Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

1997 Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1577 Ratings for the 1995 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 316 | Next

reliable truck no issues

By on Friday, April 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love my truck"

work horse of a truck that also looks great.

By on Sunday, March 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "many"

Cons: "bit of a rough ride, like a truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Due to a recall toyota put a new chassis in this truck and we have done the expected amount of repairs over the last 150,000 miles. all the miles logged while being used by a building and remodeling company. 2001 is one of the best looking models(SR5)."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Supper deal on a slightly used truck.

By on Sunday, March 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a 2000 Toyota, 1st owner owned for 14 years. The owner was a doctor who always kept it in a garage. I have owned it for three months. I love the truck, but was given a new car and now I will sell the truck. I can not say no to a gift. This truck was kept in a garage when it was not being driven. It is in excellent condition and must see to appreciate."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Quality Light Duty Truck

By on Friday, March 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Dependable, quality, nice for around town."

Cons: "Small cab space, not good for long drives."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Low maintenance and very good quality. Change the oil and add fuel. Going 65MPH on Hwy I get 22 MPG...not bad for a 4WD. The 2.7 4Cyl is not very quick, but does the job. Mine is a 2004 and I have 162k. Starting to get a small rust spot in the bed. Other then that the paint is good, and engine runs fine."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Unbelievable value

By on Friday, March 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 325,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, powerful, everything on it is built well"

Cons: "I can't justify buying a new one yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my truck V6 SR5 Manual 4x4 brand new and only got it because someone else had ordered it and backed out on the deal. If they only knew .... this thing is amazing. From puling 20 foot fiberglass deck boat in the Utah mountains to 4 wheeling through the mud to duck hunt in MN this thing just keeps going and still looks almost like new (other than where the deer ran into me - yes,into me.) I still have original clutch, only replaced brake pads 1 time and the only big repair bill was for when a spark plug came loose and stripped the threads in the head so I hd the repair shop replace the head, water pump timing belt all at the same time. I use synthetic oil and only replace oil and filter 10,000 miles. Uses no oil- never even needed an alignment. I LOVE THIS TRUCK. 17 years and 325,000 miles and I do not see an end in sight."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 316 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals