Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2001 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1576 Ratings for the 1995 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 64 | Next

Excellent Truck, Very Reliable and easy to drive!!

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very Reliable, Easy to drive, also fun to drive."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle. I bought new and have owned 11 years with no problems. A/C still blows 47 degrees. Only basic maintenance has been needed such as tires and oil changes."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Bought it used. Runs like new.

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,013

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great in the snow and great drive"

Cons: "None..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is probably the last vehicle I'll ever buy. It's an 04 and the value has gone up since I bought it last year. I have an old Caddie weekend cruiser that I now seldom take out. The truck is such a pleasure to drive."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

best truck I've ever owned

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 409,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When I bought this truck in July 2003 it had 6 miles on it, today it has 409000 original mil. I'm buying another one soon"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Outstanding

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: larger truck

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new, sold just after 10 years passed for larger truck. Only thing went was battery after 8 years. Long time average was 22.5 MPG."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Getting too old to drive so must sell before Augus

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very dependable and great second car."

Cons: "Only holds two people and a small dog."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is a worker. I bought it used (barely) from a private owner. It's been a great little car. Very dependable. Never did have to do much to it except buy tires, change oil and regular maintenance. The reason I am selling is I'm going to be 85 soon and I don't drive it that much. It has been kept in a garage the whole time I've owned it about 12 years. It has low milege for its age. It has a few dings but never been in an accident. Just general wear and tear. The towing package was on it when I bought it as was the cab."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

One of the best vehicles I have owned.

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good price, good service, good milage."

Cons: "nothing negative."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great pickup. A little small for my 6'4" frame but I manage. Have driven the vehicle to So. Cal and back several times towing a 16' tool trailer and it does well. I get about 22 highway miles."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck ever owned, over 200,000 miles

By on Saturday, June 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 201,360

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "They dont break"

Cons: "Whish I had got the Xtra cab"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Would jump in this truck on a moments notice and drive across country with no worry's. These trucks don't get resold just passed on to family members..so reliable !!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The best made vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, June 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid vehicle, dependable, great looking"

Cons: "less than great MPG's. Short people only!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The best made vehicle I have ever owned. At the time I purchased my Tacoma, I had little money and few options. I bought this truck off the lot as a late 2001 in the early 2002 season for $16,000. It had to serve me for the long haul and I knew this would most likely be the best bet. I have owned Toyota vehicles for many years because of their endurance and my Tacoma was no different. It is now going on thirteen years and it is still going strong."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Toyota 2002 Best Truck in Texas

By on Monday, May 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great on gas, super a/c, very clean inside just about like new, No problems whatsoever. My husband has went through 4 cars and my truck bets all of his vehicles."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

does what it was made for

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I take care of it and it takes care of me.17 years old sometimes I think about getting a new one but cant find a good enough reason. I am sure this truck will run forever!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent Truck!

By on Friday, May 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 227,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Worth the extra you pay for a Toyota"

Cons: "Cost a few thousand more than a Nissan"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Beside changing the oil, I only had to fix the air conditioning for $800 for the last 14 years. Awesome Truck."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

most reliable truck and motor out there

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "over all a great truck and good in the woods"

Cons: "small cab space not a lot of leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"never had to fix any thing on this truck the frame on it before i had it replaced was still solid. but thanks to the loyalty of toyota they replaced it any way. i also have my truck lifted 6in with 35in tires and i beat this thing and it still runs and drives better then any other car truck ex. great truck all the way around and would recommend to anyone interested. the motor in my truck is the 2.7 4 cylinder which is also the most reliable motor toyota has ever made in my opinion"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very reliable and economic; very few repairs in 4Y

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,638

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this truck; it has served me well. Very reliable, with hardly any problems. Just routine maintenance."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Never any trouble; I keep up maintainance.

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,444

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Great truck requires low maintenance; handy"

Cons: "Seats just 2 people."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The only reason I am looking at a change is that I rarely use bed of truck for moving/hauling any more. I want to 'ride' more than 1 person - I want more comfort, too."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

15 years of reliability!!

By on Sunday, April 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 202,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Durable, reliable, great looking, runs forever"

Cons: "4cyl engine lacks power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this 1997 Tacoma used in 2000 with 34k miles on it. Other than regular maintenance (oil changes, radiator and transmission flushes, tires, brake pads, spark plugs and wires) I have not had any major issues with this truck. Haven't had a car payment since 2005 and have not had to sink much money into keeping this truck running. Still running the original water pump, fuel pump, alternator and even the rear brakes! These vehicles are built to last and if you take care of them they will give you years and years of reliability. Never left me stranded!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

always reliable, dependable

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Always a feeling of comfort knowing the reliability of a Toyota truck that you can depend on."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best 4-cyl Truck On The Market!

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, never fails, does any job, lasts"

Cons: "Acceleration from 0 mph is slow - it's a 4-cyl"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has lasted through so much with 174,000 miles and going. I stay updated with my oil changes every 3,000 miles and air filter cleanings every 15,000 miles and it still runs amazingly! Starts up every time. I've towed a lot of weight for far distances with this small little truck. My first towing adventure was with an 18' boat for 200 miles. This thing handled itself flawlessly at the boat ramp dumping and hauling the boat right out of the water with surprising ease. When I moved up to Northern California I used to tow a 12' box trailer filled to the brim along with a bed load full of belongings. It trudged up the California Grapevine (a trucker's nightmare grade) never falling below 35 mph. All of the power niceties still function perfectly inside. AC, heat, power windows, power door locks, radio, tape cassette, CD player, and stereos are still going strong! Awesome little truck!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I ever bought

By on Friday, April 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great everything"

Cons: "They get older but don't wear out :)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best Truck I ever bought next to my other Tacoma Truck I bought just like it"

You'd have to own one to know

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliabilty and versatilty"

Cons: "A 4.7 V8 and it's the greatest vehicle on earth"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hands down the absolute greatest vehicle I have ever owned, I bought it at 70,000 miles and have put another 100,000 miles since that time. 1 unscheduled battery change is my only surprise expense. Its as solid and trustworthy as the day it was manufactured...Bullet proof. It just fits all my needs. If your looking to get one, my only tidbits would be that the back seat is tight for fullsize adults...OK for short trips, but not the long haul. Also, if you plan on pulling a trailer of more than 3000lbs (though the receiver is rated at 5000lbs), the 3.4 V6 is working hard on other than straight roads. Lastly, more good news...the advertised combined MPG is 18. I drive almost a perfect combination of City and Highway and average 19.7 MPG, 22 MPG on Highway only...with 169,000 miles on it I might add. Shop smart and you'll be as pleased as me."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

You'd have to own one to know

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliabilty and versatilty"

Cons: "A 4.7 V8 and it's the greatest vehicle on earth"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hands down the absolute greatest vehicle I have ever owned, I bought it at 70,000 miles and have put another 100,000 miles since that time. 1 unscheduled battery change is my only surprise expense. Its as solid and trustworthy as the day it was manufactured...Bullet proof. It just fits all my needs. If your looking to get one, my only tidbits would be that the back seat is tight for fullsize adults...OK for short trips, but not the long haul. Also, if you plan on pulling a trailer of more than 3000lbs (though the receiver is rated at 5000lbs), the 3.4 V6 is working hard on other than straight roads. Lastly, more good news...the advertised combined MPG is 18. I drive almost a perfect combination of City and Highway and average 19.7 MPG, 22 MPG on Highway only...with 169,000 miles on it I might add. Shop smart and you'll be as pleased as me."

You'd have to own one to know

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliabilty and versatilty"

Cons: "A 4.7 V8 and it's the greatest vehicle on earth"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hands down the absolute greatest vehicle I have ever owned, I bought it at 70,000 miles and have put another 100,000 miles since that time. 1 unscheduled battery change is my only surprise expense. Its as solid and trustworthy as the day it was manufactured...Bullet proof. It just fits all my needs. If your looking to get one, my only tidbits would be that the back seat is tight for fullsize adults...OK for short trips, but not the long haul. Also, if you plan on pulling a trailer of more than 3000lbs (though the receiver is rated at 5000lbs), the 3.4 V6 is working hard on other than straight roads. Lastly, more good news...the advertised combined MPG is 18. I drive almost a perfect combination of City and Highway and average 19.7 MPG, 22 MPG on Highway only...with 169,000 miles on it I might add. Shop smart and you'll be as pleased as me."

Dyrable and Reliable,

By on Monday, April 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable and Economical"

Cons: "Not a sports car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this little truck for over 13 years and it has never let me down. It's a little boring but it may be the best engineered vehicle in history."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

1999 Tacoma 2WD Auto SR5...What a truck! I

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought new. Now 15 years. Serviced every 5K.. No problems. On 3rd battery. Replaced starter at 80K That's it. Nothing else. Even All bulbs/Headlamps still working fine. Only 85K. I will keep forever."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Outstanding reliable 4 wheel drive pickup.

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 233,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It does it all!!!"

Cons: "odometer hard to read, floor heating not great."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck does everything but climb trees. I love this truck! I am not towing much, but doing considerable camping and 4 wheeling and could not ask for a more dependable and capable vehicle. This truck has covered mountains, streams, rocks, mud, etc. in almost all of the western states. And for day to day commute and weekend projects, it is of course excellent. Not too big, can easily find parking (full bed size, extended cab, two door.) Of course, I have taken excellent care of this truck."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This truck has been wonderful to me!

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 266,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "The driver's seat belt doesn't retract very well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had any problems with this truck and will keep it until it will not budge anymore. I recommend the Tacoma to everyone. You will not be disappointed."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 64 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Double Cab near Honolulu. See local deals