Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2012 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1371 Ratings for the 2005 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 55 | Next

Bullet proof, no headache, super reliable.

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Never breaks down or needs work."

Cons: "Can't think of one."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have driven it for 100,000 on highway and in town. All you need to do is change the oil and it goes forever. Have a friend with 280,000 miles on his, still drives it everywhere."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best truck ever

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Would not buy any other vehicle"

Want a new truck but like this too much to let it

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great truck. Powerful 6 with 6 speed manual."

Cons: "5th and 6th gears should both be O/D."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had this truck since June, 2007. Never did anything but change the oil until I had it tuned up at 52,000 miles a month ago. I still ran great but my mechanic said I could hurt the catalytic converter by leaving the spark plugs in too long. When removed and replaced, they still looked great. Everything else is original. Never replaced a bulb, a belt, the battery or anything else. Oops, I did replace the windshield wipers. This truck has never, never let me down. Best truck I have ever owned"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

amazing truck!

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, fun to drive, low cost to own"

Cons: "no auxillary connection"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has been through the ringer and still continues to impress, 170k hard miles and still running like new. Never had anything break on this truck and it still shines like new even after being almost 8 years old. Requires minimal maintenance and does amazing in the snow!"

What can I say it's a Toyota !!

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality all around"

Cons: "Not the best gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Those that don't have one want one. I do believe that price is a factor when looking at new vehicles."

Great truck

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, looks, power"

Cons: "Brake softness and interior scrathing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everything is great on this truck. The gas mileage isn't the best but the truck has great pickup. Two things that could be improved are the interior door panels as the plastic scratches easily and the brakes are softer than I'd like. Otherwise my '10 Tacoma TRD Sport SR5 is awesome. I would definitely buy this truck again."

Best 4x4 Crew Cab pickup for the money.

By on Monday, January 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive & handles great for a 4X4 truck."

Cons: "Gas mileage is just okay when you push it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"05 Crew Cab TRD Sport LB. Factory ordered new with all the options in 05, 1st year made-2nd generation Tacoma. Owned close to 9 years now. Under 100K miles, don't drive to much. I can't say enough about the quality & reliability of this truck. Handles great on & off road. (As soon as you get rid of the Bridgestone HT tires that come stock and are scary to drive with). Fun to drive! Great acceleration and handling for a 4x4 truck. Very Dependable. Never let me down. Increased in value $800 according to KBB when 2014 arrived. Strange? I know. If this was an American vehicle it would be a rattle trap by now. My vehicle drives like the day I bought it. I hunt, take down trails and put this vehicle to the test. I use synthetic oil. I change the anti freeze, differentials/ transfer case fluid, and transmission flush every 35-50k miles on my vehicles. I'm confident this truck will hold up regardless of what I do with on or off road. No rust, looks new still. Toyota's run forever with just general maintenance."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best truck I have owned

By on Thursday, January 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy riding, good looking truck"

Cons: "1 recall. 1 minor factory defect."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In 55,000 miles I have had only 1 minor problem in which the dealer incorrectly diagnosed but which I figured out. It cost me nothing to repair it. All routine maintenance has been followed but nothing beyond that. I have owned 2 Nissan trucks prior to this. This Toyota has them beat."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck!!!

By on Monday, December 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "style, size, power, interior comfort, reliability"

Cons: "Gas mileage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"absolutely the best truck I've ever owned. I've had other Toyotas and have never had a bad experience"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Went from GM to Toyota, so glad I did.

By on Saturday, December 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love it."

Cons: "Somehow I got one without intermitent whipers."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drove a mini van forever, 4 kids. When the last two started driving I got my Tacoma. It's comfy fun to drive useful. I love it. I giggle a little when I pass by one of those big truck people, the mileage is pretty great too."

Best truck I've ever owned

By on Thursday, December 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 310,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck had 17 miles on it when I bought and has had the oil changed every 3,000 mi. I replaced a water pump and a radiator...that's it! It still runs like a dream and I feel like I can depend on it to take me anywhere. I think I can hear some wheel bearing noise but heck, I don't blame it...310,000 miles! I'm planning on driving it as long as it passes the oppressive California smog regulations. Once it fails...I'm gonna go buy a new one just like it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Its a really good truck specially if you custom

By on Wednesday, December 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Alot of ugrades you can do to it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"At first it looks bad with that ugly 15" wheels i upgrade mine with a 3" lift and bigger tires plus a sony tomtom navigation system towing packing fog lights and i add an outlet on the bed it looks so good oh plus new hid headlights it looks amaizing and its stilll really goood in gas"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Wednesday, December 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "relaible, sturdy, dependable"

Cons: "poor gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great truck, sturdy, handles great, great acceleration and enough power for towing a large boat"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent truck

By on Saturday, November 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliability, looks, ability."

Cons: "Towing capacity"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 2012 and love it. This truck is an excellent choice for anyone who wants a tough and fun truck. Very good off road and a great hauler."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Awesome

By on Friday, November 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Relaible, versatile, and fun."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this truck wanting a versatile, reliable, and off road vehicle that was also a daily driver. I can not ask for more. The truck is awesome. Excellent off-road and on the street. Great truck in the snow and good towing. I get good MPG 26 average. This is typical Toyota quality and dependability."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great truck

By on Wednesday, November 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2013 Toyota Tacoma is my third over the years,realiable never had a problem with any them."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Overall one of the best investments I

By on Wednesday, November 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Awesome looking,"

Cons: "A little lightweight in snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is great. No problems ever. Starts everday in sub zero weather. It is a little slow if you like to drag race. Mine is a standard shift and a little slow off the line. Fair gas milage, not great. But if you need a small pickup ladies...this is definitly the truck for you. Plus the fact it is hot looking....It is a little dicey on slick roads so you have to know how to drive. Love Love Love my truck and my next truck will be another Tacoma"

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best Sport Truck On The Market For The Money

By on Tuesday, November 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, Great price, drives like a sports car"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck new in 2007 and have had the pleasure to put all 88,000 miles on it. It still looks and rides like the day I drove it off of the lot. I still have the original clutch. I have done lots of mods to include a cold air intake, MAF sensor calibration unit, exhaust, short throw shifter, aftermarket black steel grille and TRD seat covers. The truck gets many looks and comments by fellow motorists and boy is it quick. The 4.0L 6 cylinder engine revs quickly and sounds amazing with a pronounced deep growl with the upgraded exhaust."

Best. Truck. Ever.

By on Monday, November 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best handeling truck on market"

Cons: "uh... can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"What defines a good vehicle? In utilitarian terms, the ability to get a lot of things a lot of a lot of place. Practically speaking, A reliable and ergonomic design and good build quality make for a good vehicle. Emotionally big character, being a blast to drive and sharp looks makes for a vehicle that is easy to like. By these standards the Tacoma is a very very good vehicle."

Best truck I ever owned

By on Tuesday, November 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable. Holding up under hot weather"

Cons: "Plastic on seat belt holder didn't hold up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I don't worry about it breaking down."

Still Love it 205k Later!

By on Sunday, November 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable!!"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great reliable truck. Will really work and no stopping it! Would buy another! Purchased new and crossed 205000 miles! Great truck!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

30000 miles

By on Friday, November 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "this has been a great vehicle coming from a jeep"

Cons: "many cup holders lol"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this truck has been awsome so far. it is a lease vehicle and i plan to buy it out soon and keep it"

Never a problem

By on Thursday, November 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, strong, handsome, desireable. Like me."

Cons: "4-WD is for 5mph only."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this 2007 Tacoma new. My first pickup. I prefer a softer ride, but honestly, I could probably change out the shocks etc - but a rougher ride is what I'd expect in a truck. It's not THAT rough. I've never had any trouble other than the dashboard light for tire inflation comes on every few months, and each time has proven to be a faulty alert switch."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

awesome truck

By on Saturday, November 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "work horse, reliable, powerful"

Cons: "interior room, faded headlamps"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been an awesome truck. Bought it new in 2005 and havent had any problems with it at all. I'm concerned that my next vehicle will not meet the expectations that my '05 Tacoma has given me. I'm a big Toyota fan. Looking at the Tundra now because I need the interior room."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nice truck but not happy with the noise

By on Wednesday, October 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
4/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I hear noise in the rear end, the dealer said its normal. I don't think It should have any noise. What do you think?"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 55 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Double Cab near Honolulu. See local deals