Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Editors' Page: 2014 Pickup Trucks
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2001 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1514 Ratings for the 1995 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 58 59 60 61 | Next

Best truck in its class.

By on Monday, July 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the fifth Toyota truck of this size I have owned. They all excelled in every category. The Tacoma is in a league of its own, no other truck of this size even comes close."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best bang for 4x4 buck

By on Monday, July 16, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"solid.hits terrain with ease-reccommend a Supercharger or turbo-for more top end-solid mid range and grunt from a v6"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love the Tacoma

By on Sunday, July 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My truck has been nothing but reliable! I put on 25K a year and it has never failed. My truck is almost at 120K miles and still going!"

By on Sunday, July 15, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Very Good Truck

By on Sunday, July 15, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've had this truck for five years, bought used with 20k on it. Very solid, no rattles, stops very well for a truck. Just wished I got better gas millage. I'm getting 20mpg. For a four cylinder, I was expecting 25 or better. If I had to choose again, I would of bought the six cylinder engine. Better performance with almost the same gas millage."

Great Vehicle

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This Vehicle has met all expectations for reliability and comfort."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

long lasting great for out doors

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"this truck has everithing an outdoors man needs in a truck. With it's high gas milage and great off road capasity I would highly recomend this truck"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, July 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, July 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Very Reliable

By on Friday, July 13, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is a great truck it will take you anywhere you would like it to go. The only thing is if you like to go mudding in the mountains they put the tubing for the air flow in the wrong pace to where it sucks up a lot of water! But this truck is AWESOME! i love the look of the body style also."

Love my truck!!

By on Thursday, July 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my truck used in 2000. I have nothing but great things to say about it. I have had NO major mechanical issues AT ALL with the truck. All I do is my oil changes and tune ups when needed and that is it. My truck hauls my horse trailer with 2 horses no problem (but I would recommend electric brakes!!) It has pulled me thru the worst snow and horrible rain. The body is still in awesome shape with only 1 rust problem on bottom of bed door. Prob my fault cause I wash the truck ALOT!! :) The only downfall is the comfort of the truck but it is a truck and it is a 4x4 so you cant expect a completely smooth ride. For long haul highway driving it is very comfy. Excellent pick up too for getting past traffic. I love my truck and wouldn't trade it for anything. If I ever do have to get another truck you can bet it will be another Toyota and likely another Tacoma."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

good not graand

By on Thursday, July 12, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"good truck for all light duty applications. rear suspension could be a little stiffer and so could the front, but if you never load it down youll never notice it and it does ride nice stock. my 2.7 I-4 has good power i can pull 2 dirtbikes and have another in the bed, 2 snowmobiles is pushing it power wise and its a little heavy so if the trailer gets boucing the truck wants to bounce with the trailer. but for all reasonable uses its a good truck. id like to try 1 with the V-6."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, July 12, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Toyota lives up to its rep!

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Owned my Toyota Tacoma for 4 years, never had any mechanical problem, basic maintenance performed, this vehicle never gave out on me. I trust the Toyota name."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

190,000 miles and still strong

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 98 Tacoma used w/ only 13,000 miles on it in 1999. Eight years later I am approaching 200,000 miles and it is going great. No major problems at all. I use this truck for everything. I have a feeling it will go at least to 500,000."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Keeps on going...

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"our toyota has 187,000 miles and the only repairs done so far in its life was a starter. Brakes needed to be done ONCE, ORIGINAL CLUTCH, Original just about everything. Tough little truck takes a beating and keeps going. Most folks thought the 4cyc was the larger 6! Best little pickup ever, and it works hard on our farm. I wouldnt hesitate replacing it with another toyota."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Terrific Truck

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned this truck for 10 years and have loved every minute of it. I have the V6 Ext. Cab 4x4 LX and it has loads of power and has never disappointed me. All I have had to do is replace the starter and change the timing belt and I have over 146,000 miles! I have been in the woods on it a FEW times and all I want to know is, "can you get this truck stuck?" Oh yeah, it still looks great too."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliability is the key

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have had my Tacoma for over 4 years and have not had one problem with it. It's been the most reliable vehicle out of all my friends cars and does it hold it's resale value..."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

awesome truck

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"this truck is awesome i have a lot of room and its pretty good on the mpg looks good and is a smooth drive i highly recommend this truck to anyone"

Damm Good Truck

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"This is a quality truck with splendid features and a solid track record. Toyota is #1 in reliability and resale value in trucks in the U.S. today."

Best Truck

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This truck is great. I have owned mine for 6 years and I never had any problems."

Solid, reliable, good-looking truck.

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"Good for getting around town. Not much fun on the highway as the ride is not the best and even with the V6 it is underpowered. The auto transmission downshifts (sometimes to 2nd gear) on even slight hills if you have the cruise set above 70 MPH. Even still it doesn't get the best gas mileage. All in all, a great truck with a not-so-great engine."

By on Monday, July 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Monday, July 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"My '02 Tacoma is by far the best vehicle I have ever owned. Plenty of power and torque for off-roading as well as highway travel. This truck will climb ANYTHING- especially with the factory rear differential lock engaged. All of the controls are very user-friendly. I will definitely buy another one someday."

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 58 59 60 61 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Double Cab near Honolulu. See local deals