Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2002 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1596 Ratings for the 1995 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 64 | Next

Excellent Truck!

By on Friday, May 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 227,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Worth the extra you pay for a Toyota"

Cons: "Cost a few thousand more than a Nissan"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Beside changing the oil, I only had to fix the air conditioning for $800 for the last 14 years. Awesome Truck."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Wolf in sheeps clothing

By on Saturday, November 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "tough, dependable, worry free driving"

Cons: "rides rough, not many options available"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 2004 Tacoma quad cab v6 with the TRD package, of course its very reliable, but it's amazing how capable it is for a small truck. I am boarder line abusive to this truck and it just doesn't seem to matter. Regular maintenance, tires, batteries, ect. No out of the norm repairs."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

So thankful I bought this when I did.

By on Thursday, August 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value, extremely reliable, cheap to operate"

Cons: "You may need a more powerful engine. I don't."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Right after they built this truck, they broke the mold. Literally. It rolled off the line (at the NUMMI plant in Fremont, CA) in August, 2004, one of the last before Toyota's redesign. Starting with the 2005 models, Tacomas would be taller, wider, longer, pricier -- but not better. Call me Retro, but I was delighted, when I first climbed into this little red rascal, to find I could still buy a new vehicle with manual transmission, manual locks, windows, outside mirrors -- I mean, it was a real DIY truck for a DIY guy. I didn't quibble over the ABS or the power-assisted brakes and steering, all useful, all unavoidable. I did remark, on the test drive, that I could do without the AC. "Yes, and you could find someone else to ride shotgun", my wife replied. Well, it was August. Eleven years and 100K miles later, this truck, which has hardly seen the inside of a garage, still looks great. It still has all its original parts (including brake pads/linings), except for tires, filters and wiper blades. I've had the front end aligned twice, and I did replace the battery after about eight years. The overall mpg has been a very consistent 22-23 miles. A lot of solo cross-country trips have just made me more appreciative of the comfortable -- but not too comfortable -- bucket seat, the cruise control, and the excellent 6-speaker sound system featuring AM/FM, CD player AND cassette tape player, all stock. My one quibble isn't really a complaint, because I knew what I was buying: a 2.7 liter in-line 4-cylinder engine. Pulling a fully-loaded 8-ft. Uhaul trailer across West Virginia on a rainy night, you might wish you had a tad more oomph. Still, it did the job, as it has through years of house moves and miscellaneous hauling in all kinds of weather. I couldn't replace this machine for three times the Blue Book valuation."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent truck!

By on Monday, July 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good MPG, handle well, easy to work on, dependable"

Cons: "somewhat sparse interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Tacoma is one of the best vehicles I have ever owned. It is fun to drive and handles well. The 2RZ motor is easy to work with/overhaul- though you should be able to get 250k plus miles out of it with little to no problems. This truck was well-thought out and performs excellently. It gets great gas mileage for a truck, and despite being a small truck, it can hold a substantial amount of weight in the bed. I run loads of scrap metal weighing on average 800-900 pounds, and the truck hardly squats an inch. They hold value extremely well due to their longevity/dependability. I love this truck, and would definitely recommend it to anyone."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best compact truck!

By on Monday, November 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Value, reliability, durability, capability, looks"

Cons: "jittery ride over rough roads"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Toyota Tacoma is probably the best compact truck you could buy. They are known for their reliability and also their off-road capabilities. The engines in the Tacoma are bullet proof if taken care of and will last 100,000's of miles. It is basically average for a 2.7 to reach 300,000 miles. The 3.4 V6 is also a great motor, and its the one I own. My 1996 has only 85,000 miles so it has many years left. I have had to replace two things: An oxygen sensor(expected to go out and a cheap replacement) and the starter motor (not too uncommon for my engine and nothing major). You can't go wrong with a Tacoma and if your looking to buy one you must look at for one thing- frame rust. It is a known problem to affect only certain trucks. But it certainly doesn't affect all of them, its just something to look for near salty conditions."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great vehicle lost to defective frame

By on Monday, June 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "good looking, well built (xcept frame), fun"

Cons: "defective frame totaled it out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

Does this truck look like it should be going to the crusher???

"This '98 is a gem of a truck. The big 4cyl gives suprising pep and it's fun to drive. Bought this off my parents about a year ago, with 70xxx original miles and in mint condition! After doing a 2" lift, the frame started to crack. Long story short, The 1995-2004 series manufactured in CA have defective frames. My parents ignored the notices sent in the mail as "warranty extentions" thinking they were trying to sell them something instead of realizing it was a recall. Now Toyota is in the process of making an offer to buy it back, and then they are gonna crush it! I doubt I'm gonna be able to afford a newer one, and I don't like the newer styles as much. So be sure to check your bottoms--ours was always dealer serviced and always passed local safety inspections, despite our direct inquiry about the rust on the frame. I can't belive this truck flew under the radar for 14 years. The only good thing is we found out about it before anyone got hurt."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Does this truck look like it should be going to the crusher???

