Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Editors' Page: 2014 Pickup Trucks
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2013 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $22,250 - $22,941.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $23,385

Fair Purchase Price $22,596
Fair Market Range ($22,250 - $22,941)

Invoice $21,728
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.6 of 10

10/7.6

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1353 Ratings for the 2005 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 55 | Next

I wish that every vehicle was as Great !

By on Tuesday, February 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "highest quality, total reliability, fun to drive"

Cons: "seat could be more comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My only complaint might be that I should have upgraded the interior, but at the basic model 4x4 I should not expect luxury. It is without a doubt the best vehicle I have ever owned. Totally reliable, a bullet proof engine, decent fuel milage, and a do anything, go anywhere attitude has never let me down. I am going to give mine up only because I plan on moving overseas, and the cost of shipment would be prohibitive for me."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

WAS a loyal Toyota fan from 1984 until 2009.

By on Sunday, February 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Steering radius and manuverabilty are great"

Cons: "resale value is absolutely dismal"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"In 2009 I purchased a 2010 Tacoma 4wd 5speed 4 door Access Cab. Issue 1) Cruise control: While set, regular driving, if you push in clutch it disengages as expected. While in neutral, if you press 'resume', engine will accelerate to who knows how many rpm's/goes into full throttle. First time was a surprise, I caught it b4 reaching 5000 rpms (switched cruise to off position). Have demonstrated it to others and same result every time. Issue 2) Radio turns itself on and off at random. Issue 3) Low quality plastic removable 'cargo clips' in bed. Your everyday bungee "S" hooks unable to attach to them and they are poorly manufactured/strip out with little effort. These issues may seem petty to some, but for $30,000.00 in 2009, I would have expected more. I paid far less for my Toyotas in the past and received far better quality vehicles (My previous Toyotas: 1984 standard pick-up, 1991 short bed standard p/u w/over 265,000 miles and still going, & 1996 Corolla). That said, in conjunction with the sub-par customer service at the local Toyota dealership, I will probably NEVER buy a NEW Toyota again."

5 people out of 17 found this review helpful

A good solid vehicle.

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "The vehicle performs very well for it's intended"

Cons: "Noisy and less than stellar mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought the Tacoma for it's rugged construction and looks. Both of these features are very important for the roads and conditions in Colorado. The Tacoma is not a "boulevard cruiser" by any means. It's ride is a bit harsh and you have to physically maintain control as it will wander. It is also a bit noisy at highway speeds. All said, the vehicle is truly a truck and it performs this function very well. The heavier the load the better it's ride. It also does very well off the pavement."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Plactic Bed not great for hauling.

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Over priced , Not a smooth ride, loud ."

Cons: "Why put the oil filter there ? messy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Loud cant really hear very well when people talk . Way over priced . Cant wait to get out of it without losing my shorts. In defense of the Tacoma I went from Tundra to Tacoma .I thought I would save on gas (not) Night and Day"

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Luv this truck!

By on Tuesday, February 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Luv this truck. Very comfy on long trips. Reasonably economical considering its a 4x4 and a 4.0 liter engine. Hardly feel or hear the highway when driving. A handsome looking vehicle, quality very good for its price range. Only complaint is, when the window is open even a tiny bit and its raining, the water comes in and drips all over the power window and lock buttons on the door. Sometimes you need a little air even when its raining. Some kind of water diverter should be added to the roof. Other than that, I have no complaints about this truck. I would buy a new one in a minute."

Best mid sized pick-up ever!

By on Sunday, February 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, rides nice, good gas mileage."

Cons: "back seats are small for an adult,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We really like this Tacoma 2008 pick-up. It is small enough to get reasonable gas mileage for a country dweller, yet strong enough to haul firewood, animal feed, bark mulch, wood pellets, or anything else. The bed sweeps or hoses out easily. It rides smooth in the front bucket seats. The back seats are small and not good for a long legged person. It is also hard to get a children's car seat to fit in the back seat. The back seat is good for groceries, animal feed, on rainy days, tools, etc. It has a surprising amount of room. I like the way the rear doors open out. If you are looking for a reliable, mid-size pick up. The Tacoma is the one for you."

Good truck,outstanding value retention

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good truck,outstanding value retention"

Cons: "Brake pedal feel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love this little truck.Gobs of power,cruises on interstate,handles well on back roads,and is not to bad on gas.The only complaint I have is lack of brake "feel"has always had a softer pedal than I like.Have had it to dealers (3)and they all say it is normal.All in all though I have been very happy with it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Bullet proof, no headache, super reliable.

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Never breaks down or needs work."

Cons: "Can't think of one."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have driven it for 100,000 on highway and in town. All you need to do is change the oil and it goes forever. Have a friend with 280,000 miles on his, still drives it everywhere."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best truck ever

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Would not buy any other vehicle"

Want a new truck but like this too much to let it

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great truck. Powerful 6 with 6 speed manual."

Cons: "5th and 6th gears should both be O/D."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had this truck since June, 2007. Never did anything but change the oil until I had it tuned up at 52,000 miles a month ago. I still ran great but my mechanic said I could hurt the catalytic converter by leaving the spark plugs in too long. When removed and replaced, they still looked great. Everything else is original. Never replaced a bulb, a belt, the battery or anything else. Oops, I did replace the windshield wipers. This truck has never, never let me down. Best truck I have ever owned"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

amazing truck!

