Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2012 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1384 Ratings for the 2005 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 277 | Next

Toyota does one thing, and does it well

By on Saturday, August 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Toyota is very good at making boring cars & trucks. The 2wd Tacoma Access Cab has a little chrome on grille & bumper, but is not "flashy". It has a well laid-out interior and positive "clicks" on all buttons & switches. It has all the comfort & convenience features you want (pwr locks, windows, A/C). Although I bought the first year of the current body style (2005), there have been no mechanical / electrical / reliability problems. The vehicle has started & moved every time I have asked it to."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Clunky transmission, and horrible gas mileage

By on Friday, August 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Size quality"

Cons: "clunky thirsty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I love the size of the Tacoma and the quality. But for the size I should be doing a lot better on gas. This truck sucks gas more than a full size Chevy or Ford. The six speed manual is just clunky and not fun to drive. Before this truck I had a Mazda that was 20 years old and it was still a smooth shifting pleasure to drive. This Tacoma is just terrible. The first gear is also way to high of a ratio. It should be more of a granny for heavy loads and starting on steep hills offroad. Maybe I should have gotten the automatic. Overall, I regret buying this truck."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Solid truck

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Holds its value"

Cons: "Very expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"While the previous owner put 98000 hard miles on the truck, there is only a couple of bearings that need replacing and some dents in the body work. With all the hard miles put on it, everything still works fantastic, and the truck is so solid. When you drive it it feels like you could drive off the edge of the earth and it would pull you back up. Great truck."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Super dependable

By on Tuesday, July 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Economical, reliable, smooth riding"

Cons: "Not much cab room, sits low to the ground"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle has never been a problem to maintain. It was purchased with an extended warranty that never had to be used. The tires have always wore even and it currently just had its third new set put on. Great gas mileage (29 hwy, 26 city). Still has it's original brakes."

best compact truck ever.

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,231

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "legit truck"

Cons: "nothing."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i hope this truck lives to see the day when my kids can drive it! its that awesome of a truck. love my tacoma"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 277 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Double Cab near Honolulu. See local deals