Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2003 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1559 Ratings for the 1995 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 63 | Next

Best truck I have ever owned

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good off-road, reliable, and need I say more."

Cons: "Gas mileage is not as good as you would think."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck has never let me down"

Most trouble-free vehicle I've ever owned

By on Tuesday, November 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,257

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great roadability and feels very safe"

Cons: "Poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck handles as well as it did when I drove it out of the dealership and it still doesn't leak any oil. I had one recall on the front suspension and never noticed any problems before or after."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

93K miles in 14 years. Only one problem.

By on Saturday, November 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had to replace timing belt at 45K miles as truck was losing power; otherwise routine maintenance. Done a lot of hauling for garden with bed extender. Truck still going strong."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

all in all a good pick up

By on Wednesday, October 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable pick up. I bought this new and the only mechanical trouble i have had is the starter motor had to be replaced about 90 k miles. Even as old as it is I can get 28/29 mpg on the highway. My model has a bench seat which can get uncomfortable on long trips. I have changed the oil and filter every 7k miles I believe that is why the engine is in good shape. The AC still works like new. All in all it has been a good pick up for me."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good reliable truck

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Well built"

Cons: "Rough ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Well built, excellent quality vehicle"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck, beat it up and it keeps on going!

By on Friday, October 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great truck, beat it up and it keeps on going! No complaints about this truck at all. If mine dies tomorrow, I will be at the Tacoma dealer the next day for another one."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best truck I ever owned.

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought it new 2003. Have done nothing but put gas, oil, tires, wiper blades. I think I replaced a brake light bulb and maybe a side marker light bulb. Oh and exactly at 100,000 miles the check engine light came on saying I need to change my 02 Sensor. I think its just something Toyota programed in. No biggy I bought one for around $150 and put it in myself. I've had it 11 years still get compliments on it all the time, probably because of the lift kit, oversized tires, chrome grill guard, wind shield visor, hood scoop, side steps, etc... what? It takes care of me, I take care of it."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Nice looking, driving and dependable, but 2WD.

By on Saturday, October 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Attractive, dependable, drives very well."

Cons: "Rusty center rear bumper and wheel rim blisters."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Always garaged, and although it has a trailer hitch, it has never been heavily used. Only cosmetic problems are the standard Tacoma rusty center rear bumper and some blisters on the wheel rims. I would keep it until it dies, but I live in the country and need 4WD in winter."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love this truck

By on Wednesday, October 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 310,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this truck in 2000 from the dealership with only 6 miles on the odometer. Now it has 310,000 miles and it still runs great. Never had any major mechanical failures. Replaced the water pump twice. Unfortunately the paint is starting to fade from sunlight. When it rains, water finds its way into the passenger floorboard. I am not the best at changing the oil as prescribed, but the oil always looks clean - this truck does not burn oil. I am thinking of trading my old friend in on a new Tacoma but it breaks my heart to think about it. In 40 years of car ownership this has been the best vehicle I have ever owned."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Love this truck!

By on Wednesday, October 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Inexpensive, excellent gas mileage"

Cons: "N/A"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved this truck since I drove it off the dealers lot back in 2003. Only regular maintenance required, with just minor things needing tweaked here and there. It's good on gas, but has enough power to get on down the road. I plan to keep this truck until it starts looking bad. Most women like to drive cars, this girl loves her truck!"

My last one and next one was and will be a Tacoma.

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "keeps chuging along and sips gas."

Cons: "no power, but who needs it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My last one and my next one was and will be a Tacoma."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Truck, great gass mileage, very reliable

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas, realiability"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck is reliable as heck, work horse, drives smooth and looks great! I'm getting the latest model."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best money I've ever spent, same gas mileage.

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy to handle, 20 mpg on a 4wd, 300,000+ miles!"

Cons: "Hard to get into xtra-cab, poor turning radius"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When it was time to buy a new vehicle, and buying a truck was the practical choice for my needs, I did my research and talked to several Tacoma owners. ALL said they loved their trucks, and turned over 200,000 miles before needing major repairs. I am happy to say that 15 years and >300,000 miles later, this truck only now needs its first major repairs. Yet it looks great, still gets 20 mph hwy mileage, starts right up, accelerates fast and easy,and rides comfortably. It's the best money I've ever spent. I'm in the market for a new vehicle, and there's no question about it- Toyota again, and I'm looking at the Tacoma's alter ego... the 4Runner!"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Dependable little truck

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This is a 2001 Toyota Tacoma, no body damage, no rust, dependable truck."

THIS LITTLE TRUCK IS AWESOME , GOOD ON GAS 25-29

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "TRUCK IS WORTH WHAT I PAID NEARLY THREE YEARS AGO"

Cons: "BASIC MODEL NO CRUISE, NO TILT, NO 4WHEEL DR"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"BOUGHT THIS TRUCK FROM ORG OWNER IT HAD 15,480 MILES ON IT& IT WAS ALMOST 10 YR OLD .FOR BASICLLY SITING FOR ALL THOSE YEARS TIRES WERE DRY ROTTED ,WATER PUMP NEEDED TO BE CHANGED BECAUSE LACK OF USE , I STARTED TO DRIVE DAILY SEALS WERE DRIED OUT ,AND STARTED TO LEAK COOLANT.DRAINDED AND FLUSHED ALL LIQUIDS.OIL ,COOLANT ,DIFF. OIL. BRAKE , STEERING.PUT ON NEW MICHILINS,NEW PLUGS ,ALL FILTERS,AND STARTED TO DRIVE THE HECK OUT OF HER,CHICAGO TWICE FLORIDA 3 TIMES CALIFORNIA ONCE, SHE"S GOT 67,000MILES HAS NEVER LET ME DOWN ONCE NEVER EVEN STUDDER ,SKIPPED ABEAT,I HAVE TOYOTA DO ALL WORK AND ANY MAINTENECE,THEY TOLD ME, KEEP UP MAINTENECE SHE WILL GO 300,000 PLUS. VERY HAPPY. ITS LIKE GETTING AROUND FOR FREE (VERY INEXPENSIVE TO OWN &OPERATE )"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

toyota is the best

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,120

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "it is a toyota"

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the second one I have owned, both over 10 years. Never a problem..they just keep running."

Typical Toyota - just runs and runs and runs!

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Close to perfect all around vehicle!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best truck ever!

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable,decent gas mileage,solid construction."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it from my friend in 1997-best truck I have driven and still drive.Very reliable and safe.No major issues through the years.Replaced radiator,water pump and rotors.Just have routine oil changes and maintenance done."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Met all expectations

By on Sunday, August 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Perfect for my needs at the time and still meets"

Cons: "Not recommended for heavy cargo hauling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still meets most expectations, but needs have changed. Need more room and not all family members can drive a manual transmission. Otherwise still meets all needs. Excellent gas mileage and better than anything new we have looked at. Cost to own has been the best of any vehicle. We live in the mountains and the only downside ever experienced is the inability to carry much weight uphill. One safety caution with the big, oversize tires is the winter snows. While it is four wheel drive and handles snow well, the need to brake in the snow is a potential problem. It slides easily and further than you would normally expect."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Is It Good Enough to Keep?

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. $20,000 was affordable."

Cons: "Likes to be towed. No room for carpoolers."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Bought my 2000 Certified Pre-owned PreRunner in 2001 with 17K miles on it. Although certified, the driver side visor was broken--something not noticed for several weeks. The back end squeals sometimes. Never know when that will kick in. It goes through batteries. None last for 3 years. First memorable breakdown/tow-in was when spark plugs deteriorated--dealer failed to tighten them. The catalytic converter went bad (bolt fell out?) The Prerunner has dual cats--more expensive to replace. Replaced starter in 2009. Valve work done in 2012 followed by cracked radiator replacement. Water pump relaced along with timing belt. Replaced master cylinder 2014. Lots of brake jobs. I do highway driving mostly, get it serviced on time, expected fewer breakdowns I guess. So far it is better than my two Celicas were. Four strangers have asked to buy it from me. I'd sell it if I knew what to buy instead."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Outstanding truck!

