Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1997 Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1596 Ratings for the 1995 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 160 | Next

Excellent Truck!

By on Friday, May 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 227,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Worth the extra you pay for a Toyota"

Cons: "Cost a few thousand more than a Nissan"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Beside changing the oil, I only had to fix the air conditioning for $800 for the last 14 years. Awesome Truck."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Wolf in sheeps clothing

By on Saturday, November 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "tough, dependable, worry free driving"

Cons: "rides rough, not many options available"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 2004 Tacoma quad cab v6 with the TRD package, of course its very reliable, but it's amazing how capable it is for a small truck. I am boarder line abusive to this truck and it just doesn't seem to matter. Regular maintenance, tires, batteries, ect. No out of the norm repairs."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

So thankful I bought this when I did.

By on Thursday, August 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value, extremely reliable, cheap to operate"

Cons: "You may need a more powerful engine. I don't."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Right after they built this truck, they broke the mold. Literally. It rolled off the line (at the NUMMI plant in Fremont, CA) in August, 2004, one of the last before Toyota's redesign. Starting with the 2005 models, Tacomas would be taller, wider, longer, pricier -- but not better. Call me Retro, but I was delighted, when I first climbed into this little red rascal, to find I could still buy a new vehicle with manual transmission, manual locks, windows, outside mirrors -- I mean, it was a real DIY truck for a DIY guy. I didn't quibble over the ABS or the power-assisted brakes and steering, all useful, all unavoidable. I did remark, on the test drive, that I could do without the AC. "Yes, and you could find someone else to ride shotgun", my wife replied. Well, it was August. Eleven years and 100K miles later, this truck, which has hardly seen the inside of a garage, still looks great. It still has all its original parts (including brake pads/linings), except for tires, filters and wiper blades. I've had the front end aligned twice, and I did replace the battery after about eight years. The overall mpg has been a very consistent 22-23 miles. A lot of solo cross-country trips have just made me more appreciative of the comfortable -- but not too comfortable -- bucket seat, the cruise control, and the excellent 6-speaker sound system featuring AM/FM, CD player AND cassette tape player, all stock. My one quibble isn't really a complaint, because I knew what I was buying: a 2.7 liter in-line 4-cylinder engine. Pulling a fully-loaded 8-ft. Uhaul trailer across West Virginia on a rainy night, you might wish you had a tad more oomph. Still, it did the job, as it has through years of house moves and miscellaneous hauling in all kinds of weather. I couldn't replace this machine for three times the Blue Book valuation."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best compact truck!

By on Monday, November 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Value, reliability, durability, capability, looks"

Cons: "jittery ride over rough roads"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Toyota Tacoma is probably the best compact truck you could buy. They are known for their reliability and also their off-road capabilities. The engines in the Tacoma are bullet proof if taken care of and will last 100,000's of miles. It is basically average for a 2.7 to reach 300,000 miles. The 3.4 V6 is also a great motor, and its the one I own. My 1996 has only 85,000 miles so it has many years left. I have had to replace two things: An oxygen sensor(expected to go out and a cheap replacement) and the starter motor (not too uncommon for my engine and nothing major). You can't go wrong with a Tacoma and if your looking to buy one you must look at for one thing- frame rust. It is a known problem to affect only certain trucks. But it certainly doesn't affect all of them, its just something to look for near salty conditions."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great vehicle lost to defective frame

By on Monday, June 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "good looking, well built (xcept frame), fun"

Cons: "defective frame totaled it out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

Does this truck look like it should be going to the crusher???

"This '98 is a gem of a truck. The big 4cyl gives suprising pep and it's fun to drive. Bought this off my parents about a year ago, with 70xxx original miles and in mint condition! After doing a 2" lift, the frame started to crack. Long story short, The 1995-2004 series manufactured in CA have defective frames. My parents ignored the notices sent in the mail as "warranty extentions" thinking they were trying to sell them something instead of realizing it was a recall. Now Toyota is in the process of making an offer to buy it back, and then they are gonna crush it! I doubt I'm gonna be able to afford a newer one, and I don't like the newer styles as much. So be sure to check your bottoms--ours was always dealer serviced and always passed local safety inspections, despite our direct inquiry about the rust on the frame. I can't belive this truck flew under the radar for 14 years. The only good thing is we found out about it before anyone got hurt."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Does this truck look like it should be going to the crusher???

The Truck That Won't Quit

By on Sunday, August 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, plenty of power per lb"

Cons: "Small, no power windows"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm the second owner of this truck. I've put over 100,000 miles on it. hopefully I'll be able to put another 200K on the odometer. I've put this truck through everything. Hauling boat trailers, moving appliances, loading 6 buddies in the back and driving up a mountain. I get a solid 25 mpg, average, and the 2.4cyl just keeps eating up what I give it. Other than standard preventative maintainance, this truck hasn't required any major replacement parts and doesn't feel like it will anytime soon. Tacomas are built to last."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

1997 toy. truck

By on Tuesday, July 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have own my truck from day one in 1997 and the truck just keeps on going and going.====I could never ask for anything more.====This has been one super ride and I just love it.=====mike=====115,000 miles later!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Truck I have owned

By on Wednesday, May 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great for hauling young kids and all your stuff"

Cons: "Entertainment system works good / no auxillary jac"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have taken this from the mountains to the beach and back numreous times in 9+ years. Never had any major problems. Oil changes, Timing belt etc at 100,000 other than that has no problems. I have raised two young kids in the back seat. Definitely need bed extender for stuff like plywood sheets. Handles every day hauling and moving furniture great. I have never towed anything with it so I can't comment on it. Gas mileage isn't awesome 16-18 mpg in town and max 20 mpg on highway, but way better than a bigger trucks."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I will buy another!!

By on Tuesday, October 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Changed timing belt, oil 5k, gas and go."

Cons: "Seats are not very comfortable but ride is good."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the best vehicle I have owned. The higher purchase price has been well worth it. The truck has been very reliable. The front brakes just recently needed replacement at 185,000 miles. The clucth has yet to be replaced for the first time."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

207,000 and still going strong.!

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "style, drivability, just a fun, pretty truck."

Cons: "seats could be a bit more plush, dash rattles."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this truck used with 202,000 on it, had it painted (had some minor scratches and door dents) new tires and tinted the glass, It has never given me a minute of trouble in any way...the truck runs great, drives great, and looks great..still a head turner on and off the road! :)"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 160 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals