacoma dealer the next day for another one."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best truck I ever owned.

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought it new 2003. Have done nothing but put gas, oil, tires, wiper blades. I think I replaced a brake light bulb and maybe a side marker light bulb. Oh and exactly at 100,000 miles the check engine light came on saying I need to change my 02 Sensor. I think its just something Toyota programed in. No biggy I bought one for around $150 and put it in myself. I've had it 11 years still get compliments on it all the time, probably because of the lift kit, oversized tires, chrome grill guard, wind shield visor, hood scoop, side steps, etc... what? It takes care of me, I take care of it."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 157 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals