Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Editors' Page: 2014 Pickup Trucks
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2012 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1353 Ratings for the 2005 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 55 | Next

great truck

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all"

Cons: "non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"you get both a sports car, and a truck what else can you ask for"

great truck

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all"

Cons: "non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"you get both a sports car, and a truck what else can you ask for"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all"

Cons: "non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"you get both a sports car, and a truck what else can you ask for"

great truck

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all"

Cons: "non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"you get both a sports car, and a truck what else can you ask for"

very good

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun truck"

Cons: "yes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ok"

I'm a lifer

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Will keep this truck forever. Does everything I need it to and more."

Love this truck!

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "RELIABILITY, comfortable TRD/Sport seats"

Cons: "Vent fan squeeks and fan resister overheats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2006 Toyota Tacoma DC TRD 4x4 brand new in August 2006 and now have 140,000 miles and have had no major repairs. These trucks hold their value well. I have considered trading up for a new one but always decide against it because my truck still drives like it did when it was new. My wife and I liked the truck so well that we ended up buying another used tacoma for her and have had the same great experience with it as well."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very pleased

By on Saturday, March 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Said it all allready"

Cons: "Said it all allready"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Starts and runs the same today as the day I drove it off the lot. Mine is a single cab 4x4. Goes enough places being stock with slightly over sized BFG's AT tires. Great small wheel base for Mojave desert canyons and Los Angeles city streets & parking lots, with all points between. Good on gas, slightly underpowered. A little tight on leg room. Great value truck. I am in construction and I carry stuff. I use the truck for more than carrying girly girl "I am a cowboy" and "monster drink stickers" on the back windows shinning up a truck that never seen a dirt driveway. I am happy with the truck."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Good looking truck! 4 dr prerunner TRD

By on Saturday, March 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,775

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good looking truck."

Cons: "Gas mileage sucks."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Speedway blue color. Westin bull bar and nerf bars. Good tires. It has some scratches., nothing major."

Great small truck

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good n gas"

Cons: "The bench seat is poor and uncomfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The bench seat is poor and uncomfortable other than that its a great truck."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This truck is awesome. Nice ride, good power

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best ever"

Best mid-size truck and four wheel drive vehicle!

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Security in knowing the Tacoma will get you there."

Cons: "Better gas mileage would be nice."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Nothing breaks, can't get it stuck, quality outstanding, it just doesn't get better."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good truck. 200,000 miles and very few issues.

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good value."

Cons: "Access cab not usable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This has been a good truck overall. Good value considering the cost of most full size trucks now days. Have had some issues with the electrical though; heat went out, speedometer has gone out, etc. But it was and still is a very reliable vehicle with no major issues to report. The access cab is small and cannot really hold extra passengers."

GREATEST TRUCK EVER!!!

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE IT, SUPER AWESOME AND HOLDS IT'S VALUE AS A TRADE IN!"

Best small truck on the market.

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Looks, reliability"

Cons: "Ride, ergonomics, stereo, price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This was a good purchase. Toyota leads the small truck market. Quality of material is good. Drivetrain is adequate. Truck lacks options that many other vehicles have. For this day and age when electronics are cheap and plentiful the tacoma stereo is about 15 years behind. Adjusting the seat and steering wheel for tall people is impossible. Space between the pedals and under the steering wheel is small so big boots and long legs were not intended for this vehicle. Looks good and is dependable."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

great

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"even better"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I will forever continue buying Tacomas.

By on Monday, March 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very nice truck swicthed to Toyota"

Cons: "no issues yet. Had for over 2 years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very happy with my Toyota. I never thought I would leave my Dodge but my friend brought one and I enjoyed driving it so much that now I own one. This is a very nice truck. Very pleased.."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Excellent value for the money

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Runs great, handles well, high quality materials"

Cons: "Wish it has more internal cubbyholes for storage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased new in November 2013, my Tacoma Double Cab Short Bed (DCSB), PreRunner style, is more than I expected. With about 12,500 miles driven in 15-or-so months, it has given me zero problems. The 4 cyl. engine provides adequate power in hilly country and for towing less than 1500 lbs.; should mention that with the 4 cyl. engine I average 22 MPG in the summer and 20 MPG in the winter. Handles well in the snow despite being only rear wheel drive (am carrying a fiberglass shell year-round, so the added weight helps). Rear seating is comfortable. Being picky about my vehicles and a stickler on maintenance, I expect this truck to last a good long time. Definitely believe I am getting my money's worth and would recommend the Tacoma PreRunner if you want a solid-performing truck without the expense of a 6 cyl. engine or 4WD."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Hate to have to sell it!!!

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "100,000 miles and barely broken in."

Cons: "People over 90 have a tough getting in."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the truck new, right off the truck. Outstanding value. Avoided any accidents due to its outstanding handling. The color, Speedway Blue, is a real head turner, along with the TRD package. Going on 100,000 miles, and all I have replaced is the battery, tires, and oil. Still has the pick up and energy of a new truck. No problems!! Selling it because my boyfriend wants me to have a new car. My son got a similar Ford truck, but couldn't keep up with me on the road, and gets much better gas milage. Very, very comfortable on long trips."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By on Tuesday, March 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good gas mi."

Cons: "none for the money!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"absolutely the best little truck i have ever had. goes anywhere, good on gas, tows anything, looks good,great for two people. hopefully toyota keeps making this truck, cause i will by another one for sure."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Little Noisy buy great truck.

By on Monday, February 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Big truck for low price"

Cons: "Noisy at highway speeds, Cheaper interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is a great value. 4-door Pre-runner base. Interior feels a little cheap, but not bad for an entry level truck. Composite bed liner is a plus, as are tie down cleats in the back. Plenty of room for my 6'2" frame, even in the back. 4 Cylinder engine has plenty of power for around town, and highway driving. Gives the appearance of a full sized truck with great gas mileage. Tons of aftermarket parts. Only complaint is a little noisy at highway speeds, but turn on the radio and it is fine. In it's defense, I was coming from a Honda Accord."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

my second vehicle-worth keeping

By on Saturday, February 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "easy to drive and to park, great for hauling stuuf"

Cons: "taigate should come with a lock."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is my ride from home to work (and vice versa) and it never gave me a single major trouble. minor troubles were that squeaking noise it made when you turn on the ac on its first year and it has been fixed without me paying a single cent and the others, well, on my part for not cleaning it religiously(water spots, bird droppings) aside from that, a very reliable car. very spacious interior, has a back-up camera that my co-workers envy me whenever i park in a tight parking area, very cool air con, loves to take an extra weight (it feels that it runs smoothly if i put loads of stuff on the bed). Overall, ill keep this as long as i live."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

great little truck

By on Wednesday, February 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good mpg for a truck"

Cons: "front seats could be more comfy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this truck for 2 years and am very happy with its performance. It gets 25mpg in summer around town with its 4cyl engine. Hauls and tows whatever I need and runs like a clock. My dogs ride in the cab with the seats down in back and friends ride easily with the seats up."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

None better.

By on Wednesday, February 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have the TX Pro version Double Cab Short Bed. I pull a small boat and RV regularly and the truck does not miss a beat. Could be better on gas but not bad at all."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I wish that every vehicle was as Great !

By on Tuesday, February 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "highest quality, total reliability, fun to drive"

Cons: "seat could be more comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My only complaint might be that I should have upgraded the interior, but at the basic model 4x4 I should not expect luxury. It is without a doubt the best vehicle I have ever owned. Totally reliable, a bullet proof engine, decent fuel milage, and a do anything, go anywhere attitude has never let me down. I am going to give mine up only because I plan on moving overseas, and the cost of shipment would be prohibitive for me."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 55 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Double Cab near Honolulu. See local deals