Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2002 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1572 Ratings for the 1995 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

I love my truck

By on Saturday, March 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, looks good good gas mileage reliable"

Cons: "small cab cant hold car seat and spouse"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My truck is a regular cab PreRunner 2wd. Light enough to not get stuck in the sugar sand in Florida. I take it everywhere. Pulls the Carolina skiff like a champ. Excellent gas mileage. Comfortable. Fun. Cute. Perfect truck until you need room for a car seat and spouse :)"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Workhorse

By on Monday, March 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 238,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is insanely reliable. I bought mine on 2010 woth 175K and have it up to 240K now. Besides the usual oil and brakes, all I've done to it is an O2 sensor and valve cover gasket. It ain't fancy, it just gets the job done every day without fail."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've ever owned!

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything I mentioned in my review!"

Cons: "Not 4WD model, CA emissions when I don't need it.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this 2002 as a lease trade-in from Tempe, AZ. It was 5 months old with 9,080 miles and in gorgeous condition. It has CA emissions (the only thing I wish it didn't have). I also wish it were 4WD because when I bought it I didnt know I was moving to NW Montana. No one has a 2WD Pre-Runner up here, they are all 4WD, lol. All the same, I've only gotten stuck once in 9 winters. A feature Blue Book doesn't let you select is the locking rear differential, or bug/rock shield...why not? I think that would definitely add value. I love the truck because in the 12 years I have owned it I have had ZERO problems, only routine maintenance. Even at this age, and since I use an outstanding sealant product called Klasse (recommended by a Toyota parts man in CA), the paint is gorgeous except for a few rock knicks (we get winters here!). I keep beefy tires on it to compensate for the 2WD (16" BFG A/T T/A KO 8ply triple-sidewall) and I've never had a flat tire despite all my travels over rough trails. It has been comfortable, reliable, no mechanical problems, most people can't believe its a 2002, my Toyota mechanic says its "excellent" both body and mechanically, I've added a Lund bug(rock)shield sprayed with Onyx, a Westin wrap-around brushguard sprayed with Onyx, had the running boards sprayed with Line-X, the entire bed/tailgate and 1" over the rails was sprayed with Vortex right after I bought it and still no sign of deterioration. No rust. Structurally sound and connections tight. It still gets BETTER than the gas mileage stated when new, even though its loaded down with a 200lb camper shell, a huge dog crate with heavy mat, a 90lb dog and a few hundred pounds of supplies. I've gotten 24mpg on highway trips, loaded like that, instead of 18 when new. I usually get 16-18 around town, instead of 15 when new. My last truck was black, so I didn't want a white truck (the glare hurts my eyes), but it has grown on me. It always looks clean, stays cool in our very hot summer and fall, and with the Klasse protecting it, the paint finish is like glass (plus it lasts 6-8 months, unlike waxing). I've Line-X'd everything important to protect, my brushguard has saved me twice (a big doe and Chevy Tahoe barely tweaked it) so I'm really a happy camper. Like I said, I just wish it was 4WD and didnt have CA emissions, I love the body style, and they are right...the clock is blocked by the right side of the steering wheel but who cares when everything else is AWESOME?!! I can only speak for my experience, but I do believe "Toyotas run forever". I believe in buying USA all the way, but not in this case. You have to get what suits your needs, and having the low maintenance and reliability has meant everything to me. The thought of trading in this truck for a new 4WD Toyota Tacoma makes me sick because I couldn't afford to re-do all the customization I've done to this one! Anyway, 10/10 is my rating after 12 years. Oh, and the reason it has 200,000 miles is because I have done lots of road trips, and have commuted 50+ miles per day for the past 9 years, so its almost all highway miles. I have found that the key to longevity is keeping up on the oil changes, and following Toyota's routine maintenance guidelines. Ok, I could go on longer but...I think you get the picture! Thanks for reading this... :)"

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

toughest most reliable truck on earth

By on Sunday, February 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "tough fun reliable strong 4wd"

Cons: "rough ride but its a rough truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this truck is very tough reliable and ive taken it through anything about 6 of my friends bought the same truck within a 1 year period of me buying mine"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great truck

By on Tuesday, January 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good everything"

Cons: "rough ride / bouncy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great truck 265K miles. still going. rough ride sometimes. good in rain. reliable 2.7 litre four cylinder."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best truck I've Owen ever

By on Thursday, January 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love to drive"

Cons: "Weak suspension"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great truck weak suspension"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck ever made!

By on Monday, January 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependable,style,affordable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this truck new in 2001,it has 108000 miles on it now and it has not had any problems ,no brake downs,it's been perfect,"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

100% in sound mechanical cond. Every thing works.

By on Friday, January 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 238,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable and mechnically very sound"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Well maintained by one owner. Every thing works 100%. See it to believe it."

Love my truck!

By on Monday, January 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, decent gas mileage"

Cons: "not much room for kids"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this truck used 8 years ago and wouldn't trade it for anything! Had the 85,000 mile service (timing belt, spark plugs, etc.) done in the spring by a Toyota dealership. My truck does a great job in the snow and has moved my stuff more times than I can count. It also holds my four wheeler in the bed like a champ, even with my slimline toolbox. I would only get rid of my truck if I had to, and if I could only keep one of my 3 vehicles, it would be this truck hands down!"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

great truck, reliable, good appearance, great serv

By on Friday, January 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Truck has been excellent, value has stayed high and reliability is excellent. Very little maintenance required. Only issue is electronics. Check engine light has been on for years and a new computer brain for $1500.0 is required, so it will stay on. This has not affected the performance but is an annoyance."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

nice small truck, reliable

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliability"

Cons: "not a lot of power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"extremely Reliable, I change the oil and filter every 5000 have never had a single problem with this truck."

