Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Editors' Page: 2014 Pickup Trucks
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1997 Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1515 Ratings for the 1995 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 152 | Next

Great vehicle; single owner; well-maintained;

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "1/2 ton vehicle; decent gas mileage; excellent wor"

Cons: "pass door handle not working; front glass replacem"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am the single owner of this truck; It has been well-maintained over the years; I was an auto repair shop owner for 5 of those years. Small dent in right rear, otherwise just minor scratches from normal use. 4X4 with no real off-road experiences. All equipment noted is in working order; comes with extra pass door. v-6, runs well. towing pkg. in cluded."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Could not find a better truck

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Plows thru the snow"

Cons: "clock in bad place"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned all models and sizes of trucks, the TRD Off Road Toyota beats them all by far. Just change the fluids when called for and drive."

Best all around truck on the planet.

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome truck."

Cons: "Clock is poorly placed....THATS IT."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this truck for 8 years and I have only replaced the brakes and oil. I must say, this truck has exceeded my expectations and continues to. I have 125,000 miles on it and it runs like new. Do not hesitate to buy one if you have the opportunity. To bad they don't make them like this anymore."

the best truck ever!

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 247,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My tacoma has nearly 250,000 miles on it now and runs consistently with no problems! It is reliable and has been for the last 7 years. After several front end collisions the only thing it needed was anew bumper.a solid, awesome truck that'll make it through any weather!"

High mileage but still dependable

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 539,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "still an excellent truck to drive around"

Cons: "needs repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Two owner truck! Used as a courier vehicle! Original engine and transmission! New timing belt! New battery and alternator! New front brakes have 5k miles. Body has scrapes on it! It has a color coded camper shell! (with body color,green) Transmission is fine but needs fluid changed! Needs back brakes,front bumper needs changing,front inner tie rods need changing,rack and pinion leaks,main seal leaks.Right rear cab window is out. Still runs all day at 60-65mph."

This Truck is carport kept, 2 wax jobs a year

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "it is an above average for its age"

Cons: "Just want a new one to travel in."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Toyota is an SR5, with new Michelin Tires & a new Battery, has had 2 wax jobs a year on it since 2004 and has a truck bed lid painted same as truck + tinted windows, a/c & cruise control + automatic transmission."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great truck

By on Saturday, February 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 238,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "long lasting"

Cons: "thin seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent truck! They are good on milage, I avg 23 MPG city. The large windshield and small post make for great visibility. While the seats are, as usual, thin, they are not uncomfortable. Mechanically I have over 230,000 miles with no engine repairs at all, did have to replace the ball joins at about 200,000 mile. Transmission has had no problems, except when my ex-wife ripped out the clutch, but that is not the trucks fault. Overall, it has been a wonderful vehicle to have."

Great Reliable Vehicle

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable and versital"

Cons: "Limited seating"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this Truck. It is a Man's vehicle."

Great Truck!

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great on and off road. V6 power is great."

Cons: "Gas milage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Great Moab cruiser.

"I've really enjoyed driving this truck. This is the third Toyota pickup I've owned. It's been very reliable over the 10 years that I've owned it. Handles snow and off road very well. Not a bad highway vehicle either. Very versatile, I've used this truck for work and play. Tows small trailers reasonably well, especially with the V6 3.4L. Gas milage on average overall is about 20 mpg. Interior has been reasonably durable as has the exterior. I've never had any major repairs, but I meticulously maintain all of my vehicles. This vehicle has been very reasonable to maintain. Insurance on my truck has been reasonable too. If you're looking for a great small truck, I'd highly recommend it."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Moab cruiser.

My second Toyota truck great dependable vehicle

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependable holds its value"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my second Toyota truck and i can always depend on it. you keep regular maintenance on it it will serve you well. worth the value and trade in value too. one downside is the mpg. you would think its time for a truck to have the same gas mileage they are making cars these days. why do mfg hold back when we know its possible? other than that i love my Toyota and would buy another if i didnt care about gas mileage"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 152 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals