Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2003 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1532 Ratings for the 1995 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 307 | Next

Very reliable and practical, fun to drive

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, always good to go"

Cons: "V6 doesn't get great MPG's"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this truck 10 years ago when it was new. Over the years I've had to replace the battery, tires, shocks and the odd light. With the V6 engine it has great power, but doesn't get great gas mileage. I average 21 mpg on the highway and 17 mpg around town. The 4wd is awesome and it does very well off road. The ride on the highway isn't bad, but it's a truck and that's to be expected. I've never had any mechanical problems with my truck. It starts even when it's -30 F outside. The dealership I purchased it from originally always sends me offers to trade it in, but honestly they can't beat the value this truck gives me. I still like driving it 10 years later. I recommend it, not only because it's been so reliable, but also because it's held it's value so well over the years. It's was well worth the money."

The best truck I ever had.

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 244,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependability"

Cons: "No clothes hanger."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the Eveready of pickup trucks. Very dependable and held its value pretty strongly as compared to domestic trucks of the same category. Toyota's are built strong and last long."

Best pick-up I've ever owned!

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, quality, resale."

Cons: "Duh...uh, let's see....uh.....well, nothing!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's hard to believe but for the 2 yrs after I purchased this vehicle new (2004), I could have sold it for more than I paid!! The resale now, for this 10 yr old truck, is still phenomenal. My guess is that the top quality and reliability of Toyota trucks in general is the main reason for maintaining it's value. Other than a major tune-up at 90k, I've done absolutely nothing to maintain this truck. As far as wear/tear items, I've replaced the battery twice, had the front brakes done twice. OEM tires (forgot the brand) went 58k, my replacement set (Yokohama Geolander's) are at 58k and will probably go another 5-10k. (Current mileage is 116k). Since I've retired, this truck is no longer my daily driver and I expect it'll go another 100k! I might go before it does!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Outstanding small truck

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Strong, well buit reliable vhehicle."

Cons: "A bit wind resistance due to it;s hight."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this truck new. Loved it ever since."

Never should have put a 4-cylinder in this truck

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable beyond belief, will likely run forever"

Cons: "4-cynlinder, odd placement of components"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My biggest complaint about this truck is the four cylinder engine. This is not a large truck, but four cylinders is not large enough for the truck. The exceleration leaves much to be desired; a problem I think could be fixed with a six cylinder engine. Maintance can be difficult due to odd placement of several components, including: oil filter, O-2 sensors and belts. Reliable beyond belief. I bought it used in 2008 with 76,000 miles. Several cross country trips and 59,000 miles later, she still runs like new"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 307 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Double Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details