Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Editors' Page: 2014 Pickup Trucks
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2004 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1514 Ratings for the 1995 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 152 | Next

Great second hand car

By on Thursday, February 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great little truck, fun to drive"

Cons: "Won't seat 5 large adults comfortably, kids' OK"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hardly used 4x4, engine & transmission strong, power steering, windows and brakes, utility tool box included, new tires and regular oil and filter changes, AM/FM/CD player, A/C and heater works good"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

bougth this truck used and loving it

By on Sunday, February 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"minor cosmetic everything work all highway miles need upgrade to four wheel drive v8"

Very dependable utility pickup

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Economical to own"

Cons: "Lousy turning radius!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Only one significant repair during twelve years I have owned it. Right rear wheel seal break and leaking axle oil (grease) necessitated seal replacement and brake repair . . Approx $800. Two items of minor concern. I see no need for locking door over gas filler cap AND it takes about 40 acres to turn. Will not turn sharply enough for some tight parking lots"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This has been reliable, useful, enjoyable to drive

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very useful for hauling and dealing with snow"

Cons: "Originally needed alignment (uneven tire wear)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"4x4 gets you through tough snow conditions with ease. Extra cab handy for things or people you wish to carry inside. V-6 engine gives plenty of power when needed but pretty decent mpg: 18 to 22 usually. Manual transmission gives full control. Being a half ton pickup it is very handy at hauling moderate amounts of a variety of things that can be held securely using the tie down fasteners. Controls in the cab are easy to understand and use: radio, cd player, heater, air conditioner, fan , cruise control, power windows buttons, windshield wipers with variable speed. The red paint has stayed in excellent shape."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Dependable

By on Friday, January 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 203,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliability, Great Value!"

Cons: "body trim gaskets come loose on occasion"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Excellent Toyota model Tacoma 4x4 2002! With regular oil changes, tire rotations and general fluid checks my Tacoma is the most dependable vehicle. Super vehicle for utility and snow travels. Just the best."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Top 10 all time

By on Friday, January 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "performace,reliability and economical."

Cons: "zip"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Owner satisfaction ratings will be very biased when rating this truck. At worst it makes my top ten list of all time... Rating it #1, well of small to midsize(if there could be?)pickups seems over the top. This pick up will always be there and preform better than expectations.A good looking xtra-cab thats functional..out of the box."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Dependable vehicle

By on Friday, January 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, dependable, economical"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Nice truck capable of pulling much more than I thought for a 4 cylinder. Everything is quality made and convenient to use. Handles good for a 4x4 and easy to park."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

dependability is beyond measure!

By on Friday, January 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "sturdy construction and dependable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"does everything I need to do, run about town shopping, hauls all I need, pulls my boat or camper true and stable. with minor upkeep, it hasn't given me any cause to worry."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

awesome truck. smooth ride.

By on Thursday, January 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "doesn't get the best gas mileage I've seen."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fantastic truck. I have owned my 99 Tacoma Sr5 since 2002. I have not had any problems with it, only regular maintenance type service. It has only 105,000 miles on it. It is my baby. I get a lot of people tell me how nice it is. They ask if it's my nd or husbands truck. Omg...as if. I smile and say it's mine...I just know how to take care of a vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good little truck

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Keeps it's value, Very reliable, light"

Cons: "road noise, plastic interior, bench seat... meh!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great value. 10 years later the KBB trade in value is still half of what I bought it for. Good ride for a small truck. A little road noise. So... I rolled this truck on it's side onto a snow bank. No seriously... I put this thing perfectly on it's side. When the wrecker pulled it back on it's wheels after sitting there for 3 hours the truck started right up and drove off. Yes there was body damage, but the mechanics were solid. after only 112000 miles, besides regular maintenance, the only thing I ever replaced was the water pump."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 152 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Double Cab near Honolulu. See local deals