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 357,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Tacoma has 358,000 miles on the original motor and transmission. I have done standard repairs and preventive maintenance. The alternator is the only part that failed. Most of these miles are mail route miles on rough dirt roads as well. This is one tough truck!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I have ever owned

By on Friday, August 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great looks, Good gas mileage and very reliable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would have to rate this truck as the best Vehicle i have ever owned. I have been driving over 35 years and have had several vehicles but none of the Vehicle had the reliability as the Toyota Tacoma Pre-runner. Almost zero problems and I have almost 300,000 mile on the truck."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Utility Vehicle

By on Saturday, August 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Extremely reliable and capable work vehicle."

Cons: "None to report."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the '96 Tacoma in 2001 to use for yard work and it has been the best vehicle investment ever. It sips fuel and doesn't complain on steep grades or with heavy loads. I don't use it much but when I do, it carries a hefty load - except for the Christmas Tree. I have only driven it a few thousand miles in all these years and the one thing that fails is the battery. I have installed a few over the years - they don't last much more than four years when the vehicle is not driven much but it is a second car so, that's the cost of sitting idle. The one thing this truck is not good at is snow covered hills. As a result, mine sits all winter and that is not great for the battery. I was surprised that it was recalled for a rust-through problem that had been an issue in some areas. Since the truck isn't driven in snow and salt, all that was detected was a bit of surface rust. Toyota brushed the surface, coated it in protective undercoating and said it was good as new. Rusted frames were bought back above Blue Book by Toyota. Surprising to have a recall on such an old vehicle. I was given a new loaner car while Toyota was inspecting and coating my truck and found the loaner sedan had the same feel as my truck. The truck drives just like the car! I have owned new Toyota cars in my lifetime and consider them to be extremely reliable. None as old as my truck but that old-timer is very reliable. These days, a manual shift doesn't appeal to me and the suspension is a bit bouncy in its old age. So is my body's suspension. Looking into the future, my 4WD SUV may be traded for a 4WD Tacoma pickup with some creature comforts and an automatic transmission. In summary, the truck is reliable, capable and down right durable. It's a 10."

Fun reliable truck,

By on Sunday, July 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable, excellent mileage for a truck,"

Cons: "not enough power to haul , cab small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For a small truck this vehicle does it all. It handles well off road, got great gas mileage on the highway, was great for hauling small toys, moving friends, and doing yard improvements. In 7 years of ownership we only put regular maintenance and a few minor body repairs ( the lights seemed to pop out.) But even these repairs we reasonably prices , especially compared to other foreign made cars."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best light truck ever made

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 261,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, functional, off-road readiness"

Cons: "they stopped making these in 2004 ... what?! Why?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This era - 1998 through 2004 - marks the pinnacle of Toyota's reign as dominant small truck manufacturer. I am a field biologist. I live in my truck some 100+ days a year. That's right: I live in my truck. I drive >15000 miles a year on dirt roads, often in 4x4. This truck is as tough as you can get in the US. Bar none. I've watched coworkers with some of these vehicles reach >>300000 miles. A good friend of mine got almost 450000 out of his. I'm not kidding. The first 190000 miles of hard livin' in this rig were completely maintenance free, even with my daunting "commute". My starter was finally changed at 220000. My clutch at 225000. My tie rods and rack/pinion at 230000. My radiator at 250000. And now a valve job is called for at 260000. But the engine burns no oil and has never overheated, even though I drive in 4-Low for dozens of miles a day in desert heat that routinely exceeds 110F. No brainer: fix the truck and get another 100000 miles out of this engine. An unbelievable value, really. The rig has paid for itself as a work vehicle many, many, many times over."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 63 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Double Cab near Honolulu. See local deals