The Truck That Won't Quit

By on Sunday, August 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, plenty of power per lb"

Cons: "Small, no power windows"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm the second owner of this truck. I've put over 100,000 miles on it. hopefully I'll be able to put another 200K on the odometer. I've put this truck through everything. Hauling boat trailers, moving appliances, loading 6 buddies in the back and driving up a mountain. I get a solid 25 mpg, average, and the 2.4cyl just keeps eating up what I give it. Other than standard preventative maintainance, this truck hasn't required any major replacement parts and doesn't feel like it will anytime soon. Tacomas are built to last."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

1997 toy. truck

By on Tuesday, July 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have own my truck from day one in 1997 and the truck just keeps on going and going.====I could never ask for anything more.====This has been one super ride and I just love it.=====mike=====115,000 miles later!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Truck I have owned

By on Wednesday, May 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great for hauling young kids and all your stuff"

Cons: "Entertainment system works good / no auxillary jac"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have taken this from the mountains to the beach and back numreous times in 9+ years. Never had any major problems. Oil changes, Timing belt etc at 100,000 other than that has no problems. I have raised two young kids in the back seat. Definitely need bed extender for stuff like plywood sheets. Handles every day hauling and moving furniture great. I have never towed anything with it so I can't comment on it. Gas mileage isn't awesome 16-18 mpg in town and max 20 mpg on highway, but way better than a bigger trucks."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I will buy another!!

By on Tuesday, October 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Changed timing belt, oil 5k, gas and go."

Cons: "Seats are not very comfortable but ride is good."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the best vehicle I have owned. The higher purchase price has been well worth it. The truck has been very reliable. The front brakes just recently needed replacement at 185,000 miles. The clucth has yet to be replaced for the first time."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

207,000 and still going strong.!

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "style, drivability, just a fun, pretty truck."

Cons: "seats could be a bit more plush, dash rattles."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this truck used with 202,000 on it, had it painted (had some minor scratches and door dents) new tires and tinted the glass, It has never given me a minute of trouble in any way...the truck runs great, drives great, and looks great..still a head turner on and off the road! :)"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Economical and Dependable!

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,656

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable, economical, so many uses,"

Cons: ""Dash rattle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My experience is that it is a bread and butter truck. Very dependable and useful. It will destroys its competition. Understandably it holds its value well. Toyota can not be beat in the light truck market because its built a very dependable vehicle. I wouldn't buy another brand. Unfortunately, I have to sell this vehicle due to financial reasons but thankfully it is very easy to sell because so many people love this truck including myself. The only downside is the "dash rattle". I haven't been able to pinpoint this annoying sound. The drive-train and engine are superb. Its easy to maintain. All the parts on this truck are inexpensive. Love this truck! Thanks Toyota!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Kept on going no problems

By on Saturday, November 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best vehicle I ever owner in the 45 years I have b"

Cons: "not really any cons, I purchased a basic truck and"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned vehicle since new, only things I had to replace are the tyres and normal maintance. Great truck for the price"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great small truck! Best quality, average economy.

By on Tuesday, October 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, great reliability, comfortable interi"

Cons: "poor mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Another Toyota superstar. Great reliability and smooth ride. Enjoyable to drive. I wish it got better mpg, but it is the prerunner package with raised suspension and large tires. I would not hesitate to recommend this truck to anyone."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My Second '98 Tacoma

By on Saturday, September 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Simple and dependable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My dad retired two years ago and gave me his '98 Tacoma Reg Cab truck. This is my second '98 Tacoma. These truck may be small and look small but they are tough. They are no non-sense styling and features but if you are looking for dependability and good on gas then this is the truck. Both of mine are 5 speeds and the only thing I have done to the first one was replacing the starter. My first truck has almost 200K and my dads only 84K, both have the original engines."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Overpriced

By on Wednesday, August 25, 2010

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
3/10

"Paid 15K for this vehicle, 7 years old but with only 55K miles. Frame rusty, but Toyota will replace free when it goes just don't expect to get it back for a few months, loaner vehicle is provided free. Interior is cheap and not the level of quality I would have expected in a truck that was $25K new. No problems with engine or tranny thus far, but am concerned with other owners posts of the tranny going at 100K. Overall, these trucks are overvalued new or used - should have bought a Nissan, I could have gotten two years newer for same price."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent Mid-Size Truck

By on Saturday, November 07, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Everything about this truck is top-notch. The only thing that I gave 4 stars on was performance because when hauling with a four cylinder its lacking that "get after it" power and the ride as far as comfort goes it is smooth but lets you know that its still a truck."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

the best purchase I have ever made

By on Friday, November 06, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my truck w/ 161000 miles for 6500 w/ some hesitation....glad I did...95 v6 4wd extra cab...I have put this truck through it's paces and still impresses me...20 miles to a gallon, better than my wife's ford escape!!! had to replace rear leaf springs however. now I have 310000 miles, mostly highway, but the truck runs like a dream!!! Great for hauling mulch, gravel, wood, moving, etc.....If you have the proper tires your good. A little light in the rear end in the winter though."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellant value small pickup

By on Friday, November 06, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I am the original owner of this Tacoma. After 105,000 miles I have spent $395.00 for a Idle Control Valve. All other expenses were maintance costs. An excellant truck. I hope this Tacoma keeps going for another 300,000 miles as I do not like the new Tacoma's. To big."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Don't but this year Tacoma

By on Monday, August 11, 2008

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"Nice truck, but the frames rust real bad. I bought it brand new in 1996. Waxed and cleaned it regularly. Now there are chunks of rust, not flakes, chunks falling off the frame on to my garage floor. I only have 38500 miles on it and no body rust at all, but holes in the frame. Looks brand new until you crawl under it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Monday, February 04, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"As a previous Toyota service advisor, I am probably biased. However, I bought my 04 Tacoma based on a customer's vehicle having travelled 668,000 miles before being sold so he could buy a new one. That truck is still running around today. I love my truck, have some minor modifications (lift, tires, frt bumper, sliders) and have found the vehicle to be extremely reliable. I just do the service (fluid changes, filters, adjustments, etc.) and the vehicle starts every day without fail. I have even left the truck sitting for couple days at a time and starts 1st time. I would very strongly recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a reliable, utilitarian, usable truck, especially if you do not need a full-size truck. My one recommendation to take it to the dealer for service. It might be a little more expensive, but they know what to look for and keep an eye on to make sure the truck lasts forever."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great little truck!

By on Saturday, January 26, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought my Tacoma new in 2004. Except for the 5-speed manual transmission, this has been a very fun vehicle to own. The tranny developed a "whine" in 3rd gear shortly after purchase, which the dealer fixed under warranty - it turned out to be a rather major repair, unusual for a Toyota. Since then, no problems. The truck feels solid, though there are a couple of dashboard squeeks that bug me, my understanding is that these are common in the 95-04 models. Economy with the small 4 is good, about 23 in town to 27 for steady freeway driving. The vehicle isn't fast but then again it is the SMALL 2.4 four cyl engine. Climbing hills in the Sierras is a bit of a challenge - not the engine to have if you life up there. For the vast majority of city driving performance is perky enough. For me, its a great to/from work vehicle and occasional light hauler - I specifically bought the 04 because I knew the 05s were going "mid-size." Hey, it's paid for too, looks great, and will probably run a very long time!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Know what you want!

By on Tuesday, January 08, 2008

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"I have owned this truck for 4 years. I really like the style and the V-6 power. The xtra cab is very useful when you don't expect it. It's also reliable; I have never had a problem with it. The consumer should know it drives like a truck; rough ride on rough roads. The gas mileage isn't that great with the larger tires; 15-17 mpg for city driving. Also, with the rear wheel drive, you need to be an experienced driver in snowy or icy conditions; this vehicle fishtails very easily without weight in the truck bed."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

bomb-proof

By on Saturday, January 05, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought my '98 taco in '01 with 18,000 miles on it. Since then it has been across the country twice, from pulling stuck F-150s out of sand in the deserts of Utah to scaling muddy mountains in New Mexico to fording lakes in New Hampshire. I have not been gentle to this machine and it has handled every bit of abuse dished out. It is at 130,000 right now and I have done my share of routine replacement (water pump, timing belt, plugs, etc) but when it comes down to needing unflappable reliability, the taco delivers. My only drawback is that it a bit tight for a 6'3" brother like myself. Maybe the new ones are a bit roomier."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Truck in the World

By on Sunday, November 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I got my Toyota used 9 years ago. I have never had a problem with it and it has never let me down. It's not the most comfortable ride ever, but it is a truck and that is to be expected. If you are thinking about it, don't hesitate."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 64 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Double Cab near Honolulu. See local deals