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, fun to drive, low cost to own"

Cons: "no auxillary connection"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has been through the ringer and still continues to impress, 170k hard miles and still running like new. Never had anything break on this truck and it still shines like new even after being almost 8 years old. Requires minimal maintenance and does amazing in the snow!"

What can I say it's a Toyota !!

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality all around"

Cons: "Not the best gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Those that don't have one want one. I do believe that price is a factor when looking at new vehicles."

Great truck

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, looks, power"

Cons: "Brake softness and interior scrathing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everything is great on this truck. The gas mileage isn't the best but the truck has great pickup. Two things that could be improved are the interior door panels as the plastic scratches easily and the brakes are softer than I'd like. Otherwise my '10 Tacoma TRD Sport SR5 is awesome. I would definitely buy this truck again."

Best 4x4 Crew Cab pickup for the money.

By on Monday, January 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive & handles great for a 4X4 truck."

Cons: "Gas mileage is just okay when you push it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"05 Crew Cab TRD Sport LB. Factory ordered new with all the options in 05, 1st year made-2nd generation Tacoma. Owned close to 9 years now. Under 100K miles, don't drive to much. I can't say enough about the quality & reliability of this truck. Handles great on & off road. (As soon as you get rid of the Bridgestone HT tires that come stock and are scary to drive with). Fun to drive! Great acceleration and handling for a 4x4 truck. Very Dependable. Never let me down. Increased in value $800 according to KBB when 2014 arrived. Strange? I know. If this was an American vehicle it would be a rattle trap by now. My vehicle drives like the day I bought it. I hunt, take down trails and put this vehicle to the test. I use synthetic oil. I change the anti freeze, differentials/ transfer case fluid, and transmission flush every 35-50k miles on my vehicles. I'm confident this truck will hold up regardless of what I do with on or off road. No rust, looks new still. Toyota's run forever with just general maintenance."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best truck I have owned

By on Thursday, January 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy riding, good looking truck"

Cons: "1 recall. 1 minor factory defect."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In 55,000 miles I have had only 1 minor problem in which the dealer incorrectly diagnosed but which I figured out. It cost me nothing to repair it. All routine maintenance has been followed but nothing beyond that. I have owned 2 Nissan trucks prior to this. This Toyota has them beat."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck!!!

By on Monday, December 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "style, size, power, interior comfort, reliability"

Cons: "Gas mileage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"absolutely the best truck I've ever owned. I've had other Toyotas and have never had a bad experience"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Went from GM to Toyota, so glad I did.

By on Saturday, December 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love it."

Cons: "Somehow I got one without intermitent whipers."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drove a mini van forever, 4 kids. When the last two started driving I got my Tacoma. It's comfy fun to drive useful. I love it. I giggle a little when I pass by one of those big truck people, the mileage is pretty great too."

Best truck I've ever owned

By on Thursday, December 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 310,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck had 17 miles on it when I bought and has had the oil changed every 3,000 mi. I replaced a water pump and a radiator...that's it! It still runs like a dream and I feel like I can depend on it to take me anywhere. I think I can hear some wheel bearing noise but heck, I don't blame it...310,000 miles! I'm planning on driving it as long as it passes the oppressive California smog regulations. Once it fails...I'm gonna go buy a new one just like it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Its a really good truck specially if you custom

By on Wednesday, December 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Alot of ugrades you can do to it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"At first it looks bad with that ugly 15" wheels i upgrade mine with a 3" lift and bigger tires plus a sony tomtom navigation system towing packing fog lights and i add an outlet on the bed it looks so good oh plus new hid headlights it looks amaizing and its stilll really goood in gas"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Wednesday, December 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "relaible, sturdy, dependable"

Cons: "poor gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great truck, sturdy, handles great, great acceleration and enough power for towing a large boat"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent truck

By on Saturday, November 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliability, looks, ability."

Cons: "Towing capacity"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 2012 and love it. This truck is an excellent choice for anyone who wants a tough and fun truck. Very good off road and a great hauler."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Awesome

By on Friday, November 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Relaible, versatile, and fun."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this truck wanting a versatile, reliable, and off road vehicle that was also a daily driver. I can not ask for more. The truck is awesome. Excellent off-road and on the street. Great truck in the snow and good towing. I get good MPG 26 average. This is typical Toyota quality and dependability."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great truck

By on Wednesday, November 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2013 Toyota Tacoma is my third over the years,realiable never had a problem with any them."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Overall one of the best investments I

By on Wednesday, November 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Awesome looking,"

Cons: "A little lightweight in snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is great. No problems ever. Starts everday in sub zero weather. It is a little slow if you like to drag race. Mine is a standard shift and a little slow off the line. Fair gas milage, not great. But if you need a small pickup ladies...this is definitly the truck for you. Plus the fact it is hot looking....It is a little dicey on slick roads so you have to know how to drive. Love Love Love my truck and my next truck will be another Tacoma"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best Sport Truck On The Market For The Money

By on Tuesday, November 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, Great price, drives like a sports car"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck new in 2007 and have had the pleasure to put all 88,000 miles on it. It still looks and rides like the day I drove it off of the lot. I still have the original clutch. I have done lots of mods to include a cold air intake, MAF sensor calibration unit, exhaust, short throw shifter, aftermarket black steel grille and TRD seat covers. The truck gets many looks and comments by fellow motorists and boy is it quick. The 4.0L 6 cylinder engine revs quickly and sounds amazing with a pronounced deep growl with the upgraded exhaust."

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 55 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.