8 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Best Truck I've Ever Had

By on Thursday, December 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Never breaks down"

Cons: "Its not a 2015 Tacoma"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best truck I have ever owned. It never broke down, always reliable. Great little truck. 140k mi. on it and was still going strong until it was stolen out of my driveway. Found it six days later completely destroyed. It was a sad day. If I could get any other truck I would just want my 2001 Taco back in mint condition because I've never had a truck as good as this one."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Major Frame Rust

By on Wednesday, December 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "none"

Cons: "Frame ROT, Critical frame rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"**BUYER BEWARE** There was not one problem with this truck, no rust on the truck, no engine problems etc just regular upkeep until now... We just found MAJOR FRAME ROT. Was checked by Toyota in 2009 for this and they said it was "good to go". Truck just went in for tires and we were called in back by the tire guy. Frame is almost totally rusted through and ready to crack. PLEASE before buying check underneath. We now have a truck that in good faith I could not ever think of selling to anyone. No dealer in their right mind will give us anything for it except scrap value. Just got off the phone with Toyota, told sorry, nothing they could do for us. If it were a 2001...."

12 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Best truck I have ever owned

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good off-road, reliable, and need I say more."

Cons: "Gas mileage is not as good as you would think."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck has never let me down"

Most trouble-free vehicle I've ever owned

By on Tuesday, November 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,257

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great roadability and feels very safe"

Cons: "Poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck handles as well as it did when I drove it out of the dealership and it still doesn't leak any oil. I had one recall on the front suspension and never noticed any problems before or after."

10 people out of 18 found this review helpful

93K miles in 14 years. Only one problem.

By on Saturday, November 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had to replace timing belt at 45K miles as truck was losing power; otherwise routine maintenance. Done a lot of hauling for garden with bed extender. Truck still going strong."

11 people out of 24 found this review helpful

all in all a good pick up

By on Wednesday, October 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable pick up. I bought this new and the only mechanical trouble i have had is the starter motor had to be replaced about 90 k miles. Even as old as it is I can get 28/29 mpg on the highway. My model has a bench seat which can get uncomfortable on long trips. I have changed the oil and filter every 7k miles I believe that is why the engine is in good shape. The AC still works like new. All in all it has been a good pick up for me."

10 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Good reliable truck

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Well built"

Cons: "Rough ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Well built, excellent quality vehicle"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Great truck, beat it up and it keeps on going!

By on Friday, October 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great truck, beat it up and it keeps on going! No complaints about this truck at all. If mine dies tomorrow, I will be at the Tacoma dealer the next day for another one."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best truck I ever owned.

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought it new 2003. Have done nothing but put gas, oil, tires, wiper blades. I think I replaced a brake light bulb and maybe a side marker light bulb. Oh and exactly at 100,000 miles the check engine light came on saying I need to change my 02 Sensor. I think its just something Toyota programed in. No biggy I bought one for around $150 and put it in myself. I've had it 11 years still get compliments on it all the time, probably because of the lift kit, oversized tires, chrome grill guard, wind shield visor, hood scoop, side steps, etc... what? It takes care of me, I take care of it."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Nice looking, driving and dependable, but 2WD.

By on Saturday, October 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Attractive, dependable, drives very well."

Cons: "Rusty center rear bumper and wheel rim blisters."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Always garaged, and although it has a trailer hitch, it has never been heavily used. Only cosmetic problems are the standard Tacoma rusty center rear bumper and some blisters on the wheel rims. I would keep it until it dies, but I live in the country and need 4WD in winter."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this truck

By on Wednesday, October 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 310,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this truck in 2000 from the dealership with only 6 miles on the odometer. Now it has 310,000 miles and it still runs great. Never had any major mechanical failures. Replaced the water pump twice. Unfortunately the paint is starting to fade from sunlight. When it rains, water finds its way into the passenger floorboard. I am not the best at changing the oil as prescribed, but the oil always looks clean - this truck does not burn oil. I am thinking of trading my old friend in on a new Tacoma but it breaks my heart to think about it. In 40 years of car ownership this has been the best vehicle I have ever owned."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Love this truck!

By on Wednesday, October 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Inexpensive, excellent gas mileage"

Cons: "N/A"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved this truck since I drove it off the dealers lot back in 2003. Only regular maintenance required, with just minor things needing tweaked here and there. It's good on gas, but has enough power to get on down the road. I plan to keep this truck until it starts looking bad. Most women like to drive cars, this girl loves her truck!"

My last one and next one was and will be a Tacoma.

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "keeps chuging along and sips gas."

Cons: "no power, but who needs it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My last one and my next one was and will be a Tacoma."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Truck, great gass mileage, very reliable

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas, realiability"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck is reliable as heck, work horse, drives smooth and looks great! I'm getting the latest model."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Double Cab near Honolulu. See local deals