Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2002 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1593 Ratings for the 1995 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 319 | Next

Great vehicle lost to defective frame

By on Monday, June 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "good looking, well built (xcept frame), fun"

Cons: "defective frame totaled it out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

Does this truck look like it should be going to the crusher???

"This '98 is a gem of a truck. The big 4cyl gives suprising pep and it's fun to drive. Bought this off my parents about a year ago, with 70xxx original miles and in mint condition! After doing a 2" lift, the frame started to crack. Long story short, The 1995-2004 series manufactured in CA have defective frames. My parents ignored the notices sent in the mail as "warranty extentions" thinking they were trying to sell them something instead of realizing it was a recall. Now Toyota is in the process of making an offer to buy it back, and then they are gonna crush it! I doubt I'm gonna be able to afford a newer one, and I don't like the newer styles as much. So be sure to check your bottoms--ours was always dealer serviced and always passed local safety inspections, despite our direct inquiry about the rust on the frame. I can't belive this truck flew under the radar for 14 years. The only good thing is we found out about it before anyone got hurt."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Does this truck look like it should be going to the crusher???

207,000 and still going strong.!

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "style, drivability, just a fun, pretty truck."

Cons: "seats could be a bit more plush, dash rattles."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this truck used with 202,000 on it, had it painted (had some minor scratches and door dents) new tires and tinted the glass, It has never given me a minute of trouble in any way...the truck runs great, drives great, and looks great..still a head turner on and off the road! :)"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Economical and Dependable!

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,656

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable, economical, so many uses,"

Cons: ""Dash rattle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My experience is that it is a bread and butter truck. Very dependable and useful. It will destroys its competition. Understandably it holds its value well. Toyota can not be beat in the light truck market because its built a very dependable vehicle. I wouldn't buy another brand. Unfortunately, I have to sell this vehicle due to financial reasons but thankfully it is very easy to sell because so many people love this truck including myself. The only downside is the "dash rattle". I haven't been able to pinpoint this annoying sound. The drive-train and engine are superb. Its easy to maintain. All the parts on this truck are inexpensive. Love this truck! Thanks Toyota!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Kept on going no problems

By on Saturday, November 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best vehicle I ever owner in the 45 years I have b"

Cons: "not really any cons, I purchased a basic truck and"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned vehicle since new, only things I had to replace are the tyres and normal maintance. Great truck for the price"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great small truck! Best quality, average economy.

By on Tuesday, October 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, great reliability, comfortable interi"

Cons: "poor mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Another Toyota superstar. Great reliability and smooth ride. Enjoyable to drive. I wish it got better mpg, but it is the prerunner package with raised suspension and large tires. I would not hesitate to recommend this truck to anyone."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 319 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Double Cab near Honolulu. See local deals