Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2004 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1528 Ratings for the 1995 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 153 | Next

Never should have put a 4-cylinder in this truck

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable beyond belief, will likely run forever"

Cons: "4-cynlinder, odd placement of components"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My biggest complaint about this truck is the four cylinder engine. This is not a large truck, but four cylinders is not large enough for the truck. The exceleration leaves much to be desired; a problem I think could be fixed with a six cylinder engine. Maintance can be difficult due to odd placement of several components, including: oil filter, O-2 sensors and belts. Reliable beyond belief. I bought it used in 2008 with 76,000 miles. Several cross country trips and 59,000 miles later, she still runs like new"

Dependable Everywhere You Go

By on Friday, July 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good for taking the kids."

Cons: "Not for 'big truck' utility."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this quad cab used with 70K, a few dents, and the power door locks not working. I've got 130K on it with only the usual factory recommended maint. and repairs. Factory electric controls for windows died at 40k,brake cylinders died (rusted) at 90K, ABS died at 110K. Factory extras included bedliner, locking rear differential, tow package, alloy wheels, and tinted windows. Pros: Not quite 4WD but locking diff will get you up and through 80% of the gritty stuff but not snow-ice or sand. Tough and overbuilt so you can't really overload it. I've carried 50+ cinder blocks, 30+ bags of wood mulch, 20 pcs of 4 x 6 x 8 lumber, etc with no ill effects. The quad cab is great if you have kids or passengers (rear seat) that are under 5'5. Front controls and seating space is good for up to a 6' - 6'2 driver. Cons: Can't see clock on dash due to steering wheel; cup holders interfere with dash and shift. Once your passengers hit the over 5'5" height, the rear seat is not a good option for rides longer than 45 minutes. The bed is too short if you have to carry plumbing, electrical, or carpentry items that are full length even if you drop the tailgate and use the bed extender."

Excellent Truck, Very Reliable and easy to drive!!

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very Reliable, Easy to drive, also fun to drive."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle. I bought new and have owned 11 years with no problems. A/C still blows 47 degrees. Only basic maintenance has been needed such as tires and oil changes."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Bought it used. Runs like new.

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,013

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great in the snow and great drive"

Cons: "None..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is probably the last vehicle I'll ever buy. It's an 04 and the value has gone up since I bought it last year. I have an old Caddie weekend cruiser that I now seldom take out. The truck is such a pleasure to drive."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

best truck I've ever owned

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 409,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When I bought this truck in July 2003 it had 6 miles on it, today it has 409000 original mil. I'm buying another one soon"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Outstanding

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: larger truck

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new, sold just after 10 years passed for larger truck. Only thing went was battery after 8 years. Long time average was 22.5 MPG."

Getting too old to drive so must sell before Augus

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very dependable and great second car."

Cons: "Only holds two people and a small dog."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is a worker. I bought it used (barely) from a private owner. It's been a great little car. Very dependable. Never did have to do much to it except buy tires, change oil and regular maintenance. The reason I am selling is I'm going to be 85 soon and I don't drive it that much. It has been kept in a garage the whole time I've owned it about 12 years. It has low milege for its age. It has a few dings but never been in an accident. Just general wear and tear. The towing package was on it when I bought it as was the cab."

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

One of the best vehicles I have owned.

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good price, good service, good milage."

Cons: "nothing negative."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great pickup. A little small for my 6'4" frame but I manage. Have driven the vehicle to So. Cal and back several times towing a 16' tool trailer and it does well. I get about 22 highway miles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best truck ever owned, over 200,000 miles

By on Saturday, June 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 201,360

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "They dont break"

Cons: "Whish I had got the Xtra cab"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Would jump in this truck on a moments notice and drive across country with no worry's. These trucks don't get resold just passed on to family members..so reliable !!!"

The best made vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, June 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid vehicle, dependable, great looking"

Cons: "less than great MPG's. Short people only!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The best made vehicle I have ever owned. At the time I purchased my Tacoma, I had little money and few options. I bought this truck off the lot as a late 2001 in the early 2002 season for $16,000. It had to serve me for the long haul and I knew this would most likely be the best bet. I have owned Toyota vehicles for many years because of their endurance and my Tacoma was no different. It is now going on thirteen years and it is still going strong."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 153 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Double Cab near Honolulu. See local deals