Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2004 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1536 Ratings for the 1995 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 154 | Next

Excellent Truck!

By on Friday, May 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 227,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Worth the extra you pay for a Toyota"

Cons: "Cost a few thousand more than a Nissan"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Beside changing the oil, I only had to fix the air conditioning for $800 for the last 14 years. Awesome Truck."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

most reliable truck and motor out there

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "over all a great truck and good in the woods"

Cons: "small cab space not a lot of leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"never had to fix any thing on this truck the frame on it before i had it replaced was still solid. but thanks to the loyalty of toyota they replaced it any way. i also have my truck lifted 6in with 35in tires and i beat this thing and it still runs and drives better then any other car truck ex. great truck all the way around and would recommend to anyone interested. the motor in my truck is the 2.7 4 cylinder which is also the most reliable motor toyota has ever made in my opinion"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very reliable and economic; very few repairs in 4Y

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,638

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this truck; it has served me well. Very reliable, with hardly any problems. Just routine maintenance."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Never any trouble; I keep up maintainance.

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,444

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Great truck requires low maintenance; handy"

Cons: "Seats just 2 people."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The only reason I am looking at a change is that I rarely use bed of truck for moving/hauling any more. I want to 'ride' more than 1 person - I want more comfort, too."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

15 years of reliability!!

By on Sunday, April 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 202,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Durable, reliable, great looking, runs forever"

Cons: "4cyl engine lacks power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this 1997 Tacoma used in 2000 with 34k miles on it. Other than regular maintenance (oil changes, radiator and transmission flushes, tires, brake pads, spark plugs and wires) I have not had any major issues with this truck. Haven't had a car payment since 2005 and have not had to sink much money into keeping this truck running. Still running the original water pump, fuel pump, alternator and even the rear brakes! These vehicles are built to last and if you take care of them they will give you years and years of reliability. Never left me stranded!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

always reliable, dependable

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Always a feeling of comfort knowing the reliability of a Toyota truck that you can depend on."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best 4-cyl Truck On The Market!

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, never fails, does any job, lasts"

Cons: "Acceleration from 0 mph is slow - it's a 4-cyl"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has lasted through so much with 174,000 miles and going. I stay updated with my oil changes every 3,000 miles and air filter cleanings every 15,000 miles and it still runs amazingly! Starts up every time. I've towed a lot of weight for far distances with this small little truck. My first towing adventure was with an 18' boat for 200 miles. This thing handled itself flawlessly at the boat ramp dumping and hauling the boat right out of the water with surprising ease. When I moved up to Northern California I used to tow a 12' box trailer filled to the brim along with a bed load full of belongings. It trudged up the California Grapevine (a trucker's nightmare grade) never falling below 35 mph. All of the power niceties still function perfectly inside. AC, heat, power windows, power door locks, radio, tape cassette, CD player, and stereos are still going strong! Awesome little truck!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I ever bought

By on Friday, April 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great everything"

Cons: "They get older but don't wear out :)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best Truck I ever bought next to my other Tacoma Truck I bought just like it"

You'd have to own one to know

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliabilty and versatilty"

Cons: "A 4.7 V8 and it's the greatest vehicle on earth"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hands down the absolute greatest vehicle I have ever owned, I bought it at 70,000 miles and have put another 100,000 miles since that time. 1 unscheduled battery change is my only surprise expense. Its as solid and trustworthy as the day it was manufactured...Bullet proof. It just fits all my needs. If your looking to get one, my only tidbits would be that the back seat is tight for fullsize adults...OK for short trips, but not the long haul. Also, if you plan on pulling a trailer of more than 3000lbs (though the receiver is rated at 5000lbs), the 3.4 V6 is working hard on other than straight roads. Lastly, more good news...the advertised combined MPG is 18. I drive almost a perfect combination of City and Highway and average 19.7 MPG, 22 MPG on Highway only...with 169,000 miles on it I might add. Shop smart and you'll be as pleased as me."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

You'd have to own one to know

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliabilty and versatilty"

Cons: "A 4.7 V8 and it's the greatest vehicle on earth"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hands down the absolute greatest vehicle I have ever owned, I bought it at 70,000 miles and have put another 100,000 miles since that time. 1 unscheduled battery change is my only surprise expense. Its as solid and trustworthy as the day it was manufactured...Bullet proof. It just fits all my needs. If your looking to get one, my only tidbits would be that the back seat is tight for fullsize adults...OK for short trips, but not the long haul. Also, if you plan on pulling a trailer of more than 3000lbs (though the receiver is rated at 5000lbs), the 3.4 V6 is working hard on other than straight roads. Lastly, more good news...the advertised combined MPG is 18. I drive almost a perfect combination of City and Highway and average 19.7 MPG, 22 MPG on Highway only...with 169,000 miles on it I might add. Shop smart and you'll be as pleased as me."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 154 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Double Cab near Honolulu. See local deals