Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1997 Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1568 Ratings for the 1995 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 157 | Next

Great truck

By on Tuesday, January 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good everything"

Cons: "rough ride / bouncy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great truck 265K miles. still going. rough ride sometimes. good in rain. reliable 2.7 litre four cylinder."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best truck I've Owen ever

By on Thursday, January 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love to drive"

Cons: "Weak suspension"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great truck weak suspension"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck ever made!

By on Monday, January 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependable,style,affordable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this truck new in 2001,it has 108000 miles on it now and it has not had any problems ,no brake downs,it's been perfect,"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

100% in sound mechanical cond. Every thing works.

By on Friday, January 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 238,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable and mechnically very sound"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Well maintained by one owner. Every thing works 100%. See it to believe it."

Love my truck!

By on Monday, January 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, decent gas mileage"

Cons: "not much room for kids"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this truck used 8 years ago and wouldn't trade it for anything! Had the 85,000 mile service (timing belt, spark plugs, etc.) done in the spring by a Toyota dealership. My truck does a great job in the snow and has moved my stuff more times than I can count. It also holds my four wheeler in the bed like a champ, even with my slimline toolbox. I would only get rid of my truck if I had to, and if I could only keep one of my 3 vehicles, it would be this truck hands down!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

great truck, reliable, good appearance, great serv

By on Friday, January 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Truck has been excellent, value has stayed high and reliability is excellent. Very little maintenance required. Only issue is electronics. Check engine light has been on for years and a new computer brain for $1500.0 is required, so it will stay on. This has not affected the performance but is an annoyance."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

nice small truck, reliable

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliability"

Cons: "not a lot of power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"extremely Reliable, I change the oil and filter every 5000 have never had a single problem with this truck."

8 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Best Truck I've Ever Had

By on Thursday, December 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Never breaks down"

Cons: "Its not a 2015 Tacoma"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best truck I have ever owned. It never broke down, always reliable. Great little truck. 140k mi. on it and was still going strong until it was stolen out of my driveway. Found it six days later completely destroyed. It was a sad day. If I could get any other truck I would just want my 2001 Taco back in mint condition because I've never had a truck as good as this one."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Major Frame Rust

By on Wednesday, December 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "none"

Cons: "Frame ROT, Critical frame rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"**BUYER BEWARE** There was not one problem with this truck, no rust on the truck, no engine problems etc just regular upkeep until now... We just found MAJOR FRAME ROT. Was checked by Toyota in 2009 for this and they said it was "good to go". Truck just went in for tires and we were called in back by the tire guy. Frame is almost totally rusted through and ready to crack. PLEASE before buying check underneath. We now have a truck that in good faith I could not ever think of selling to anyone. No dealer in their right mind will give us anything for it except scrap value. Just got off the phone with Toyota, told sorry, nothing they could do for us. If it were a 2001...."

11 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Best truck I have ever owned

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good off-road, reliable, and need I say more."

Cons: "Gas mileage is not as good as you would think."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck has never let me down"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 157 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals